Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2002
Excellent film. No doubt about it.
If you liked the original, which you must coz it's a classic, then you'll love this. It's a complete remake, other than a few lines and scenes,(Nothing to worry about). Savini's done extremely well with directing and with the gorefest but the only downfall has got to be that there are cut scenes of exit wound shots.
This is all explained in the 25 minute documentary added as a special feature with the deleted scenes.
I don't see why they show the deleted scenes then, but not in the actual feature film itself. I was quite dissapointed but none the less an all round excellent film for a true Zombie Flick Fan like myself.
Even still has the line "They're coming to get you Barbara". That ones a classic.
Enjoy!!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2005
As the dead come alive and set out to devour the living, a few people seek safety in an isolated house. Do they try to hold it against the relentless tide of the living dead? Do they make a run for it in the hope of finding a safe haven? Can they even manage to agree to work together as a team? Or will they self-destruct?
Romero's original film - made at the height of the Vietnam War and in the cauldron of the civil rights struggle - portrayed young people faced with senseless slaughter, juxtaposed the imagination of the living against the blind obedience of the dead, and made emphatic the racial and generational tensions of the plot.
From the very first, Savini's remake of this classic, groundbreaking film cranks up the tension and the dramatic quality of the original as a brother and sister argue on their way to their mother's plot in an isolated graveyard. Romero collaborated in this remake of his zombie masterpiece - working closely with Savini, the remake benefits from advances in technology and the freedom of a much bigger budget, and this is apparent from the opening shots.
Faithful to Romero's original - at least throughout the first half - this is an intensified and amplified drama. While it cannot recapture the novelty and impact value of the original, in many respects this is one of those rare events in cinematography - a remake which equals its progenitor in quality. Savini has better resources and uses them to effect. If his version has a weakness it is in its failure to capture the suffocating sense of claustrophobia Romero managed with his survivors trying to barricade themselves in safely.
Savini also loses much of the political gravitas of the original. This is a commercial remake, not a statement about political realities. But Savini does diverge from the original storyline, and, in doing so, makes his own political statements. His female characters are more independent, more assertive. And the living are shown to be just as barbaric as the dead - it's not death which has turned the zombies into mindless creatures, society has already done that to the living.
Tom Savini uses his resources with authority and perception. He takes the dynamic originality of Romero's vision and elaborates on it skilfully. The result is more visceral, more mature, more sanguine in its consideration of dramatic potential. He delivers a film which is every bit as good as the original and which is a worthy parallel to Romero's work.
And the DVD offers some interesting extras - an excellent 'making of' featurette (25 minutes) is well worth watching. As a resurrected classic, this is an excellent production, a must-see for horror fans, and a DVD you should add to your collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2003
I didn't think a remake would be possible but Tom Savini pulled it off and i was not dissapointed. (well i was because of the fact that they cut alot of gory footage out which is shown on the dvd special feature documentery)I enjoyed every minute of this film and the characters are superbly chosen eg Tony Todd
(Candyman).I like the way that Barbaras personality has changed
alot because in this remake she is tough and can fend for herself.This film is worth watching.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 October 2015
The original creators of the seminal Night of the Living Dead (1968) reconvene 22 years later to, well, make some money!

It was a compromised production, with director Tom Savini announcing that the finished cut is not half the film he set out to make. Surprising, then, to find it still works to the point of being viable. It's a very effective zombie pic, one performed with quality by the cast, with the concept of a group of people holed up in a house - under intense attack by the walking dead - still terrifying. Group dynamics again explode, heroes and villains are born, and the creatures are high grade in scary construction. Caveat, though, is that although it's a faithul(ish) remake, where with the new tools to hand it's understandable why the makers thought they could create another horror classic, but one for the 90s horror hordes, it still remains that it's utterly bloodless. While the finale is a bit stinky... 6/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2002
I have to say that when I first heard about this film, I thought it was going to be another long drawn out zombie flick, just like many of the others...but to my surprise this film was actually good, the special effects were very entertaining and Tom Savini added that extra bit of gore to make the film really come alive, the opening is better than the original because you get that feeling of being alone in the churchyard and with the zombies and nowhere to run. Pat Tallman best known for her appearances on Babylon 5, really brings the character Barbara to life, starting off as a weak and frightened young woman running to anyone who will save her and then making the transition to gun carrying kick ass tough girl who won't take sh*t off anyone, especially a few walking corpses. This was definitely better than the original, with lots of gruesome effects and surprises in store.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 February 2015
It is fair to say that, in zombie movie terms, the original ‘Night of the Living Dead’ was a classic. Not only was it pretty gory and creepy for its time (hey, it was still the sixties!), but it also carefully alluded to the racial tensions of America at the time. Therefore, it not only cemented its place in the horror hall of fame, but also won praise for its daring social commentary.

How could anyone truly do the original justice by remaking it? Well... perhaps one thing that may go a long way is by giving it back to the people who made it to begin with!

Yes, zombie overlord George A Romero returns at (well, near) the helm to make sure the remake goes smoothly. If you don’t know... the film is about the start of a worldwide zombie epidemic. While society crumbles a rag-tag bunch of people try to survive the night in an abandoned farm house, while trying to fend off seemingly never ending waves of flesh-eating ghouls. Now, that synopsis actually describes both the 1968 version and the 1990 remake. The latter’s first selling point is that it sticks to the original concept pretty tightly. In fact, the story is basically a shot-for-shot remake (okay, not ‘shot-for-shot’ in that depressing ‘Psycho’ remake, but shot-for-shot enough to keep the basic premise constantly the same).

Yes, it has some changes. First of all the remake looks better. It has a higher budget and has a more ‘polished’ feel to it. Plus all the actors really do play their parts well (some even being improved, in a few cases). Basically, the original is so good, that a remake that simply takes everything that’s good at it and just updates its look and feel for a more modern audience isn’t such a bad thing.

Yes, the original was a classic, simply because it was – for want of a better word – original. There had never really been anything like it before, therefore it’s stayed the test of time. Yes, it was filmed in black and white (and the ‘coloured in’ version looked a little odd) so having what is technically a ‘properly coloured’ version of the same movie is no bad thing.

If you were to ask most (a) zombie purists and (b) film critics, they’d probably tell you that nothing could outdo the 1968 version. And, to be fair, they may be right. However, that doesn’t stop the 1990 remake being a decent enough little zombie film in its own right. If you like your undead slow, creepy and relentless, give this one a go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2000
I bought this on impulse and expected the worse. The cover art looks like some cheapo 80's horror, but what's inside is a surprisingly good disc.
The NOTLD remake may never be the classic the original was, but it's still a fine film. Tony Todd and Patricia Tallman are good leads, with the rest of the cast generally doing a good job.
As for the DVD, the picture quality is sharp, and the Dolby Surround is clear. There's also a director's commentary and a documentary (which features alternate footage cut by the censors).
One of the best zombie films of the 90's.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2000
This film has suffered from always being unfavourably compared to it's older black and white sibling, but is actually a very strong horror/apocalypse drama in it's own right. The cast are solid, with particularly strong performances from Tony Todd, Tom Towles, and Patricia Tallman (who eventually went on to star in Babylon 5). Tom Savini, who did the effects on Dawn and Day of the Dead directs the film with a sure hand, and the subtle changes in the direction of the plot and characters make it a fine companion piece to the monochrome version. The special effects are of course one area where this film excels over its predecessor with much creepier and more varied zombies, but suprisingly considering the director's track record the gore is fairly subdued. I've always been a huge fan of George Romero's zombie films, but if I'm totally honest, I have to say I prefer this version to his. George did provide the script for this re-make too though...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
I wasnt impressed when i heard a remake of one of the all time classic zombie films was on the cards...However, the result surprised me and now I own both!
Very similar plot, except for a few interesting changes that keeps second time viewers guessing and of course all the quality immportal lines have been left in - as if you could take them out!
The acting is to a decent standard, if slightly over the top, but then what do you expect from a zombie film. And it contains one of my favourite ever scenes when one of our heroes goes on a crazy mission and ends up knocking over about a million zombies in the process...
So good in fact i think i'll have to watch it again...NOW...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
This is the German release of Savini's
remake, the movie fills all the screen on a
modern t.v. It says uncut, but the film itself
is quite tame as Savini states in the extras
"it's almost sterile". He explains it better than me
on the DVD. But he also says maybe it's better
to use your imagination on the 'cut' bits to fill
in the blanks, as it were. Apparently the MPAA
were all over this move like a rash, so not really
his fault then?.
Personally, i don't want to use my imagination
when it comes to horror films, when possible i'd
MUCH rather see the gore/effect. Still, it remains
a good effort & Romero did the screenplay.
Dawn Of The Dead is still the greatest zombie
story of all time, and is also the greatest film of all
time (personally). The 'feel' of DOTD, the music of
DOTD, the scope of DOTD & the fact that Romero
always comes across as the nicest guy EVER, cements
it in legendary land. i go for walk now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)