Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
12
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£54.95+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2004
R.L. Burnside sings with emotion, this man KNOWS BLUES, he has LIVEDBLUES, and STILL HAS HOPE ... tinged with an Alabama accent, he sings with a southern drawl, full of the realities of life. The liner booklet says it best (& I quote): "The last genuine performer of raw Mississippi hill country sounds as well as cutting edge crossover artist the blues has had in the past 30 years." Honesty, depth, detail, raw emotions, earthy statements: it's all here & more! Great lyrics, great slide guitar playing,too. "Too Many Ups" one of the tracks, is a play on words: "You gotta look UP to the man ... too many ups, too many ups, too many upside down", "You gotta coer up", "You gotta catch up", "You gotta get paid up", "Too many upside downs". Some other favorites are, the title song, "Wish I was in Heaven Sittin' Down", "Hard Times", and "Chain of Fools".
Let the lyrics of "Nothin' Man" tell his story:
"I never had a chance ... it never was fault MY fault. You can't arrest me. I pay the rent. I never wanted to be a BAAAD person. I wish my mama had loved me. You can't arrest me. It never was MY fault ... I never wanted to be a BAD person." The ambient music contrasts nicely with the words & lyrics, with a shadow of the underside of life - not far off from the truth. This is genuine, visceral music: FAT POSSUM RECORDS have provided us a vehicle to enjoy the music of this living legend of Mississippi blues. They have a great sense of humor, too. Inside the CD is a card to fill out with demographics, and a block of space, with the instructions: "trace your housekey here" YOU GOTTA LOVE 'EM!
Three "bonus" tracks are included: "Black Mattie" by Robert Balfour (a rather scarry piece of music & lyrics, too), "Pucker Up Buttercup" by Paul Jones, & my favorite of the three, "Laugh to Keep from Cryin'" written & sung by Burnside's ado[pted son, Kenny Brown, a great talent in his own right who has learned & apprenticed with this MASTER OF MISSISSIPPI BLUES, THE LIVING LEGEND! Erika Borsos (bakonyvilla)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
not as good as I expected
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
Although R L Burnside has been around sometime now (he's in his 70's you know), this album is very modern. Using all the tricks by such groups as prodigy, Moby etc (sample and much more). Does this ruin the authenticity, well quite honestly no. All it does is add a new spice to a remarkable talent. His best album yet! Reason the album has not got 5 stars is it is not quite to the standard of Muddy Waters, Lightning Hopkins and the recently deceased John Lee Hooker. But R L Burnside has proved he is open to new ideas to improve his art, highly recommended for true blues fans.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2001
Every so often I pull out a gem from Amazon. R L Burnside's 'Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down' is one of those oh so rare sparklers that should be part of anyone's collection whether you like Blues music or otherwise. An interesting mix of blues and other 'new' musical influences makes this CD notably special and collectable.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
It's a rare treat to find a blues album that actually flirts with new ideas and makes them work.
A superb blend of blues and technology, chilling, mournful & with every sense of hellhounds on the trail !!!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
excellent album but if you want the 15 track version enter the bar code 5021456102617 at search to take you there
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
very interesting mix of funky ole blues with a modern twist
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2006
The voice is there, but there are also examples scratching and some truly stupefying bass drum sounds. It was a total surprise to me as I was expecting that classic, droning blues sound. This must be what happens when a good ol' blueser asks "what are the kids doing nowadays?" Well it works OK, sometimes. More often than not it is fine, but on the odd occasion it's slightly embarassing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2003
for a long time now i have thought j l hooker was king of the blues.rl burnside is sharing his crown!
this album is fantastic!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2016
Good album. Takes a long time to arrive, but I was told of this in advance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.94

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)