Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
21
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£13.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2002
This is a record which fair smacks of GSYBE, and is one of their finest arrangements to date. If you want an introduction to them, or want more having heard "Lift Yr Skinny Fists...&c" then you would be well advised to invest in this fabulous EP. Classic GSYBE from start to finish, and with a superb soapbox monologue bizarrely accredited to Blaise Bayley Finnegan the 3rd, one time stand-in lead singer for Iron Maiden unless I'm mistaken.
The music builds from the humblest of droning bass beginnings. A rumble like a generator room, from which emerges the occasional splutterings of strings and guitars. GSYBE build from a seemingly unworkable start to an incredibly complex and wonderfully timed procession of drums and orchestral delights, more and more sounds piling onto the heap until you think your eardrums shall surely burst. The ever-melancholy guitars driving the whole on with an irrepressible force.
Massive and potent, sweeping, grand, unforgettable. This music evokes the strongest of emotions, and you need a damn good excuse not to go out and buy it right now.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
I've owned this EP for many years now and it's still one of my all time favourites and also my favourite record by Godspeed. The opening of Moya is a life changing experience as is the rest of the 30 minute ride the music takes you on. Moya is very influenced by Henryk Gorecki's Symphony No. 3 which is an incredible piece of modern minimal classical music, but with added post rock distortion and a wave of great melodies. I got to see them perform it live when they reformed and it was an almost spiritual experience. Cannot say enough good things about this EP! Buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2002
This is different to regular music. In the way that normally enjoyable music is enjoyable because has a nice tune or at the most is a happy song or a sad song. this is a record that climax's to the point that no other music i have ever heard does where emotions are running through your whole body. and when it reaches this amazing peak of it's crescendo everything feels complete. it sounds angry and crying and desperate and beautiful. indescribable. everyone needs this.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2001
This is not an EP in the strictest sense, being composed of two long tracks, one at 33rpms and the other at 45. More like a mini-LP. Written in the spaces between performances (if you havn't seen them live treat yourself asap, up to 2 1/2 hour sets, 9 musicans on stage and projected films on loops) this is very similiar in style and content to their first LP, roughly called F#A#. Strings, guitars and sampled ravings, build-up leisurely but inevitably to huge crescendos. You can feel the anger, despair, hope, frustration, love and melancholy of the band expressed through their instruments, lyrics would only detract. This is protest music for the post-RTS generation. Sublime and beauitful, this is a soundtrack to a film we are living. Think Morricone meets the Mary Chain.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
Ive never written a review about things ive bought, but i had to for this Ep.
If you like this genre of music, then all i can really say is buy this. If you dont know much about them, then I cant describe the music to you, thats something you will have to experience yourself. But i can say this, the last part of the song "Moya" is simply stunning. One of the best CD's and definatly the best Ep ive ever bought (Thats why ive given this 5 stars). In my view, a must have!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2003
If you don't buy this at least borrow it from someone who has. Listening to it really is an amazing experience. Mind you it takes a fair few listenings before it really hits you, but when it does you won't get over it, awesome.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2002
Absolutely breathtaking, life changing, beautiful music. Godspeed You Black Emperor!'s 2 most focused, and indeed best, works and by consequence the greatest music ever put to a CD.
Once you get a taste of Godspeed You Black Emperor! most other music you thought worthy becomes worthless. But don't worry, you can listen to tracks like "Moya" for a whole eternity without ever getting bored of them.
The media sits there salivating over mediocre bands, saying how they will save music. Those bands aren't the saviours of music, the real saviours of music are here already, you just don't know it yet...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
I'm an impulsive kinda guy. Someone I barely knew said "You should really check out Godspeed You Black Emperor". So I did, downloaded some songs (spank my wrists for that) and was absolutely blown away with what I heard. The track was Moya, the first track on this EP. Music that stirrs emotions so deep that it makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end and cry for more deserves to be listened to. People who know me would tell you I'm not often lost for words, but trying to describe this album has stumped me. I end up just gawping with my mouth open and shaking my head in utter disbelief.
So, I ask of you, be impulsive like me. Buy this album, sit down, and let the music overwhelm you. Well, what are you waiting for?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
I absolutly love this cd. All the different sounds and how they emote different feelings. The samples add an errieness to the who album. A must buy for GSYBE fans, or check it out for something new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Just for the sound.
Just for the thrills in it.
Just because of the first song.
To listen with company.
This music deserves to be shared. Like a good movie...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£15.99
£12.23
£12.73
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)