Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
57
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2015
Not a fan of dance/edm/dj stuff but The Avalanches were a genre defining/defying barrel of intrigue.

The whole album from start to finish is still a pleasure to listen to and has more musicality, innovation and invention in it than many of their ilk achieved in entire careers.

An absolute pleasure. There's more to them than the (utterly fantastic) Frontier Psychiatrist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Beautiful CD and case design and great audio. Sadly some songs are edited to fit copyright holders' regulations. Search for the Zomba Promo if you can for the complete album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
One of the best albums ever made in my opinion, by an underrated australian group. Get it you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
One of the best and most important albums of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Ace
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
When writing a review and you hover over the 1 star it stands for 'I hate it'. Enough said...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Avalanches are a DJ's dream come true -- six Aussies who took hundreds of sound snatches, and wove together a wildly playful kind of electronica. Their first (and so far, only) album, "Since I Left You," is a tangle of the delicate, the weird, and the incredibly danceable.

It kicks off with the sparkling "Since I Left You," but the best is yet to come. The Avalanches manage to attain both a typical "sound" and plenty of originality in their songs, such as the bleeps-and-horns "Different Feeling," the knob-twiddling basslines of "Radio," the sputtery dance number "Live At Dominoes," and the interference-laden Rastafarian rock "Flight Tonight."

But with all the dance tracks, the Avalanches have their softer side: the delicately upbeat "Two Hearts in 3/4 Time," the swaying "Electricity," the brief and staticky "Pablo's Cruise," and the gauzy, multilayered "Etoh." It rounds off with the majestically languid "Extra Kings," which has a long sweep of distortion and chaos in the middle.

It's almost too easy to dance to the Avalanches. They take almost a thousand mismatched sounds and manage to cobble them into some really brilliant music. What's especially brilliant is the way these patchwork dance tracks manage to find solid, simple grooves, and stick to them right to the end.

"Since I Left You" isn't perfect -- at times the fragments don't quite mesh together. Some parts are pure chaos, but oddly they don't mar the overall sound; instead, they enhance it. Scattered in amongst the melody is the sound of video games, horses, discos, golf instructions, flutes, pianos, and seagulls -- it adds a strangely whimsical sound to the dance music.

The vocals tend to be samples repeated over and over, just under the surface of the music. Among the vocal snatches are the ethereal "Since I left you/I found the world so new!" or determined "Book of flight tonight." So the lyrics are often quite simple, except for the hysterically funny "Frontier Psychiatrist" ("Lie down on the couch, what does that mean?/You're a nut! You're crazy in the coconut!").

"Since I Left You" takes hundreds of random sound fragments, and turns them into a mosaic. Fun, playful, fast and hypnotically bizarre, this is a must have for fans of quirky music.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
I didn't listen to this album until Wildflowers release 16 years later. Only being aware of the title track which is one of the best tracks of the decade. I can see why this album is held in such high acclaim and am so glad I finally got around to buying the vinyl release. Better late than never
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2001
What can I say? I heard the title track on radio 1 and had to discover the album. I`ve had it in my CD player all week now and think I am addicted. Its mixed seamlessly throughout, yet doesnt become dull or boring. There`s always something to listen out for, brilliant samples by the likes of Madonna and ever changing tempos. The first track makes you smile and the grin lasts for the whole album! Very uplifting, get it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£47.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)