Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
21
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
A great album from atime when Indie wasn't 'ITV' indie. Caught in My Shadow possibly the highlight but all of the tracks are good outside of the hits. Wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2002
Famous for their infectious style of pop-rock The Stuffies change direction slightly with their third album. This is the first album with violinist Martin Bell permanently joining the by now 'ten legged groove machine', and his influences are there for all to see with a more folky sound. Not that it disguises Miles Hunts witty lyrics and the albums number of sing along anthems such as 'Size of a cow' and 'Welcome to the cheap seats'. This album may not be what you'd expect from The Wonderstuff, but it certainly surprises in all the right ways!! This album is a must for all Wonder Stuff fans, both old and new.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Great record. Love the celtic feel on it, that's why it's my favourite of their works. Size of a Cow and Welcome to the Cheap Seats get the most attention from the critics, but there's some other fine songs on there - the wistful, sad Sleep Alone and the introspective Caught In My Shadow are also standouts, where lyrically there's clearly a lot going on and a lot of soul-searching even when the music's strident, upbeat and catchy. Miles Hunt's a better songwriter than he's given credit for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2000
This very underated album has always entertained. Don't follow the path of the the over-Commercialised songslike welcome to the cheapseats and Size of a Cow. Please listen and spend some time listeningto songs like Inertia, and Mission drive. Miles Hunt can allways deliver a well clipped line following an education of the Jam, the Clash, and the odd Johnny Cash number. Don't play it down......Just play it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2011
I bought this album having lost he copy I'd bought when it first came out about 5 years ago. Why did I wait so long. The Wonderstuff's rocky sound with a bit of folk and a lot of fun still warrants turning up and forcing on the rest of the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
great album but sounds a lot 'cleaner' than I remember it. Songs still awesome but doesn't sound like it did when I was a kid. How times have changed...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2016
Awesome album. Used to listen to them and play most of their hits when I was around 14 - 18. Great memories and fantastic tunes. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
What a belting album this is. The songs are quite brilliant and with the exception of "False Start" each one could have been a hit single. At first experience, the songs are good solid efforts with a great mix of guitar riff and folk touches provided by accordians and violins, though not overpoweringly so. However, it is with repeated listening that real appreciation comes. The lyrics, so easy to overlook as your senses are barraged with musical brilliance, suddenly come to mean so much. Okay, maybe Miles Hunt isn't Bob Dylan or John Lennon but he could be Michael Stipe, Paul Weller or (almost) Morrisey.

Quite simply, there isn't a bad song on this album, although "Welcome to the Cheap Seats" despite being a well known song is in my view the weakest, but for power, fantastic melodies and great lyrics check out this terrific album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Great album , Miles Hunt is one of the greatest british songwriters in my eyes , if you've not heard this album , give it a chance
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2000
This is a fantastic album, I think one of their best and I remember walking into my Saturday job very hungover with this playing religiously every time and didn't ever get bored playing it. The lyrics are clever and with the extra tracks, this is a must for anyone who even thinks they like the Wonderstuff. One of the few albums in the world where I love every single track, think about it yourself, how many of those exist-not many as there's normally one of two tracks which you skip....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.84

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)