Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

  • Dummy
  • Customer reviews

Dummy
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICETOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 April 2014
Dummy is the debut album of the Bristol-based group Portishead. Dummy is one of those CDs that still sounds as fresh as the day that it was released. So what's all the fuss about? Well basically, it's one of those exceptional albums where almost every single beat seems to be in place, every single little record scratch and sample fits into the mix and provides even more atmosphere, and lyrics that just melt in your mind. Each track really does create a new atmosphere of its very own that runs the range of emotions. Beth Gibbons is one of the main reasons this album truly comes to the fore. Gibbons effortlessly creates mood on every track, whether she's crooning on "It Could Be Sweet" or strutting it out to full effect on "Glory Box." Overall, if you're into trip-hop even the slightest and don't own this album, you should probably drop whatever you're doing and go out and buy it right now.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2015
This review is for the 11 track version, the version of Dummy that has 'It's A Fire' on it.

I never realised It's A Fire was on Dummy - my CD copy from 1994 doesn't feature this track. So I felt compelled to get this version of the album to add to my mini Portishead collection. Anyone know why it got removed from other editions of the album?

If you're new to Portishead I would recommend getting this version because It's a A Fire is a fantastic track and enhances an already mega album to even greater heights of excellence and art. To have the album without this track, well, you'd be missing out! Go get it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
I owned this in the mid nineties when it first came out - i loved it and played it all the time... i don't what happened to my copy of (it was a tape in those days!) but it vanished along the way somewhere....so at last i decided it was time to get this wonderful music back into my life - and i'm VERY glad i did!
This album is just incredible, so chilled, so lovely, multifaceted, amazing music - easily the best Portishead album, the others were good too, but not THIS good....can't be beaten...BUY IT! <3
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2016
Just can't fault Portishead & again Beth Gibbons vocals take there music to a different level there isn't a female artist that comes close the music with the vocals make Dummy a must in any collection .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2016
Like a lot of 90's albums I think they messed something up a bit when mixing for CD.

Put this vinyl on a high end turntable and Beth's voice just sounds amazing, fallen back in love with this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2016
A love or hate group. And I loved this album. Nothing like the rest of the music industry. No soft pop group with soft love songs that are sugar sweet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2016
If your new to these artists as I was. Then look no further for value and a great journey. Thankyou RDR
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2018
Could listen to this forever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
so the jobseekers queue DOES have some uses! Portishead met up thanks to an enterprising DWP adviser putting them in touch with each other, so the rumour has it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
defective
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Mezzanine
£5.50
Third
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)