Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
82
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2010
I'm astounded by the reviews here !

Firstly, the remaster is excellent, people are used to remasters being 100 decibels (for the deaf Ipod generation). This new remaster brings out even more subtle detail.

Regarding CD2, I'm amazed some people are moaning about it.

Firstly all tracks are taken from the original master tapes (the first time this has ever happened with the exception of The Sonic Collection SACD). They may seem like a mixed bag to some & I agree to a point, the Greek Mix of Relax will never be essential, however you have Greatest Bits (as mentioned is the cassette mix of Relax) which in my opinion is the only mix you'll ever need.

In addition, excellent demo's, a fantastic mix of The Ballad of 32, the only track that shouldn't even really be on this is Watusi Love Juicy which doesn't date from this album, but a curio never the less

The issue is the access to the "Goodies Cupboard". Like a lot of bands archives, labelling was incorrect if at all on many, hence the Pleasure Fix mix of WTTPD & Starfix mix of Only Star In Heaven (both overrated "instrumentals", were indeed found but too late for inclusion.

What we do have finally, is an amazing album finally being given the treatment is DESERVES.

Frankly (or should that be Frankiely?)at this bargain price, who can really complain??
22 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2010
Straight to the point. As one reviewer remarked, there is no sound improvement on the album, just louder, that's all. So you can dunk CD 1. Next, CD 2 is supposed to give us Frankie fans some pleasureable thrill, but sad to say, no. While the demo tracks are an interesting addition, the rest can be left out. "Relax (Greatest Bits)" is actually the original cassette single. While it's a historical curiorsity, it is actually an edited amalgam of the "Sex Mix", "Instrumental Mix" and the 7" mix. The "One September" and "One February" b-sides (which were already available in the last re-issue) are just nonsence gibberish. Why include "Power Of Love" extended version ? It's a strange inclusion while the extended versions of "Relax", "Two Tribes" and "Welcome" are left out. Then again, you can't really include all their extended versions, right ? so they should just leave them all out. "Disneyland" was already released in the "12 Inch" 2CD version. The 2 spoken snippets can be left out completely. Anyway, "The Last Voice" has been around a long time, included in the ending of the "Two Tribes (Annihilation mix)". "Relax (Disco mix)" is another amalgam of the "Sex Mix" and the 7" mix. Again, though historically interesting, you don't need it. With all the above taken out, I would include other interesting unreleased tracks, such as "Relax (International), Welcome...(Bernard Rose version), Welcome... (Pleasurefix), Only Star In Heaven (Starfix), and the other proper b-sides like "Happy Hi, Get It On and The World Is My Oyster (7" and 12")"
66 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2005
We all know the music but here I'd like to purely say 'thanks' to ZTT for the care taken with the packaging! At last, this CD has the correct cover to the original vinyl release (and no nasty digipack either). The booklet contains nearly all the inner sleeve photo's and notes from the original and even the rear inlay has the '£ BANG' design.
Far, far superior to the previous CD releases and worth every penny. Now, if only Holly would rejoin the reformed Frankie...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 May 2006
I for one don't like much of the music of the 1980s, but when it was good, it was very good, like music from any period in history. WttPD is a superb album; it would be churlish of me to fault it.

Lyrically it is frequently amusing, shot through with biting irony. The musicianship is excellent for an album of its type, and it remains one of the best produced albums ever made. Only the likes of Peter Gabriel have surpassed the stunning quality of the recording and mixing of this album (hats off to the inevitable Trevor Horn). Terrific use of the stereo soundstage, clean, staggering dynamics from both performers and the recording. It humiliates most modern recordings, and shows just how good Compact Disk can sound when it's not shackled by over-compression. And that's very good indeed. Who needs DVD-A or SACD when ye olde redbook CD can be done this well?

There are no standout tracks for me, because this album should be listened to just like that -an album. A concept album at that: this was the 1980s doing progressive rock, and it works. OF course, it has the legendary Relax and Two Tribes, and the suitably lengthy title track; the others are not space fillers though, but vital parts to the cohesive whole.

Forget genres. Forget music decades. Buy on an albums merits. This should be in any music-lover's collection. It's not leaving mine.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2001
A graffiti written on the main entrance road to my school (the European School of Luxembourg) back in 1984 read »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«. Back then, I did not quite understand it. Later I learned to, though. For this debut album of Frankie Goes To Hollywood certainly is a Pleasuredome, in an everything but sarcastically meant way. It's a classic, one of the greatest albums (not just of the 1980s but) ever!
What a courage it must have demanded to issue a concept album, a long story split into songs, as a debut. Why don't these bands ever last longer? »Welcome To The Pleasuredome« has it all: One of the most beautiful ballads ever performed, »The Power Of Love«; great covers: »Born To Run«, »San José«, »Fury«, »War«; the sexy experimental »The Ballad Of 32«... plus, of course, the outstanding hit classics »Two Tribes« and »Relax«.
So... »Welcome To The Pleasuredome«!! Frankie say... no more.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2001
This is the band that said it all about th 80s. Songs like Relax and Two Tribes are classic and defined a whole generation. This their first album was also their best, their second album not reaching up to the same level. If you love the 80s, this is the top album.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
I was expecting great things of this mainly because the original CD sounds so quiet and tinny. Well, this isn't much better, it sounds very trebly and not enough "oomph" - i have longed to hear the 13 minute title track in a pristine remastered form for a long time but on first listen it didn't sound much different to the original CD. Maybe i've just got a bit of wax that needs shifting but it doesn't sound that great at all for a recent remaster.

The second CD is not exactly sparkling either but then there wasn't that much material to put on it I would have thought. It's OK though. Hardly groundbreaking, forgot having not listened to them for 25 years, how embarrassing "one September Monday" & "one February Friday" are though.
77 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
A blast from the past and a great example of the magician Trevor Horn as producer (even though things did get a little strained in the eventual bad vibes between the group and Horn). A prime example of how pop music used to be mixed and engineered, with loving care and a sense that the producer was actually listening to the monitor. If you need a demonstration track to test or audition hi-fi this should be on the list, the amount of sheer detail is something to wonder at. And the music is rippingly good fun and superbly performed. You would be amazed at how it sounds after all those years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2001
This album is magnificent. With twists and turns, strange tags, spooky tunes and a different style in every track, it will not disappoint! Two Tribes and Relax have lost nothing over time and are still very potent songs. The album is dark and strange, but beautiful too. Just listen to Power Of Love! There are other songs on there that are sung wonderfully... There's even opera! Welcome To The Pleasure Dome is strange, long, twisting through different rythms and sounds, which is the feel of the whole album. A must buy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2010
Think what you think about the content of this album. I can only say it's been part of the fabric of my life since 1984. The package is exceedingly well, even lovingly, put together. You may or may not want the second disc (personally I wouldn't miss it, but it's good to have it), but surely this is all about getting the most out of the album proper.

To bang on about the sound of this remaster is in my view daft. It IS louder than previous cd editions, but then they were on the quiet side. It ISN'T louder in the current vogue of crank it up and flatten it all out remastering.

This disc sparkles and really brings out the joy of the music on the album. The highs are clear and realistically bright, not splashy, the lows are deep and tight and the mid range is clear and open. There are levels of detail that I haven't even heard on my vinyl copy. I have, regrettably, several poor to awful remasters but this is by no measure one of them. I have played it in the car, on my pc, on good headphones, on a mini system and most importantly on my main system and it sounds great every time. I know "good sound" is a personal thing but I really have to wonder how the people who are being critical of this are listening to it.

In my view this brilliant album can be bought with complete confidence at any time, but particularly this new remaster. The package as a whole puts many, many other deluxe or "special" re-issues firmly in the shade. I hope "Liverpool", or any other remaster for that matter, is given the same treatment.

Update - "Liverpool" sounds fantastic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.38
£6.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)