Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
83
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2001
*
Compilation albums covering the Christmas genre are usually ten-a-penny come the festive season, but if it's quality you're after - never mind value for money - then "The Best Christmas Album In The World....Ever" is the CD you're looking for.
It's an overly-used expression nowadays, but this collection is an absolute 'classic'. Featuring many well-known tracks from a time when Christmas singles really meant something, you'll be hard pushed to find a song you haven't heard before - and believe me, these are the songs that'll be played constantly during the run-up to Christmas in almost every place you'll go.
Because it appears no-one's interested in making Christmas records an more, the people who compiled this CD have included many Christmas favourites from years gone by. Of course, "The Best Christmas Album In The World....Ever!" relies heavily on the massive chart hits from the 1970s. I mean, what collection would this be without Christmas contributions from Slade, Roy Wood & Wizzard, Paul McCartney, John & Yoko, Greg Lake, Chris De Burgh, Jona Lewie, Mud and Elton John? There's more than just a few classic 'cuts' from the 1950s and 1960s included here too: Nat King' Cole, Dean Martin, Ella Fitzgerald, Adam Faith and Matt Munro. Oldies, yes, but still all-time favourites. And, quite rightly, Bing Crosby's "White Christmas" features here too.
For those who like their music with a more modern feel, those responsible for this CD have included Robbie Williams' "Angels" (even if I can't understand why) and "Baby, It's Cold Outside" by Tom Jones and Cerys Mathews - two tracks that don't usually conjure up thoughts of "Christmas" to most people.
However, "The Best Christmas Album In The World....Ever!" belongs to the 'oldie' genre. But the quality doesn't suffer. From the 80s, there's "Do They Know It's Christmas" by Band Aid, Frankie Goes To Hollywood's, "The Power Of Love" (probably the best non-Christmas CHRISTMAS #1 ever), Mel (Smith) & Kim (Appleby's) homage to 50s rock'n'roll, "Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree" and the hauntingly beautiful "Walking In The Air" by Aled Jones. Cliff Richard also appears with (count 'em!) FOUR contributions including the criminally under-rated "Millennium Prayer".
For the Christmas traditionalists, there's a nice selection of Carols from the likes of Sinead O'Conner, The Spinners and David Bowie and Bing Crosby.
Sure, there's a couple of naff tracks, but these can be easily skipped. What you're left with is a classic collection of all-time Christmas favourites - a double CD for those who have the slightest bit of interest in the festive season.
Jon.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2001
I'm not one for old music but i don't think i can blank this one out. It gets you in the mode for christmas (and you'll know that your in the christmas spirit when you play this CD. My favourite is MERRY X-MAS on the first disc. I would be over joyed to find this one in my christmas stocking!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I bought another version of this many many years ago. I got it out from my C.D. cabinet along with another one in December. Put them down-this one disappeared. This C.D.,to me sounds Christmas. Had to re-order. So pleased that I did. I generally play it when I am doing the housework/cooking etc. With this on I seem to get finished a lot quicker. Also when I have visitors. In the end all singing along to it.It is now put away safely, awaiting it's next outing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Every few years, they change the track listing and the artwork. This is the third edition of this collection, which is as strong a collection of Christmas songs as you'll find anywhere. Some big hits have been dropped from the second edition (it has a bright red frame to the front picture of Santa), which I slightly prefer, but other big hits have replaced them so the overall strength is the same.
Cliff Richard had three Christmas number one hits in the UK - Millennium prayer, Saviour's day and Mistletoe and wine - and they are all here together with a fourth big UK hit, Little town. I love Cliff's music but some people have a different opinion and will not like his strong representation here.
Many classic UK hits are here (and one or two non-hits that should have been), including Happy Xmas (John Lennon), Wonderful Christmastime (Paul McCartney), I wish it could be Christmas every day (Wizzard), Merry Christmas everybody (Slade), Do they know its Christmas (Band aid), I believe in Father Christmas (Greg Lake), A spaceman came travelling (Chris De Burgh), The power of love (Frankie goes to Hollywood), Step into Christmas (Elton John), Little Saint Nick (Beach boys), Santa Claus is coming to town (Jackson 5), In dulci Jubilo (Mike Oldfield), Stop the cavalry (Jona Lewie), Christmas wrapping (Waitresses), White Christmas (Bing Crosby), The Christmas song (Nat King Cole), Walking in the air (Aled Jones), Rocking around the Christmas tree (Mel and Kim), Lonely this Christmas (Mud) and Gaudete (Steeleye Span). All these songs are regulars on UK Christmas compilations, though Brenda Lee's version of Rocking around the Christmas tree is sometimes used instead of the Mel and Kim version - both were UK hits at different times. Whatever you think of these songs and the Cliff Richard songs, they, together with the traditional songs, are the mainstay of British Christmas pop/rock compilations.
It is good to see Lonely pup in a Christmas shop (Adam Faith) included. This was a UK top five hit but is rarely seen on Christmas compilations. It is also great to have Ring out solstice bells (Jethro Tull) and the Tom Jones and Cerys Matthews version of Baby it's cold outside.
The remainder of the collection is mainly made up of covers but there's a great selection by great singers including Dean Martin, Matt Monro, Peggy Lee and Ella Fitzgerald. Note that the Spinners who sing Twelve days of Christmas are the British folk group, not the Detroit soul group - they are always listed as the Detroit Spinners in UK releases.
If you only buy one Christmas pop/rock album, you cannot go wrong with the Best Christmas album in the world ever, whether you buy this edition or the second edition.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2000
Here we are with yet another quickly compiled album filled with the same old songs that appear in some guise on every other christmas album! If you have other Christmas albums, there's no need to buy this one, but if you're looking for a mix of old and new, then this is a pretty safe bet to suit everyone from your little niece to your great-gran. The only reservations I have have are: Why have FOUR Cliff Richard records, and just how Christmassy are Robbie Williams' "Angels" and FGTH's "Power of Love" ?? Chucked in to please the teenies...
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 July 2014
My all-time favourite Christmas compilation album is: The No.1 Christmas Album: 40 Classic Christmas Tracks, so I can't agree with the title of 'The Best Christmas Album In The World', part of EMI/Virgin's long-running 'Ever' series. However, this two-disc collection from 2000, is indeed very strong. This album has been re-issued at least three times, with several songs dropped to make way for some new additions.

There are plenty of festive standards here, including 'Winter Wonderland' by Peggy Lee, Mel and Kim's tongue-in-cheek '80s hit version of 'Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree', which is usually associated with Brenda Lee's traditional recording, Nat 'King' Cole with 'Frosty The Snowman', and Bing Crosby crooning 'White Christmas'. Newer artists also sing the classics, including Jane McDonald doing 'Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas', and some excellent originals, my favourites being 'A Spaceman Came Travelling', 'Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday', and 70s groups Wizzard with 'I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday', and Slade's 'Merry Christmas Everybody'. Cliff Richard is best represented here, with three of his recordings present: 'Saviour's Day', 'The Millennium Prayer' and 'Mistletoe and Wine'.

This has a good line-up, although there are a few of my favourites that are neglected, namely 'A Fairytale Of New York' by The Progues & Kirsty MacColl, 'Lonely This Christmas' by Mud, and David Essex's 'A Winter's Tale'. I also love Kate Bush's excellent 'December Will Be Magic Again', but that isn't the world's best-known festive number, so I understand the omission. Either way, I have all of these on my aforementioned favourite Christmas album anyway.

The 2000 edition of 'The Best Christmas Album in the World ...... Ever' might not carry a title of which I agree with, but if you're looking for an album of this type, like I said, it's a good set.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
You can never have enough Christmas CD's! I know there is alot of stuff around right now,but for a real good mix of the songs that you and your family and friends remember,this CD will have it! It has to be in your Christmas must haves-you will love it! Get it!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2000
growing up in England I remember all these wonderful classics. Now in the USA, I am introducing the yanks to the brilliant songs of Slade, Wizzard and of course Sir Cliff. Thanks a million.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
I had this album years ago and lost it. I was sooo happy to see it on here and couldn't wait to buy it. There isn't a bad song on it and it has artists on there that you don't hear on the newer albums.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
Great Album, I have been looking for a Christmas CD for the past few years for our office and have finally found one that everyone likes.
Was very disappointed to see that Last Christmas, by Wham was not on it, and neither was Fairytale of New York by the Pogues and Kirsty Mc Coll. If these songs had been included then I would have awarded it 5 stars
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)