Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 January 2013
This import version of boogeyman is best ,uncut and looks great, great story that's very different to your average 80's horror its certainly a clever approach to this type of film with nice twists and bizarre death scenes, if you're an 80's horror fan then this is a must, there are so many horrors from this time its so hard to keep track of them all but this is really worth checking out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Not the one I remembered was not impressed one word boring
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
So many people bagged this movie. However I thoroughly enjoyed it. It had my attention and wonder from the start to beginning and I feel this movie is underated and doest get the credit it deserves. And much better pic quality than i expected as it is a vhs to dvd conversion. I am prous and happy to add this to my nasties collection. Highly recommended to fans of the genre
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2015
this is rare and i enjoyed the bogey man very much they made revenge of the bogey man it this out in the name to bring same film out because of this being banned is it as i cant get this seconed part two of dvd any where ok from malcolm hicklin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
One of the best from this period,manages to be both cliched and stylish at the same time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2002
If you're a horror film fanatic like me, and you're into gore-filled films, then you'll be one of the people constantly ticking off films you have finally seen that have been included on the video nasties list. I've seen about 15 of them so far, all of them uncut, including this one. And I have to say that this has to be one of the worst films ever made.
It's not often that I totally pan a film for being so rubbish, as I always view film with an open mind. I did this with Peter Jackson's BAD TASTE, hating it at first, but then having it grow on me. THE BOOGEYMAN is an exception. OK, the video nasties have to be given some leniency when it comes to noting that they are not very intelligent (think ZOMBIE FLESH EATERS, EVIL DEAD), and you can forgive the films for this because of their notoriety and the fact that you have seen something that not many other British people have (thank the BBFC for that one). But this film insults the intelligence of even the dimmest of people.
The story revlves around an evil spirit trapped in a mirror, a mirror that witnessed the murder of a woman and her lover. This mirror is taken to a lakeside house, where it is smashed. A piece of the mirror gets lodged to the bottom of a woman's shoe. This is where the mayhem begins.
This woman visits the house in which the original murders take place, and of course, the people living there die because of the glass stuck in the shoe. In another atrocious scene, the woman is sitting on a small pier out on the lake, and the light from the sun reflects off the glass of her shoe onto some teenage holiday makers across the lake, who have no connection to the storyline whatsoever. Cue the slowly flying knife offing the teenagers one by one.
The acting is terrible, the plot stinks and it's not really video nasty material, considering the competition it's up against. Avoid this trash at all costs.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2002
Described as a chiling story of concentrated evil and it's gruesome effects on a small farming community 'The Bogey Man' borrows many ideas from films such as 'The Exorcist', 'Poltergeist' and 'Halloween', unfortunately without ever coming close to the suspense, horror or style of any of the aforementioned movies.
Low budget featuring a cast of largley unknown actors under the direction of Ulli Lommel the pace ranges from slow to stop. The film suffers from a lack of atmosphere, dire acting, poor camerawork (Did nobody notice that in every scene featuring the only known actor, John Carradine, that the boom was in shot?)and a few not-so-special effects.
Gore fans, don't be fooled by the 'BANNED SINCE 1982' tag-line or the fact that this movie is uncut. Since the bloodbath as promised on the sleeve fails to materialise one can only assume that some kind censor was attempting to spare us the agony of subjecting ourselves to this total trash.
The DVD version of 'The Bogey Man' has little in the way of worthwhile extras. A picture gallery and promotional trailers (for films other then The Bogey Man!)hardly warrents the difference in price between this and the video version.
As a dedicated horror fan I can usually find something positive in any movie of the genre. Unfortunately this truly dreadful film has only one re-deeming feature - it's a relatively short piece and so I haven't wasted too much of my life on it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
This is a poor film in almost every respect, the acting, the story, the editing, the sound, the everything. i did like the music and some of the kills were decent enough and while i said after 10 mins that i was switching this bit of tripe off, i didnt, i stuck with it and heck i may even watch part 2 which i also have.
Heck alot of the video nasties from the 80s have the word crap in common but in the years since alot of this is tame in comparison but its awful yet thats what i knew before i pressed play. There is always room in my life for the shocking in my life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)