Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
Statement
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 July 2015
Love this album 10/10 but it's missing an important factor.

The first 20 tracks are solid, pure metal and heavy riffs are involved. The lead vocalist nails every song and makes them all stand out.

But i'm afraid i'm got some bad news...the last 20 tracks aren't as banterous as I expected, how can you have a NonPoint album with only 10% banter involved? am I dreaming, or is this some sort of sick joke?

Next time Chris, I suggest you step up your banter by going to nandos with the lads, and then you'll understand what it's like to become one of a kind.

Believe that and believe in the banter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2001
Despite the misleading and uninspired band name, this band are quite good and although this album is far from classic, it shows plenty of promise. This album lacks the inventiveness of bands like the Deftones and System of a Down or the commercial appeal of bands like Papa Roach and Limp Bizkit, but it is makes up for it by being more raw sounding and uncompromising. Coming across like a mixture of Tool, Korn, Machine Head, RATM and Disturbed, it's safe to say that if you like the heavier elements of nu-metal then you will like this.
My personal highlights are 'misled', 'victim', 'what a day', 'years 'and 'mindtrap'. On the negative note, some of the tracks are quite undistinguished from the rest and left me with little impression, and nothing could make me enjoy the final track 'tribute', a medley of hip-hop classics, including 'Woo hah, got you all in check' (Busta Rhymes), 'Children's story' (Slick Rick) and 'Method Man' (Wu Tang Clan). These are three classic songs that have been butchered and turned into a unimaginative and boring nu-metal-by-numbers track. That aside, this is a decent album that should definitely appeal to nu-metal heads who like more of the 'metal' and less of the 'nu'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2007
here we have one of the best debuts ever recorded and the jump off point for a band that have been criminally overlooked in this country.
yes ok they are unashamedly nu metal but they do a much better job than almost all of their contemparies.
they have a unerving knack for making very heavy music and making it ridiculously catchy.
they have some insane breakdowns and the beats are hard and heavy and come thick and fast.
think rage against the machine meets incubus....the passion of the singer just oozes out of every word he spits,raps or sings.
the vocals are clean,clear and very passionate in all their forms of delivery.
if you want to hear how nu metal could have sounded when done well then this is well worth checking out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2004
Not usually one to pick fights - I must disagree with the previous review.
This album is possibly more essential than any other album in the world bar Fake Sound Of Progress by Lostprophets. It is extremely inventive with sounds that are hard to be rivaled and a rawness that is absolutely brilliant from this FL based band.
Obviously this reviewer has not taken anytime to listen to this masterpiece as they don't even title the tracks correctly.
This is my second favourite album in the world and anything less than five stars has no justice. I can't put into words how great this cd is so I will stop here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2005
this album was recommended to me on amazon, so i bought it, and Nonpoint is now my favourite band ever.
what makes this album so great? Each song is special in some way or another - catchy chorus's, solo's, interesting guitar riffs and heavy but emotional vocals - everything you need for a great metal record.
Nonpoint is a band where they can all play their instruments really well, and it is proved in this album without going over the top.
i instantly bought their second album, development, afterwards, but it is nowhere near as good. the songs arn't as special- you won't find yourself singing them that much while waiting for a bus.
this band sounds very similar to 36 crazyfists, but if ya like metal, you will love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2001
This Cd is amazing. Its Got amazing riffs, Voclas and melodies. A definate buy. They definatly come close to my favourite band. If anyone likes Incubus or Taproot they will like nonpoint. the 12 tracks on Statement are exelent especially Misled. If you thought Papa Roaches first album Infest or Linkin parks first album Hybrid theory, then this WILL blow your mind its an amazing album and almost rivals Incubus' latest album Make yourself. A quality CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2002
Nonpoint are a great band. They resemble rage agaisnt the machine a lot, and to a lesser extent, incubus. However, their music is definitly original and great to listen to. If you like deftones, rage agasint the machine, incubus or koRn you'll like nonpoint. Statement is definitly, in my mind, better than their other album, struggle.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2001
When I first got this album I was expecting another "limp Bizkit" clone, but what i did get was one of the most amazing albums I have ever heard! Everything sounds so right. The vocals are amazing and the music sounds like a cross between Deftones, R.A.T.M. and Machine Head.And there's even lead guitars!!! Think Kirk Hammet from |Metallica There's depth here too, unlike other "nu-metal" albums, you will be listening to this for years!! A must have for any metal fan, old or new!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2001
I heard of Nonpoint on the net and used the oppotunity of a holiday to the US to buy the album long before its release in the UK based on the quality of the songs I had previously heard. The album did not disappoint in the slightest, 12 fantastic hard-rock/rap-metal songs all with excellent guitar riffs and some outstanding drumming. The heavy sound mixes well with the vocals of Elias who also sings one of the songs "Orgullo" in spanish. Highlights of an outstanding album include "What A Day", "DoubleStakked" and "Misled". The album is a must for anyone into the darker and heavier side of rock/metal. Nonpoint draws likeness to bands such as (hed)PE, Tool and Incubus but have a definite sound in their own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2001
Despite the misleading and uninspired band name, this band are quite good and although this album is far from classic, it shows plenty of promise. This album lacks the inventiveness of bands like the Deftones and System of a Down or the commercial appeal of bands like Papa Roach and Limp Bizkit, but it is makes up for it by being more raw sounding and uncompromising. Coming across like a mixture of Tool, Korn, Machine Head, RATM and Disturbed, it's safe to say that if you like the heavier elements of nu-metal then you will like this.
My personal highlights are 'misled', 'victim', 'what a day', 'years 'and 'mindtrap'. On a negative note, some of the tracks are quite undistinguished from the rest and left me with little impression, and nothing could make me enjoy the final track 'tribute', a medley of hip-hop classics, including 'Woo hah, got you all in check' (Busta Rhymes), 'Children's story' (Slick Rick) and 'Method Man' (Wu Tang Clan). These are three classic songs that have been butchered and turned into a unimaginative and boring nu-metal-by-numbers track. That aside, this is a decent album that should definitely appeal to nu-metal heads who like more of the 'metal' and less of the 'nu'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)