Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars

on 25 January 2001
For me their hey day was when they teamed up with the great motorhead, Lemmy really could pull a team together, some quality tracks, makes a great album
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2011
If one wondered what the 'love child' would be like emanating from a coupling of Motorhead and The Runaways, you would need to look no further than 'Girlschool' the British punk-metal hard rock band originating out of the New Wave scene in 1978. The Runaways genes can be witnessed by the similarity in looks between Joan Jett and Girlschool guitar player Kim McAuliffe. They are the longest running all-female rock band, still active after 33 years.

'The Collection' is a two disc compilation covering the Girlschool career from 1979 - 1988, featuring all of the group's singles and many of their best album tracks, with their first two albums (Demolition & Hit And Run) being the most heavily represented.There's also some rare material including B-sides, covers, live-tracks, and collaborations with Motorhead and Gary Glitter. Throughout the album they mix in different genres including hard rock, glam metal, pop-punk and punk rock and a lot of the tracks typically have short and direct texts, often reflecting the wild rock'n'roll lifestyle and treating sex and romance with the use of reverse sexism and a tongue-in-cheek sense of humour.

There are 47 tracks of high class energetic, foot-tapping rock music, but if pressed on personal preferences would go with "1,2,3,4 Rock'n'Roll", "Never Too Late", the two covers "Leader Of The Gang", and "Tiger Feet", "Don't Stop", "Nothing To Lose", and Album stand-out "Take It All Away".

This is a very fine album by a band that over the years has deservedly gained a cult status as one of the best ever 'rock' or whatever you want to call the music this multi-faceted band produce, and which has established itself as a beacon to which many particularly girl bands strive to aspire to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2003
I am on a personal quest to relive my misspent youth by purchasing many of the old 45's and lp's i used to have on cd.
I was lucky enought to see Girlschool live on many occasions in the late seventies and early eighties and this collection whilst flawed does them great credit and is good place to start to learn a bit more about the band.
Like many bands who have been going for a while Girlschool have changed members frequently but for me the "classic" line -up is the one that made the first LP namely,Kim McAuliffe on rhythm guitar , Kelly Johnson on lead guitar , Enid Williams on Bass and the miniscule dynamo Denise Dufort on drums,lead vocals were shared around in Beatles fashion.
I personally lost interest in the band after the dissapointing second album "Screaming Blue Murder" although I did see them on tour and still enjoyed them (Gil Weston had replaced Enid by then).Girlschools charm was that they didnt play up to the fact that they were girls, they demanded to be taken seriously and were all the better for it.
The best material stems from the first 2 albums where they were churning out classic NWOBHM style rockers Like no tomorrow!It seemed at the time that each week would bring another new single to add to the collection "Emergency" "Nothing to lose" "Race with the devil" "Yeah Right" which still sound great to my jaded ears after all these years.The patronage of Motorhead (Who were red hot at the time) played a large part in their success as they toured as support to them and enjoyed their biggest single chart success with thier shared EP "St Valentines day massacre" which went to no 5 in the charts and featured Motorhead playing a Girlschool number "Emergency" and Girlschool turning their hand admirably to Motorheads "Bomber" with the two bands teaming up as "Head School" for the Johnny Kidd & the Pirates hit "Please dont touch".(all included here).
As time and constant touring took its toll various members left the fold and the band changed direction into a more polished sound akin to Kiss or Bon Jovi and had a new singer who is on a few of the tracks on the second cd here which is generally later years material thst i'm not so familiar with and to my mind in polishing up the sound they ruined the spirit of the band. The new singer Jackie something or other sounds like an eleven year old kid trying to do a "growly" voice and it really doesn't work.
They also seemed to have a penchant for dodgy cover versions at this stage in their career and they are also included here but dont let that put you off (Mind you the version of Mud's "tiger feet" has to be heard to be believed in it's appalingness!)
In summary this double cd represents great value for money and is a great reminder of how excellent the band were especially in the early years,I believe they are still going now - with Enid rejoining on bass - If you like NWOBHM music then buy this cd and go and see them on tour and to Girlschool if you're reading this "cheers you Lot" for brightening up my youth!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2013
A few weeks ago an old friend mentioned that Girlschool were playing a gig in a local club, and having never seen them in their heyday, but remembering the tracks I could recall were great I thought I'd go and see them live.

The result was the best live show I've seen for a very long time - they were simply brilliant.

So, I went out and bought this along with "Legacy". All the famous tracks from 1980-1983 are on here and they are the real stand out tracks. From 1984 onwards the band did go off on a different direction, and outstanding lead guitarist Kelly Johnson (RIP) left so that part of their back catalogue is not as interesting. There are several bonus tracks included all of which are interesting.

If your a fan of Girlschool you'll already own the albums, but if you just want to hear some great rock and roll played with passion buy this album.

Oh by the way, the fact that they are female is irrelevant - Girlschool are highly respected by many of rocks' elder statesmen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2016
Good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2010
Girlschool seem to be laregly negelected outside metal circles which is a shame as they have pruduced some great rock music. However this collection with nearly 50 tracks probably isn't the best summary of / introduction to their work, with too many filler tracks and covers. The top tracks like Take It All Away, Emergency, Yeah Right, Don't call it love, etc. though show just how good they could be, and that they were a great rock band rather than 'just metal'.

Worth buying - but be prepared to hit the skip button on a few tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2013
Was one of my favourites, some years ago, and have mislaid vinyl records during a separation. It is nice to be able to get some of the sounds back onto my shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2013
I saw Girlschool in Edinburgh a lifetime ago and actually met them backstage. Great band, this is a really good account of their career with good choices from their vast back catalogue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2002
I first saw Girlschool back in March/April 1981 when they were touring their superb "Hit and Run" album and I was blown away by the energy and power that they put into their performance. Kim McAuliffe (god how I loved that woman!) was/is a brilliant front for the band and Kelly Johnson (guitar), Enid Williams (bass) and Denise Dufort (drums) just seemed to gell together in what was a really great live band. Back then the New Wave of British Heavy Metal was at its peak and Girlschool were very much part of that scene and were without doubt the best all female heavy rock band in the history of the genre. This double CD is a brilliant collection of their best material and goes right back to the early days and gives us the best bits from the "Demolition", "Hit and Run" and "Screaming Blue Murder albums" and takes us through to the late 1980's. All of the classic tracks from these first three albums are included as well as some really nice songs from the later albums that were released after 1985. Girlschool were/are great mates with Motorhead and their Headgirl collaboration "St Valentines Day Massacre" is also included here. This CD is a must for anyone who enjoyed Girlschool back in the 1980's and wants to get the best of the bands vinyl albums on one CD. Any younger metal fans who have not actually heard anything by Girlschool and who have only ever read about the band should also pick this one up as you will find the quality of the songs and the power that the girls generated a pleasant surprise (check out Denise Dufort's drumming on "Tonight"). As far as I know Girlschool are still around and play live now and again and if you ever get the chance to see them don't miss it, I gurantee that you'll have one hell of a night!!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
good cd but slightly dissapointing because there was to many covers but still good old fashioned metal. thanks very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)