Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
Astrakan Cafe
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 November 2017
Lovely soothing music beautifully played
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2005
A consistently beautiful album, with sounds that seem to create space to think. I'm no expert on world music, and happened on this after hearing a radio review, but Astrakan Cafe seems to have a musical integrity of its own. I have sampled some of his more recent collaborations, and felt this album avoided the uneasy fusions of later work.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
For me, Astrakan Café is one of Anouar Brahem's best (alongside Barakh and The Astounding Eyes of Rita). The title track (it is repeated - and bettered - at the end) is one of his most accessible, but the whole album is brilliant. His collaborators on this are clarinettist Barbaros Erkose and hand-drummer Lassad Hosni and they combine wonderfully. For newcomers, this is, in my opinion, the place to start.
Brahem is one of the best-selling artists on ECM, a record label that over the decades has pushed the boundaries of jazz and world-fusion - and provided great music in the process. To me, Brahem is the epitome of all the label represents. His nine or so albums with ECM, beginning with Barzakh in 1990, offer sublime music found nowhere else. The exotic images he draws with his intricate oud playing is always beautifully recorded and his musical collaborations are always fascinating. Lovely stuff.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
Having been to Grozny, Mozdok and Astrakhan I was really interested to hear this music knowing nothing prior about Anouar Brahem. As a criticism the style of music had little bearing with the local artistic cultures of those places and i guess are personal and interpretative. The music is haunting and classical Maghreb. Brahem is Moroccan and the music is very North African. By far the most beautiful piece is Astrakhan Cafe which takes your breath away. The rest is often high pitched Ney which can grate a little, but its music suited to meditation and demands relaxed attention.
Worth exploring more of this interesting artists work.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
A thrilling exploration of old and new musical forms of N Africa and the Mediterranean. Music which is impossible to either pin down or forget.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
"Astrakan Cafe" was excellent....I love Anouar Brahem's fusion of MiddleEastern instruments, music + melody with Jazz.
Hauntingly beautiful ! Relax!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
One off the most beautiful and engaging albums that I have bought recently .Masterful musicianship,sublime melodies...haunting and transcendent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
Beautiful and cosmopolitan ('at home all over the world').

My friendship circle is ethnically diverse. We all enjoy the music on this CD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
The best thing I've heard this year. Sophistication and feeling with ancient highlights.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Souvenance
£20.98
Blue Maqams
£13.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)