Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2004
What makes the Blue Tree's really stand out from Gorky's previous work and become the trendsetter for what came after, is a stripped down sense of clarity, as if the band had woken up from their last acid trip, pulled the wizards hat off Euros' head once and for all, had a long shower, yawned, and started afresh.
Gorky's have always been a band that seem to either muse over times long gone or ridicule the mundanity of the present day, and through both the Blue Tree's really does seem to prise open the most personal side of the band. This is attractive, it touches upon that Celtic melancholy, that obsession with nature and dreaming and thought. Either way, there's a rural integrity to this music which supersedes most modern accoustic rubbish whined by dreary shoe-starers. It embraces folk music with a wonderful sense of melody. It's delicate, but it's invigorating stuff. This is why it is a superb album, and why Gorky's are such an important band.
Standing on a rural Welsh coastline, in the woods or on top of a hill this is music for escapists. Sounds a touch cheesy to some, but its true. Dont miss out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2006
With the Blue Trees you can be transported to any time in history that you've ever wanted to leave this one for. This is one absolutely timeless classic. If you've ever been clubbed to death by some friendly Neanderthal on a Saturday night this probably the escapism you need. Totally rehumanising, this has the ups and the downs, i.e. 'Sweeter Than The Freshness In Water' and 'Foot And Mouth '68'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2003
The Blue Trees was a blatant statement of the band disposing of the pyschedelia which shaped early gems like 'Bwyd Time', hence every track is accoustic folk. 'Folk' is often attributed to every indie kid who plays the guitar sitting down with the amp unplugged, but these indie kids (lest we forget they were adolescent cira Patio) were serious. The rustic imagery of 'This Summer's Been Good From The Start' coupled with the lazy guitar on 'Wrong Turnings' makes for an album which doesn't scream out loud, lets you in very, very, gently and doesn't demand attentive listening. No Gorky's album is complete without the contraversial 'weird one' and this time its 'Foot and Mouth '68' (yes, really) but once you reach the sublime 'Face Like Summer' and Childs' perverse falsetto, the figure '7000 units' seems enough to incite 7000 bullets in the pop machine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2000
Welsh music, people think Manics, Super Furries, Catatonia (arghhh!). Well they're wrong, Welsh music is Gorky's and also damn good. Eight musically sugar sweet, vocally angelic tracks for less than the price of a lap dance. They've taken the core of a perfect album and kept it at that, without the tracks added these days just to justify the price and fill it out. Da iawn Gorky's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2002
Would it be sane to describe an album as 'delicious'? Maybe not, but I've racked my brain and can't pick a better word to describe this wonderful little album....well, maybe 'perfect' isn't a bad second choice - but then if you haven't heard it yet you probably won't believe me, but believe me the converts will. In fact, they probably think I haven't been gushing enough yet.
How can I describe "The Blue Trees" then? Well, I haven't played it to a soul who hasn't enjoyed it - it's acoustic charms seem to appeal to everyone, it's like a hazy summer vibe has been caught in a net, pressed onto a plastic disc and mass produced. It breathes the same fragile air space as your favourite Nick Drake record, it's delicate but not twee and complete unforgettable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
Having been an avid follower of the Gorky's for many years i waited with great anticipation for this mini-album release, and boy was i not dissapointed! This album should have a warning sticker on it as it is strangely very addictive, thank god its not a full album. I wont spoil any of the songs for you, but ill just say track two is a corker. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
gorky's are probably the best band in the world, and this mini LP is continuing where they left off on the sublime "Spanish Dance Troupe". the instrumentals are lovely, especially the title track, and euros delivers some superb vocals on fresher....and face like summer. this album rocks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
gorky's are probably the best band in the world, and this mini LP is continuing where they left off on the sublime "Spanish Dance Troupe". the instrumentals are lovely, especially the title track, and euros delivers some superb vocals on fresher....and face like summer. this album rocks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2000
This CD is absolutely beautiful. I have about worn it out on my CD player. Once again , GZM play in the field of innovation, beauty, harmony, melody and absolute brillance. Worth the international shipping charge any day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
I have most of the GZM albums, they are all good but this is the on I go back to most often. It has an atmosphere all ofits own. Simple and rustic. Great summer album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.15
£8.50
£20.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)