Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
242
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2017
Wonderfully produced Christmas Classis. My husband loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
To me Mr Stewart played one of the best Scrooges I have ever seen in a film. Along with Richard E Grant, Patrick Stewart and a classy cast, this is probably the best Christmas Carol made to date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I purchased the video when first released and have bought this DVD to replace same. This story is a firm favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
A must watch on Christmas Eve, delivered quickly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
a 3 disc product all were about "A Christmas Carol" each one was entertaining two were animated with one being a version with dogs. The animated ones kept the children amused and relatively quiet while watching. The final version stars George C Scott who, however, hard he tries to hide his American accent he can not but the story line is virtually unchanged. There are some good special effects throughout but George C Scott is George C Scott and not a beliveable Scrooge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
A great version of A Christmas Carol - Patrick Stewart is fabulous as Scrooge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
I search in vain for the "ideal" Christmas Carol (1977 BBC Production with Michael Hordern comes closest, for my taste), but, in my opinion, this production does NOT deserve much of the criticism leveled at it. Sometimes the text is modernized without improvement. Clearly too much money was spent on Marley's funeral at the beginning. I personally hoped that the "modern" production would have better special effects (memory fades; perhaps they were impressive in 1999). The performances of young Scrooge and Belle (among other minor characters) are somewhat lack-luster, and the Bob Cratchit is too funereal. But I must defend this production for its fine qualities, not the least of which is a VERY studied portrayal by Patrick Stewart.

Many "traditionalists" here criticize his decisions as an actor, but every choice he makes is perfectly motivated. One person was very upset that he did not anticipate his name on the tombstone until he actually saw it, but considering he does not even recognize his own room in which the body lies, this willful ignorance is not extraordinary. His fear of the body, as a neglected body, not as his own, is described in detail by Dickens in the book: "Oh cold, cold, rigid, dreadful Death, set up thine altar here." His sarcasm with Marley, the fact that he is still a curmudgeon after his awakening (just one that can laugh at himself) and his approach to just about every line (his quiet condescension as he says "I wish to be left alone") are clearly deliberate choices of one who knows the text VERY well. Traditional it is not, but it is believable and consistent, and the mark of a fine classical actor.

Other positive qualities of this production include (for the purists) that more detail from the story is found here than in any other version (although the Jim Carey cartoon takes a close second). For example, the ghost of Christmas present takes him to see the many "Christmas lunatics", as in the story. Usually his trips to the sea and to the mines are cut as extraneous, but here they also serve to tear him away from Fred's party, the one place he would like to be, and the one place he damned the day before. Fred's party is also the best of any production I have seen, as is the portrayal of Fred himself. I find it intriguing that the Ghost of Christmas yet to Come has the hand of a woman (although the costume is a bit obviously built up), and the I find the graveyard scene to be truly disturbing. Also, Joel Gray plays a Ghost of Christmas past that is both congenial and creepy.

It is beautifully filmed and will adequately "Spirit" up any house for Christmas, and you get more of the story than in any other production. Plus for the price you can't beat it. If you want a bit of Christmas spirit in combination with a bit of artistry, but don't want to spend alot of money, this will serve splendidly.

Also, my non-existent ideal Christmas Carol would include the Fred, Fred's party and the graveyard scene from this one, but that's just me.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
Well, what can be said?
To begin with, several reviews have already bemoaned the fact that Stewart doesn't 'fit' with their idea of how Scrooge should look.
Perhaps not, but this was an attempt an contemporizing this classic, and Stewart pulls this off superbly.
In a nutshell, forget the creaky old 'classic' versions (and I'll get shot down in flames for saying that!), and go for this lavishly stylish production.
The whole atmosphere of this film exudes the magic of Christmas Spirit, whilst the directing is tightly-polished enough to ensure that your whole family will quite happily watch this year-after-year.
Don't hesitate - buy it now!
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.99
£16.58

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)