Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
312
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Probably my favourite Mel Brooks and Gene Wilder film with the bonus of Marty Feldman. It is unnecessary to review it like it came out this week as it is 42 years ago since it saw the light of day and if you haven't seen it, get it.

I am replacing one I lent out years ago and wanted to watch it for the late Gene Wilder.

Inga: He vould have an enormous schwanzstucker.
Dr. Frederick Frankenstein: That goes without saying.
Inga: Voof.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
Seen many times on dvd. Ensembles and stars collide in a joyous parody that pinpricks its sources (mainly the 2 original Whale classics and has more than one heart on its sleeve - sorry).
This fairly bullets along the Transylvania express.
Gene Wilder and Marty Feldman give life to Clive and Lugosi. In jokes, straight faces, the wooden arm of the police chief and the 7th riot are not even highlights.
The sets are wondrous.
As the monster Peter Boyle finds a cultured voice that Karloff' wonderful original characterisation was loathe to do, however,
Cloris Leachman from her wonder turn in Last Picture Show is my favourite here as the horse baiting Frau Blucher (her dark secrets and violin playing are nothing to the sinister offers of bedtime beverages...).
Rare in deed to find a movie as perfectly cast,scripted, shot and delivered as funny as this. A 11 out of 5 gem.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
I bought this for my 12 year old daughter, who loves old films, and I wasn't sure how well it would have aged, having loved it myself at her age but not having seen it for about 20 years. I was delighted to find that it has stood the test of time admirably, and is a laugh-a-minute, pacy, clever and affectionate take on the old classic tale. The cast are all superb, with vulnerable, winsome Gene Wilder at his best, and the late great Marty Feldman in the role he was surely born to play. Unmitigated fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Whatever happened to Marty Feldman? This is a goodt film even if you've never seen the classic versions of Frankenstein. If you have it's a great film
lots of glances to camera and little things you have to discover and lots to laugh at. I'm not a huge Gene Wilder fan but I wouldn't miss this for the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Lovingly made in black and white , knee deep in classic comedy performers .full of wild silliness and starring Gene Wilder . Probably the best film from Mel Brooks . This is a film to love and treasure ". Ladies and Gentlemen , I give you a sophisticated man-about-town !"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
A great comedy classic from the mind of Mel Brooks featuring the zaniness of the late great Gene Wilder. Has some great one liners and classic visual gags as it spoofs the old Universal Frankenstein and Bride of Frankenstein movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Watching this is like looking up on old friend - it still rocks even if some of the humour is now not quite 'PC'!! - see opening sketch arriving at castle with large door knockers! I still giggle every time I think of that. The late great Marty Feldman is just genius what more can you say? Sadly missed - gone but not forgotten!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
I enjoyed this DVD. Marty Feldman is brilliant as is Terri Garr. I'm a big fan of Gene Wilder, anything (almost) he does is good. This movie was made around the time of Blazing Saddles and is a very clever & funny movie.
The bonus material is also very funny, especially the Mexican interview with Marty, he has no idea what the Mexican interviewee is asking.
There is also some very enjoyable interviews made with Gene and other cast members.
Well recommended for a good laugh.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
This is a ridiculous and funny movie which was a joy to see again. A Masterpiece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2017
A very funny film.All the actors play a good role.A film that can be watched many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)