Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
85
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2002
Any Given Sunday is a great piece of film making, if slightly tarred by an overly polished Hollywood format. What I mean is, it has all of the [Oliver] Stone ingredients we've come to expect; various video formats, a seemingly incongruous mix of camera angles and close-ups and some amazing performances, but minus the imperfections. So what you say, well sometimes it's those little accidental nuances that turn a good movie into an amazing one. AGS is a piece of highly professional, polished movie making - but at the end of the day it's just a good movie, not an amazing one.
The performances are just fantastic, Pacino whilst not as intense as in say "Heat" really drives the movie and doesn't for a second let you question whether he's a football coach. You just BELIEVE it, when he's shouting you think it's at you. James Woods is typically side-lined, no pun intended, but what time he is on screen he's James Woods through and through. Why this guy is never given bigger parts I'll never know. Cameron Diaz' is one of the most surprising characters. When Charlton Heston says "I actually believe this woman would eat her young" (line of the movie right there) you totally empathise. She's ruthless, self-opinionated and such a b***h. But it's no facade, she really throws herself into the part and the results are great.
The actual film itself is an amazing piece of work. It's like some sort of drug; it's cocktail of visual and audio mixing is so intense, so in your face you soon get totally sucked in. The on-field football action is incredible, when the tackles come in you find yourself tensing your whole body waiting for the impact. Then you're treated to the players perspective as the stadium swims around them, the crowds die away and you're left for a few seconds to recover before you're hit with the next instalment. You really start to root for the sharks by the end as they go from average schmoes, to washed-up has-beens to a team in the play-offs. And whilst yes this is a fairly predictable journey it's not entirely predictable.
I'm not so sure the parallels between 'gladiators of the field' and Spartacus really pay-off, in some ways you feel a little spoon-fed - because just watching the action you really feel the players are warriors, willing to sacrifice absolutely everything to play the game they're good at.
I've never been a massive fan of American sports, or even American 'Football' but what drew me to the movie is the acting and directing talent and I wasn't disappointed. After I'd bought the movie I mentioned it to a friend who told me it was his 'favourite sports movie of all time'. I can't really think of that many sports movies worth watching, but sport aside if you want some high quality entertainment and a feast for the senses this movie will not disappoint. Strap yourself in and enjoy every intoxicating minute.
The quality of the movie on DVD is also awesome, not a single imperfection could I spot. The audio also nicely fires round the room, it makes me wish I'd seen it at the cinema... it represents outstanding value for money, especially as it has a second disc entirely dedicated to extras you can watch on any given rainy Sunday. A great movie, and great value.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2009
Please don't fall into the trap of thinking that knowing American Football is a requirement for watching 'Any given sunday'. As long as you know that AF has an Offense and a Defense, that's about all the knowledge you require to enjoy this gem. It's the story of a struggling team that is fortunate/unfortunate to discover they have a star player amongst their backups. The player becomes a bit too big for his boots and as a consequence causes a major divide between the team, coach and boardroom.
It's a great insight into the sport and the internal mechanics of a team. With no knowledge of the sport, you should enjoy a great storyline coupled with great acting.

Perfectly cast Al Pacino is on fire, Cameron Diaz acting (before she reverted to family fun/voiceover easy money again) and a brilliant Jamie Foxx bursted onto the scene. All backed up with a fantastic supporting cast (way too many to list) and Oliver Stone on top form.

The transfer is great, clean and crisp. It's a colourful sport and the HD helps complement that. Sound is, Dolby TrueHD giving us a pretty authentic sound of the stadium during the action scenes.

Audio: Spanish DD; French DD; German DD; Italian DD.

Subs: Portuguese; Danish; Dutch; Finnish; French; German; Italian; Korean; Norwegian; spanish; Swedish
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2013
I watch a lot of films, i'll watch most things but even though I bought this I couldn't watch it all the way through. Very thin storyline, no interest generated in the characters, and the overpowering soundtrack is just awful. Straight to the recycling pile for my copy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
Although this film is centred on a football team, you don’t need to be an expert on American football to follow, understand or appreciate the movie. The movie follows Miami Sharks, a fictional football team, coached by Tony D’Amato (Al Pacino), who were once great but are now struggling. The story focuses on the conflicts the coach has not with just some of his players but also the new female owner who wants to get involved in team selection much to the disdain of long term coach D’Amato. The story also spends a fait bit of time of Jamie Fox’s character who is the rising star of the league and seems to be getting most of the attention off the field. His attitude and reaction to new found fame naturally causes some friction with coach D’Amato who doesn’t always start with him, much to the annoyance of the board room.

In all honesty the film is much longer than it needs to be at all 3 hours but is worth watching for some of the actions shots and realism alone! Al Pacino’s half time speech sees the actor at his best and has to be amongst his greatest movie moments!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2001
Any Given Sunday isn't about American football. It's about humanity. It's about how people with different agenda's different priorities, different backgrounds and generations co-exist. In this movie they don't. Stones captures the inner turmoil suffered by prominent indiviuals involved in the game of football with typical panache. He's moved on a lot since JFK, he still wants to make a point and where there is no political axe to grind, he focuses on everyday life, with everyday problems that in truth are bigger than we could always ever credit. Stone puts a lot of things into perspective for us. Pacino, as ever, gives a mean performance, newcomer Jamie Foxx should have joined hollywooods a-list with this performance and Cameron Diaz proves that she is more than just a pretty face. A brilliant awe inspiring movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
This is easily one of the best sports films you will ever see. It has a great cast(Jamie Foxx and Al Pacino to new but a few) great set pieces( especially the big game) and a pretty brutal potrayal of American Football players. Al Pacino is simply great as Tony Damato and without doubt his "Inch by Inch" speech is one of the greatest in film. It always inspires you no matter how many times you hear it. Even the supposedly minor characters such as LL Cool J have enough time to make an impression. If you watch this i would recommend watching Friday Night Lights which shows the sport at a lower level.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well this is a film centred around American Football, which is really a form of rugby as the oval ball is moved by both hands and feet--- proper football is played with a round ball using the feet, Yanks!

I enjoyed the film to a degree mainly because of Pacino's usual intense performance, not holding back a single syllable in most of his scenes. But too much rap music, too much drug use, too much glitter and the shallowness of life lived by African-American athletes in sunny Florida affected my overall enjoyment of this sports film.
Truth be told I'm probably just envious.
I wouldn't watch it again, but its OK for fans of the sporting drama genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Not one of Al Pacino's finer film moments in my opinion. Towards the end he gives a slightly stirring speech in the locker room before the big game but it doesn't send shivers down my spine.
Obviously, this movie was more aimed at the American audiences, (being about American football) and to some extent I would say if you don't like or know the sport you could enjoy, "Any Given Sunday." - But I didn't!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
What a film, a little out dated but aged well. I compare it to Clint Eastwood's Trouble with the curve, Brad Pitts Money Ball, Mark Wahlberg's Invincible, Denzel Washington's, We are the Titans all great stories and these films are so much better than the soccer ones you get - you cant stage the beautiful game and make it look natural!!! But its funny how the American sports translate so well to the silver screen. Was that the design.....?!

Love Cameron Diaz's part and Quaid plays a great part too but the star is Pacino although his character is a cross between godfather part 3 and Heat his charisma carries the film brilliantly. Foxx and LL Cool J are very believable and it really does give a great insight in to the game and in particular the egos which in parts is just incredible but you buy it given what you see in the news....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2001
Another superb film by Oliver Stone. This film makes you feel, as if you are on the field and playing football. Wonderful cast, Al Pacino is cracking as always. Brilliant soundtrack and lots of extras. DO NOT MISS!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here