Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
77
4.7 out of 5 stars
Van Halen (Reissue)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 January 2010
Having bought this Album on "Plastic" in 1980 and then replaced in 2000 with CD version, I have to say that the remastered version takes me right back to my youth and rubbish attempts at copying EVH!

My 13 year old Godson has just "found" Van Halen and this is his favourite album. Considering it's 32 years old and that a 13 year old Boy classes it as his Fave, its a reflection of just how stunning this work is. In 1978 it was years ahead of its time, nothing else out there could touch it.

As many others have said, just buy it, you must have it and it's a bargain price. Listen to Ice Cream Man and tell me it didn't blow you away ! Same applies for Atomic Punk and I'm on fire....

If you buy it, remember to crank it up!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2003
Rock reached the highest level with the release of Van Halen back in 1978. It was good for may reasons, like the fact every single song is a classic, with blistering guitaring on tracks like Eruption and powerful vocals with wonderfully flambouyant leadman David Lee Roth. Many bands we hear now are at the pinnacle of playing, they have all the technique and talent in the word, but lack one fundamental thing Van Halen oozed; Feel. Every song has tons of it, it takes you away from wherever you are and puts you on a journey of true professional in music. You can feel how much fun they have whilst playing. A decade of grunge has killed the notion of fun in rock n roll, but a spin of this record will bring it back. Eddie's insanely good guitar playing coupled with the rock solid rhythms of Michael Anthony and technical precision of Alex Van Halen has been harnessed and layed down on CD, to create a masterpiece. Any rock fan or musician NEEDS this album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The only taste of Van Halen I'd ever had was listening to radio-friendly hits, such as 'Jump' and 'Can This Be Love'. When I'd first heard of David Lee Roth in the '80s, I never knew he was previously the singer for Eddie Van Halen's group. Two or three years ago, I started buying a magazine called CLASSIC ROCK. I knew Van Halen was a brilliant guitarist, remembering his impressive solo in Michael Jackson's 'Beat It', but there were certain writers of the magazine who hailed Van Halen's debut album as superb. I bought it last year and what can I say? They were absolutely right. Those certainly were the days when they were a bona fide heavy rock band, drawing out riff after riff, and boasting a remarkable energy which other bands at the time could not match. When I heard Van Halen, I immediately recognised the opening riff of the classic 'Running With The Devil' and the amazing 'hammer' guitar attack which is 'Eruption' (which in the late '80s/early '90s Alan Freeman played at the end of his Radio One Saturday Night Rock Show). Their version of 'You Really Got Me' is stunning, as well. I swear that when I first heard this album that it was recorded in the '80s. The fact that it was made in 1978 shows how masterful Eddie Van Halen really was. He had a pretty ba**sy vocalist in Roth, too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
Best debut ever? Quite possibly. When this hit, jaws dropped. Literally. It tore up the old order, chewed it up and spat it out. It completely redefined how to to hard rock. The best front man and guitarist ever, combine with a brilliant rhythm section (and secret weapon backing vocals) to blow the pants off every once before and after. Guitar colleges divide the syllabus between before and after Eddie. Listen to Eurption to find out why. the ultimate guitar bomb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
This album represents a pivotal moment in Rock. After the jaded noodlings and ramblings of Prog Rock in the early 70's there was the inevitable Punk Backlash and the 'Anti-Guitar Hero' (No disrespect intended, Mr Jones(es)!! of furious slashing powerchords but NO SOLOS OR FANCY STUFF!!!
Then came Van Halen (The Band and the axeman) and confused all. it had the high energy and economy of song (mostly 3 minutes long) but boy did that guitar dazzle, scream, flurry, tap...tap...tap. There was the aggression of the Pistols, the speed of Motorhead, The heaviness of SABBATH and the melodicism of Elton....All in one 30 minute package. No need for hour long albums. This one changed the face of Rock guitar and Rock music forever with 8 original songs packed with sheer class, attitude and pure ROCK, 2 Covers (Ice Cream Man and the Kinks You Really got me) and the defining moment...Well ...the most defining-est moment since 'Purple Haze' 'Shape of things' and........uh...... My old man's a dustman!! where Eddie invented the 2 handed tapping of ERUPTION!!
iN A WORD (OR THREE) BUY IT NOW!!!! No guitar fan, or Rock fan or, indeed music fan should be without this groundbreaking album!!
...........and it arrived in perfect condition within 3 days. Thumbs up, Eddie and Amazon!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2005
I was lucky enough to have been at the right age when this came out,to fully realise the complete jaw dropping effect it had on me.You have to go back to the seventies when guitar players(some still superb players)were playing mainly blues rock which i love, but it needed someone to come along and shake things up,kick some fire and energy into the music scene. Its the raw energy that first grabs your attention almost a live album feel to it,then the unmistakable ERUPTION kicks in and your taken to a new level of musicianship.Everyone has read or heard about this track and is still the most unbelievable solo track ever put on tape,remember when you next play it and try to imagine all the other music and guitar playing at that time, hopefully you will appreciate it and realise the impact it had on the youth of the day.but more importantly its the songs and live energy sound of the album that put it up the top,if it wasnt for the great songs it wouldnt have the same impact,which just goes to show you great guitar playing without any solid structure to it is im afraid meaningless twiddle. so go and buy it straight away there is no excuse not to,if you love guitar or great rock songs played with feel and intensity then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2000
If you think that this album was released in the middle of the Punk era in the UK and USA, this went against the grain of popular music at the time. Incredible guitar work from Mr EVH, speed , tricks, feedback, whammy bar, full volume improvisation. Athletic rock, power, fun, pop-rock. All singing all dancing drive album.
The pick: Ice cream man. Blues, 0-60 in 1.5 second guitar solo.
A band that in their time eclipsed all others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
I have the original lp and also the remastered CD but I was interested in buying the latest vinyl version after a review on an audiophile forum. It is amazing, the sound is truly awesome on my set-up and the pressing is absolutely perfect, no surface noise at all and for once it has been housed in a polylined sleeve instead of the awful cardboard ones. All I can say is, PLAY IT LOUD!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2004
This is probably my favourite album from Van Halen. Having my dad play it everyday when i was young i suppose helps but this has a huge variety of different songs and having met Eddie Van Halen Recently it's rekindled my liking for it. I would recomend buying this album for it will defiantly make you wanna rock!! go for it!! it' also pretty cheap for quite a rare album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2000
The Gold disc is essential. I have this album on tape and standard CD, but with this re-mastered version you hear little things lost on the other releases. It is a like a punch between the eyes, this album has already sold over 10 million in the U.S alone and stands as probably the greatest debut release of all time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)