Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2017
Dario at his early best. Forget some of his later works. This is why we love him so much. Superb package again from Arrow. This must be the fourth time I have bought this film. Italian cinema at it's very best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
Great film and bluray. Not region locked as stated. Plays on UK PS3, PS4 and BluRay player fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Perfect edition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
ARGENTO'S FIRST GIALLO IS ONE OF THE BEST.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Excellent edition of a masterpiece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
I was really looking forward to this film, and my disappointing 3 stars is not due to the film itself but to the fact that the film is still apparently censored after all these years. Indeed, if you watch the trailer for the film included on the DVD, you will see that one of the murders remains trimmed for British audiences!! I am sure that the BBFC, in its more recent leniency, would now pass this film in a completely uncensored print (bearing in mind it has recently released the likes of H.G Lewis's 'The Wizard of Gore' uncut, albeit after some 30 odd years!!!) but it is typical of many British releases that they do not even bother to examine the print to restore the cuts before releasing onto DVD. If you want my advice, get yourself a multi-region DVD player and buy this film from Amazon.com in the States, as, ironically, American film distributors tend to show far more care and consideration for these European cult classics than we do ourselves. Argento's first film may lack the overtly stylish direction and explicit violence of something like his undoubted masterpiece, Profondo Rosso, but it is still a taut, well made film - after 'Blood and Black Lace' one of the most genre defining giallo's ever made. If minor cuts in films do not bother you then by all means buy this film, but, personally, I still prefer to watch films exactly as the director intended.
44 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
I recall seeing this movie in the cinema when it was first issued. Broad sets and a thrill every so often. Best this about these old Italian movies is the way they captured neon-lit streets and girls (foolishly) not afraid to walk them alone. Better times eh? The worst you could expect was to be stabbed and mutilated but not sold drugs or made drunk or rohypnoled. These were actually made using real film. It's a good ride. I recall it being called The Gallery Murders and dubbed into English. In this version Suzy Kendall and Tony Musante are dubbed into Italian and subtitled. Works okay.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This  1970 Italian ‘giallo’ genre [English subtitled] film [aka: The Gallery Murders, aka: Point of Terror, aka: The Phantom of Terror] is a crime thriller mystery and centres on Sam Dalmas (Tony Musante), an American writer living in Rome who witnesses an attack on a woman in an art gallery but is unable to capture the assailant and ends up helping the police, but is he placing himself and his girlfriend in danger as he discovers the mysterious attacker is a serial killer?
The catchy music score switches to haunting themes, highlighting the tension and fear as the suspense gradually builds as various clues are gathered and discarded along the way. However, there are numerous flaws –especially the unconvincing dialogue and actions of the characters [lose a *], especially after being attacked, but most are minor irritations.
The single disc offers play, scene selection and bonus features [original theatrical trailer, Argento on BWTCP, Picture gallery, other titles]. Rated 15 [due to 20 seconds of cuts –which do little for the film] this has mild swearing, but does contain some violence [mostly implied off shot] and has a number of intense and disturbing scenes –but nothing very un-nerving, although parts are sexually suggestive it cleverly lacks nudity or sex. With a good appreciation of suspense it has a wonderful 70’s feel and is a good **** view but is dated.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
Best edition of the film by far. Although this out of print (Blue Underground) edition is now expensive to acquire it is worth every penny - the picture is correctly framed, the film the full length version, and the transfer by far the best I have seen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)