Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Cult
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars
Cult
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 27 September 2017
Great 😃
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2001
This album is great for chilling to I put it on every night when I'm on my way off to sleep. It's just amazing what people can do with a cello these days. This HAS to be THE most original idea I have ever seen. Crushing guitar riffs on Cellos and strings really is a novelty! And it doesn't wear off! If you need something to relax and gape at then Cult is it! But be warned not for die hard havy metal fans, only for the more adventurous metalhead.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
This album is the best compared wirh previous albums. To my mind Apocalyptica is a good starting point to become a metal-lover. The fact is that your relatives, who don't like heavy metal, will surely like Apocalyptica. And so will you, because it is a REAL HEAVY METAL, simply played by for cellos! It's PERFECT!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2001
Apocaliptica hail from Helsinki, and play a very unusual mix of classical and heavy metal. Consisting of only four cello players, they use distortion pedals and a little percussion to create a very heavy sound that you'd be have difficulty believing could be played without guitars. The tracks vary from bone crunching rhythmic rockers to subtle interweaving strings - most tracks are self written, with one Grieg cover and two Metallica covers. The heavy cello recalls fellow Finns Hoyry- Kone and Alamailman Vasarat, and their heavy numbers sound more like America's Kopecky. Either way they are in good company and this is a refreshingly different hybrid likely to appeal to more adventurous metal and chamber-rock fans. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If, like me, you play the cello and enjoy heavy metal music, you will LOVE this album. Even if you don't, you will still see the high level of ingenuity throughout.
A few years ago, I was given Apocalyptica's first album (Apocalyptica Plays Metallica By Four Cellos) as something of a joke. Instead, it turned out to be an amazing insight into the sheer versatility of the instrument, and Apocalyptica soon became my favourite band. When the other two albums came out, I promptly bought them, and amazingly, they were even better! Cult shows the band brilliantly covering other bands as well as Metallica, and also writing their own material, which is simply SUPERB and thoroughly shows off everything about the cello.
Just buy this album, OK!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2001
Proving once again that you don't need loud guitars to make heavy music, apocalyptica further steamroll over the theory that they are another covers band. The quality of writing (and indeed playing) puts a lot of other artists, classical and heavy, to shame. I never thought a cello could sound outright nasty, but "struggle" has to be heard to be believed. Whatever type of music you like, buy this without reservation - there is something on this album for everybody.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I cannot say much about the product as it is a gift for my daughter. Anyway, delivery was very quick and my daughter says the CD is in a very good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
I saw apocalyptica a fair few years back and loved them. The power of them live is amazing i was not let down by this cd the songs on it are truely amazing and diverse . Some are very powerful ballards and others are chunky thrash along songs well worth a few quid of any music lovers money . Great for classical lovers and metal fans alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
I am a fan of Apocalyptica and this this doesn't disappoint
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)