Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2006
A Grand Day Out, The Wrong Trousers and A Close Shave - all on one DVD, together with an introduction by Nick Park, 3 nice little documentary programmes: 'The Amazing World of Wallace and Gromit', 'Inside the Wrong Trousers' and 'A Close Shave: How Did They Do It?' I've watched all 3 animations on telly whenever they're shown. By coincidence, The Wrong Trousers was on BBC 1 earlier today and even though I'd only watched it on this DVD yesterday, I watched it again on the BBC (and the disc still in the DVD player) - couldn't resist. And because I'd only watched the DVD yesterday, I noticed that Gromit's birthday card plays "Happy Birthday to You" on the TV version and "For He's a Jolly Fellow" on the DVD version. How odd. In any case, the Wallace and Gromit collection fill me with good cheer whenever I watch them. I guess we all know and love them very well so I'll just say something about the little documentaries bundled with the animations. They are well worth watching. Nick Park tells how he got into animation, the origins of Wallace and Gromit and their personalities, and then we see how he and his fellow animators actually make the animations. It takes infinite time and patience. Several of the statistics he gave almost made me gasp. He started his Grand Day Out when he was still at college and it took him 2 years to complete just 10 minutes of the animation. He explains and shows how Gromit's eye-brows are used to change his expression. This is very clever. Gromit never speaks and yet we know just what he must be thinking and feeling all through the adventure - by nothing other than the shape his brow has been moulded into. It gives him a depth of personality that any writer could envy in an invented character.

The stories are funny and imaginative and the animations are wonderful. It's no wonder they got the Oscars. They richly deserved them.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2004
These are three great animated classics. Unfortunately, my enjoyment of The Wrong Trousers (the best of the three) was spoiled by the fact that the music had been changed in places, presumably due to the idiot copyright laws.
Instead of 'Happy Birthday', Gromit's card now plays an uninspired version of 'For He's A Jolly Good Fellow'. The penguin's radio still starts playing 'Tie A Yellow Ribbon', but in place of 'Happy Talk' and 'How Much Is That Doggie In The Window', we get what seems to be generic electronic organ noise, on what is obviously a different organ. This being issued by the BBC, the changes were doubtless done as cheaply as possible.
That said, the most thrilling chase in television history still involves a bald inventor, his dog and an armed penguin racing around a living room on an electric train set.
Full marks to Aardman, but not BBC Worldwide.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2000
Having just read a review warning that this DVD does not play on certain DVD players, I would like to add that it also does not play on my Wharfedale 750. The disc itself is fine, as it played OK on my PC. My son was very disappointed, as Wallace and Gromit are two of his all time favourites, and we were looking forward to having all three adventures on one disc. I have spoken to Techies at the BBC who say that they have filed a report to the manufacturers about the problems with playback and the DVD players affected. I don't know if they will re-release it in a friendlier format or if it just means that we have to buy a new DVD player. Such a shame, as it could have been a classic.
Be warned!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2005
This is a "cracking" DVD - it includes all 3 of the original movies - A Grand Day Out, The Wrong Trousers and A Close Shave plus a bonus features section.
The first ten minutes of A Grand Day Out were made by Nick Park by himself. It took two years to film and so he needed help, and Aardman needed animators - wayhay! They got together and finished A Grand Day Out in 1989. The animation is a bit etchy at times, but nevertheless, it is a hilarious escapade!
The Wrong Trousers has better clay animation as it shows the breakfast routine in Wallace and Gromit's house, plus some excellent clay animation to show Gromit crying, which is funny to watch as it is animated so well. The gags and jokes in this one are better than A G. D. O., but it is original too, especially the train scene at the end!
A close shave shows a new breakfast routine, and Wallace and Gromit's new job - the Wash'n'Go Window Cleaning Service with a Thunderbirds style launch. And there is a new hero in this episode - Shaun the Sheep! And now to prove them all wrong, watch this one to show those who said a motorcycle sidecar cannot fly, how wrong they were!
The bonus features include a gallery section, a documentary with Nick Park and several BBC2 idents for Christmas - those are funny, even for the brief seconds they last!
All in all, a great DVD for parents and children alike!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2005
When you think how much work goes into the making of these clay animation features you simply have to stand back in awe. All three Wallace and Gromit short films on this DVD are very funny and hugely entertaining. These "Cracking Adventures" are worth watching again and again, because you can guarantee that you will see something you have missed when watching them previously. Personally I love the machines and the clever little references to animation/puppet work, by other studios. Wallace and Gromit though do have an original charm that shows a huge amount of imagination. The extra features on this DVD are a welcome addition to the three adventures and include audio commentaries by Nick Park and others from Aardman and making of featurettes. This DVD really does justice to Nick Park's legendary creations, so if you're a Wallace and Gromit fan this DVD will be just up your street.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
This title will not play on the popular Samsung 807 DVD player that was sold by Kingfisher Group (ie, Comet, etc). I know that the disc is not faulty, because it plays perfectly on a friend's Philips DVD player. I understand from the DVD forums that it may not play on some other DVD players. It is Region 2 and 4.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2001
Finally got to watch it on my Laptop *** WARNING - neither my Playstation 2 or PC with Panasonic DVD drive & WinDVD would run it ***. My 4 & 2 yr olds just love the characters and antics - us big kids can laugh at the bits they don't get too ("Why's that funny Daddy?"). A great bundle compared to the Videos with some interesting extras - including some nice PC desktop icons, screensavers etc. Do get it - but check out amazon's returns policy just in case!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2005
Cracking, just cracking! I watched this DVD at a friend's house the other night after going to see 'The Curse of the Were-Rabbit' at the flics and now I'm very tempted to buy it myself because these are such classic English adventures, which in my opinion far surpass all other character-driven animations and are soooo hilarious it's not even funny, except it is! There's crime fighting, window cleaning, space hopping, cheese eating and so much more besides and all that's packed into 3 highly individual, riveting and fanciful adventures. Although they only last a total of 96 minutes that time is incredibly well spent- action-packed and chocked full of gags- you'll definitely be left more than satisfied.
Feathers McGraw (the penguin) from 'The Wrong Trousers', the moon-machine from 'A Grand Day Out' and Shaun the sheep from 'A Close Shave' are my personal highlights of the trilogy (as well as W&G of course) and these are heroes and villains brilliantly realised and brought to perfect, plastercine life by Parks and his team and a testament to the creativity and dedication that must go on behind the scenes. And the brilliantly observed, eccentric and lovable characters are only part of the reason why these short stories exude such charm- there's also the modest, but incredibly endearing animation that enhances rather than detracts from the humour and the deceptively simple stories, which will quickly have adults and children alike wearing smiles as wide and cheesy as Wallace himself.
But to all penguins posing as roosters reading this review I offer this warning...we're onto you! Milk bottles at the ready lads and lasses!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2006
All fantastic! And they stand the test of multiple views. My toddler is in love with them, especially "A Grand Day Out" and we watch these three shorts constantly, over and over and over. We have probably seen A Grand Day out more than 50 times, and have probably seen the other two more than 25 times. We still love them.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2000
Nick Parks Wallace and Gromit are absolutely superb and very funny.
The short animations feature Wallace, a somewhat naive but lovable inventor and Gromit, his trusty canine guardian. The animations are a rollercoaster ride of fun and suspence as Wallace's inventions often cause a fair bit of mayhem.
There is so much cleverly hidden humour in these three adventures that even adults will notice "new" jokes even after many reruns.
Nick Park deservedly one Oscar's for the last two of the three adventures, The Wrong Trousers and a close shave. Having recently turned his hand successfully to the "big screen" with Chicken Run, I expect we may see more of Wallace and Gromit in the future.
But in the meantime, place all your kids in front of the television, sit back with some Wendsleydale and feast on a great DVD
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse