Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2013
A great collection from the end of the Deram era to the end of 'Ziggy Stardust'. These sessions show even when stripped back and played live and intimately DB was always going to be a Megastar.
To add to this the bonus live disc recorded at the BBC Radio Theatre is excellent. The track that really stands out for me is 'Always Crashing In The Same Car'. I've not heard it live before and this version is excellent.

I only have two gripes, one which cannot be helped - the quality of some of the recordings are a bit ropey but they are 40 years old analogue. I'm glad I have them though. The other is the the second version of 'Ziggy Stardust' on disc 2 is a duplicate version of the first. This was a mistake on the first pressing of the album. This was rectified on subsequent versions. I just downloaded the track from Amazon.

I would say this is an album for those who know Bowie's music and not necessarily a good intro to his music now as it would have been back in the day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2001
Pity there isnt more of this though - i was enthralled by the third cd, the live 2000 performance contains the best version of Ashes to Ashes ever and its just a pity that more songs from that performance, or the complete performance isnt here as I would have loved to have heard Ziggy Stardust for the 90s and some of the Deram label stuff translated into a ore modern context but they are not present - presumably for timing reasond i.e it would have stretched to a 4th Disc! But I would certainly buy am intact double CD version of that show if one was issued- Love the version of Cygnet Comitee on Disc 1 too... some of the best stuff is here! I always adore live Cds they just have a better atnosphere and a rare street too is the premiere airing of the Hunky Dory track KOOKs which is a very delicate and sweet rendition of a personal song...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
Disc 1 of this 2 (3 if you've also got the limited edition BBC Radio Theatre June 2000 concert) CD set is interesting as an historical record of early Bowie. Songs from his Anthony Newley period, Space Oddity and Man Who Sold the World are featured but it's the ballsy version of Chuck Berry's "Almost Grown" and an unreleased Bowie track, "Looking For A Friend" which are the tracks you'll come back to on this disc.
What makes this collection an essential Bowie purchase, however is disc 2.
Practically the whole Ziggy album was re-recorded live in the studio for the BBC at various times in 1971 and 1972. And it's an unrestrained, rawer and more dynamic Bowie and the Spiders you hear. Standout tracks include "Suffragette City" and "Moonage Daydream" - pure voltage compared to the studio album.
The pieces de resistance on disc 2 are Lou Reed's "White Light, White Heat" and "Waiting For The Man". Bowie and the Spiders recorded several versions of these for the BBC. Take it from me, the versions included on this collection are the best - Bowie has almost made these songs his own.
Check out, too, the Velvet Underground pastiche "Queen Bitch" and another Hunky Dory track, "Eight Line Poem" which is more beautifully delivered than the original studio version.
And at last on CD is the excellent, mostly acoustic, version of Space Oddity recorded for the Johnnie Walker show in 1972.
Some real gems on this long awaited collection - and a perfect tribute not only to Bowie but to the talents of ace guitarist and arranger Mick Ronson.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2001
Having read the review here on Amazon I decided to buy this despite the barbed comments about calcification. Having listened I can only assume that the reviewer was listening to another CD entirely. No the concert from June 2000 is not a carbon copy of performances from the 70s and 80s. Hardly surprising since more than twenty years have passed. Rather this is a Y2K interpretation, with the lush production and big band sound that is expected of todays live acts. What is remarkable is how well old favourites translate to a more modern production. If like me you first heard David Bowie in your teens and have enjoyed his evolution then buy this album. It is the next step in the evolution, your old friends Ziggy and the Duke have come out to play and yes, they have changed and grown. If you didn't experience the thrill the first time then buy this collection and catch a glimpse of the original excitement.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2001
Just buy it here and now. This is the best Bowie stuff all in one package since those 10" vinyls of The Lower Third, etc. in the early '80s. Also contains some classic clips of John Peel. DON'T be tricked, as I was, into bying the identical box in Tower Records which contains only the first two CDs. Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2009
The Third 'free' CD of the 2000 concert in the BBC Theatre is simply briliant. A welcome mix of Bowie's work will not satisfy all who want to hear specfic milestones from his career but for me it is faultless.
Whether you enjoy Bowie for his own work or for his talent in putting a terrific band together, this is essential listening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2000
Having listened to a lot of these tracks on bootleg (ahem!) and some versions on the deram anthology, it is fabulous to at last have auntie beeb consent to the official release of these nuggets. Of course, much like The Who's recent fab BBC release, its like being transported back in time to when we all used to huddle around the radio late at night listening to these weird and wonderful sounds. Revel in being 'unwashed and somewhat slightly dazed', say 'bye ta ta' to swinging London. Great! And of course some vintage '72 era stuff. (Ronson/Bowie 'fellatio' not pictured)The added bonus of course on this boxed 3-cd version is the live stuff! A worthwhile piecemeal for those of you unlucky enough to not have a copy of LiveandWell.com, Bowie's exclusive net only live cd. Buy, enjoy, time travel and wear a long dress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2001
Once again, the thin white duke and the other personas come out for an impressive display of musical talent and shocking creativity. These three disks present thoughtfully selected tracks that consist of not only old favourites, but some of the rarer beauties that previously remained on the fringes of radio play.
This collection demonstrates the ambiance and sounds of Bowie that make him who is as an artist, not only from '68 to '72--but his modern creations as well, with brilliant recent live recordings of "Seven" and "Hallo Spaceboy." Do yourself a favour and experience this collection over and over again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
Bowie's voice has mellowed over the years. His classic and unmistakable sounds takes you on a trip across a third of a century. For some, me included, that conjures up visions of the 70's (ah, those halcion days!) through to the more sedate memories of the late nineties. From the acoustic sets through the rauncy and raw guitar of Mick Ronson (the most under-rated rock guitarist...ever) and up to the tight sets of 1999, this collection will be sought after for may years to come. I've got mine...well actually it belongs to my son. They have been taught well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
Some of the tracks on CD 1 are a bit 'iffy', but interesting, Width of a Circle coupled with Bob Harris's 'enthusiastic' commentary make it. CD 2 has some great tracks, Moonage Daydream and the 2 versions of Ziggy Startdust and Hang On To Yourself are full of energy, Mick Ronson providing the raw guitar sound. CD 3 is a complete contrast (nearly 30 years on!), the timing is superb, reminds me of Frank Zappa's 1988 band at its best. This is not America, Absolute Biginners and Stay are brilliant.
3 CDs for this price, definite buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)