Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
40
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Height of Callousness: Limited Edition
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 March 2001
After downloading 'Synthetic' off napster, I realised this band were a huge force to be reckoned with. From the thumping opening track Asthmatic to the strangly hypnotic New Disease you soon realise how brilliant Spineshank actually are. I can't stress how much this album rocks, stand out tracks for me are (Can't Be) Fixed, Asthmatic, Transparant and Seamless. Spineshank are not, and I repeat not just another trendy nu-metal band, such as the dire Slipknot. And if you've only heard Spineshank's very average debut album 'Stricly Diesel' and thought it was too tame, buy 'The Height Of Callousness' now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
This album has everything you could ask for from a heavy metal band...spit, screaming and ripping guitar riffs. Not for the faint-hearted, this latest offering from Spineshank beats seven bells out of their previous effort. Hidden amongst the crashing noise are some well-executed melodies and the sentiments expressed in the lyrics will appeal to everyone who's ever had a bad day and wanted to tell someone about it. Congratulations to Spineshank on a great, must-have album!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2006
the album they released before this was rubbish and the album they released after this was also rubbish but there is something about this one that i clicked with. its odd as they arent doing anything new or even different from what is already there but it is very very enjoyable to listen to. pretty good nu-metal/industrial riffs mingle with some very fearsome drumming and jonny santos singing/whinning(delete as applicable) and shouting and roaring away like a man possessed. the main thing that sets this album aside is that it is very cacthy, as even at its most chaotic on cyanide 2600 there is still a singable chorus, so game on to the boys. give it a go you may be pleasantly surprised.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2008
I've read the reviews made by everyone else and I agree with parts from both sides. This is one of those albums you either love or hate (Just look at the other reviews) A fairly good album but it does need some better stuff on it. The vocals from Jonny Santos are very strong with some screaming and some melodic singing. Loaded with emotion and energy

Asthmatic: Amazing album opener. Strong and straight to the point. Nice and aggressive in the verses, relaxing and emotional in the chorus. 9/10

The Height of Callousness: Another good song but not as good as the first one. Quite fast at the start, then slows down big time, then speeds up. All that in the first 30 seconds which makes people not like it although I like it 7.5/10

Synthetic: WOW!!! Nice screaming in the chorus and emotional melodic singing in the verses. The bridge is a really good build up and a very impressive roar from Santos 9/10

New Disease: Great song with it all being melodic singing. The guitars are very powerful and energetic 9/10

(Can't Be) Fixed: This is where the album goes a bit downhill. After this song the rest are easily forgetable. This was a song with amazing potential. Great guitars, powerful hard hitting drums and emotional vocals. The only problem with this is that Santos sings "I can't be fixed" too many times which spoils the song 7/10

The rest of this album is quite powerful but it's lacking what these first 5 songs have. Which is a special ingrediant which makes it more memorable. The rest of the songs are immedieately forgotten. On this version of The Height of Callousness you get 2 extra songs (The Height of Callousness and Synthetic) which are re-mixed by somebody. Force Fed Integrity and Punctured Lung. Personally I don't like them but but maybe you might
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2002
As other reviewers have said you can compare Spineshank to their more established counterparts Fear Factory, however this album is not so overly produced as Fear Factory's efforts, it hits you with a much rawer sound.
As a follow up to their debut album Strictly Diesel this is a good progression for the band, they've got faster and more aggresive but thats not really a bad thing, actually for most of the people reading this its probably a good thing, they manange to pull off what the contrived thrashings of Slipknot etc do not, they have melody in their aggression and wall of guitar noise, the same melody from the first album but even though I remember their first effort fondly it was a little average and this album retains the good points while establishing Spineshank as more definated musicians, not just another brick in the giant wall of nu-metal flash-in-the-pan hopefuls.
If you like metal download some of the tracks from their reconrd companies website, if you like electronic sounds mixed with metal just buy it ;) and if you can look past the aggressive sound and still like what you hear pick up their debut too, its worth it for its cover of George Harrisons "While my guitar gently weeps" alone.. this album however: 4 stars, they've got it but there's still a little room for diversity and improvement, I'll look forward to the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2000
Less radio-friendly than many of their nu-metal contemporaries, Spineshank's second album easily surpasses their first, somewhat derivative record. The Fear Factory influences are obvious on tracks such as "Asthmatic" and "Malnutrition", but the Spineshank sound is still unique thanks largely to excellent vocalist Johnny Santos. Crushingly heavy, at times melodic, always powerful, "The Height of Callousness" should not be ignored.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2004
Spineshank are one of the products of the Nu-metal scene. Luckily for them they're not the type of Nu-metal I hate. It's the type I love, the type that hates everything. Sure they sing about drugs and stuff but they do it at just the right tempo (really fast). This is also one of the bands that uses the occasionally acceptable electronic noise every now and again. They also employ my favourite lyrical method of shouting and screaming all the time. They get away with this continual lyrical barrage by playing their instruments fast and heavy. This is no nonsense that would be absolutely stunning live. Partly due to the fact they've got their timing just right with the heavy and mellow bits timed to metal perfection. All these traits are perfectly exemplified in songs like "New Disease" and "Cant Be Fixed". I retract my earlier comment about Nu-metal and change it to Nu-Thrash. Definitely,a good thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2001
This is an amazing album which marks Spineshank's sound change as their last album never done well. The album holds great heavy screaming songs such as Asthmatic and (can't be) fixed. The clear stand outs on this album are New Disease and Synthetic. This is a must have for all nu-metal fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2001
Energetic, heavier than you may expect, and all round tallent.
And all of the above come through nicely on this cd.
Having been a fan since the days of Strictly diesil i can see a change in this band, but its great because Spineshank are becoming more known and to me if a band deserves that then they should get it
Best tracks: "Asthmatic", "Synthetic" and "Cyanide 2600".
very much worth getting...and definatly get your tickets for the shows in september!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2002
I must admit i bought this album on shomewhat of a whim (had a bit of spare cash lying about and bought this and the Lost Prophets album-also superb), but now i can say that i don't regret it a sngle bit.
If forced to sum up this album, i'd say it was a perfect cross between Slipknot and Fear Factory, taking thebest from two bands (Slipknots rawness and FFs electronica) but turns it into something of their own that's very, very special.
Throughly recommended :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)