Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
29
Aint Life Grand
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.73+ £1.26 shipping


on 3 October 2000
When slash first arrived back in the 80s, the guitar landscape was very different, solo artists running amok playing 1000s of notes per bar. Slash came along, with his blues inflected melodic lead playing, and Gibson Les Paul WITHOUT a tremolo unit. Now, despite being, on paper, a sure fire miss, Slash turned out to be one of the most infleuntial guitarists of the last 20 years. Aint Life Grand incorporates his myriad of infleunces and tastes, and the songs vary wildly. Some fans of Guns N Roses may be disappointed, but if you admire a good tune, racous singing, and rip roaring guitar work, you'll love this album. My one gripe is that i could have been a bit more together, the sound is awesome, but the styles just miss fitting perfectly. Only a minor flaw though, and one which mostly won't be noticed if you love or are even mildly interested in Slash. Definitely worth looking into
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2014
This is a real rocker. Honestly much better than the first one from the Snakepit, my opinion. I can t get tired of this album, it is for me his best "solo" stuff together with the last two ones he has done with M. Kennedy. Must-have foot stomping grinning great rock and roll.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2005
Slash has always been one of my idols and when i bought this album i was a bit pretencious about how it may turn out since the last snakepit album was less than impressive! However i was delighted to hear this album as it has a new line up of members, Rod Jackson especially impressed me with his original and powerfull voice, and Slash was as ever amazing! His solo's were fast, powerfull and had that gn'r edge to it which the last snakepit album missed!
The music is alot different to GN'R but then why shouldn't it be?! The songs have alot more bluesyer ring to it which was an original rock sound (for me atleast)!and i would say this is a must buy album as sice ive had it hasn't been out of my cd player! Slash once again has impressed with his original riffs,solo's etc! but all the praise shouldnt go down to just SLASH as amazing rock god he is but Rod Jackson,and eveyone else who appear in this album have alot to be praised with! there arent that many albums that ive heard that are this original and have that edge to it that alot of rock misses 10/10 to it! BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2016
Received on the day from Japan with a huge smile on my face before my mailbox, before listening to it again and again for several hours and take the pleasure of listening to Slash's guitar creativity for hours up to the middle of the night.
The CD version of it adds a much better sound to the listening experience. Thank you !
Tracks such as 'Ain't Life Grand', 'The Truth', 'Landslide' definitively stand out from the whole album songs set. Bonus tracks on the Japanese (JP) Edition are both welcomed and add some further groovy and melodic atmosphere to the whole songs set of the album.
Definitively a must-buy to any good respected heavy rock fan :-))
Recorded in 2000 with Koch Records, Munich and the US - Producer Jack Douglas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2001
Once upon a time 80's synth sounds were all the rage, til 1 man and his band came along a changed it all, that man was SLASH, and now he's back, with his top hat, his cig and a low slung les paul still frimly in place, the riffs are there, the sounds are there, but best of all the ROCK is there. From Been There Lately to the Alien, you wont b able to put down your air guitar. If you like Slash buy it, if you dont like him buy it anyway, because THE TRUTH is you'd b an ALIEN not to, JUST LIKE ANYTHING that Slash has done b4 it Rocks the world. AINT IT GRAND!!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 December 2013
I NEVER write reviews - in fact this is my first. I'm a long-time lead guitarist and rock fan. I've recently reached saturation point in terms of finding new music - modern bands (that is bands that formed recently, not currently touring bands formed from years past) don't seem to be cutting it (with the exception of Muse etc). I love GNR, Van Halen, Poison, Extreme, Queen, Bowie, you get the drift... Fave album is Appetite, hands-down (though Extreme's 3 Sides is a close 2nd). To me, "Ain't Life Grand" is Slash's best output since Appetite. Every song is catchy, the guitar work is excellent and the vocals are also excellent. It's a shame the band never worked out (singer problems from what I gather) - but even more of a shame is the fact that nobody seems to know about this album and that it seems to get more and more difficult to find it in stores at normal pricing! To me this is an absolute tragedy, which is why I wrote this!

This is an absolute GEM of an album, full-stop. Real music by real rockers - if only this was played on mainstream radio... buy it - you wont regret it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2016
It's Ain't Life GRAND! Not ground!
Very good, accomplished, kickass rock n roll. Why four and not five stars? There just don't seem to be any stand out tracks for me yet. Maybe I need to pay more attention but it's had a few weeks in the car's auto changer for almost daily drive to work rock outs. Appreciably different to "It's Five o'clock Somewhere" which I enjoyed no end... maybe that's it. Well worth getting if you enjoy Slash's guitar work and you like rock n roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2012
I reckon this is the best thing Slash has done, excluding GnRs, would have liked him to have kept Slash's Snakepit going
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 December 2009
Slash's snakepit was originally meant to be known simply as 'snakepit', but record producers added Slash's name to the front of the band - and it might have been a good thing. After all, not that many people would have heard ain't life grand and it's five o'clock somewhere had slash's name been absent. Anyways, if you are a fan of early guns n roses (before illusion 2), and the grittier songs of illusion 1 you'd love this - songs like Mean Bone and Landslide are instant standouts. Even if you weren't a big fan of the first incarnation of Snakepit (with Eric Dover - it's five o'clock somewhere) and its raw, very pissed off vocals, you will appreciate this offering from the 'second' snakepit. Rod Jackson's voice is a slightly more melodic version of Eric Dover's - the more soulful qualities of his voice shining through the ballads in this song (back to the moment, the truth). As it has been stated in previous reviews on both amazon and amazon uk, ain't life grand and Slash's snakepit in general isn't very original, but it rocks in that bluesy, sleazy way typical of 80's glam bands - its a breath of lighter, rawer output when compared to later Guns n' Roses.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2000
Aint Life Grand is an album graced with some classic rock songs. Slash seems to have wrote this album with no constraints or pressure allowing him to explore every aspect of his playing from hard rock songs like 'Been There Lately' to dark powerful rock songs like 'Serial Killer'. Rods singing is awesome, way better than Axl's or Eric Dovers. This album is the path that Guns N Roses should have taken after 'Incident'. When GnR finally release there new album it has a lot of work to do to even compare to this album. I recommend you go out and buy it cause its HOT !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

World On Fire
£9.99
Slash
£5.99
Libertad
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)