Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
19
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2017
Very good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2004
Although 'The Bachelor' was given very poor reviews and slammed by the critics on its release in 2000, i personally think that its not a bad movie. Ok it isn't the best comedy out there, but it does have some good moments and is a way to spend a few spare hours watching.
Jimmy is the typical male; he doesn't want to settle down just yet and tie the knot because he's happy doing what he is doing; basically, he's afraid. This changes however when he meets the lovely Anne and after a year or two of being together he finally decides to pop the big question. He takes her to the 'Starlight Rooms' the place where everyone purposes to their wife and just as he is about to ask her, that feeling of uncertainty creeps in and he makes an absolute bodge of it and she leaves the next day on a photography assignment.
He also finds out the next day that his grandfather has died and finds out that the only way that he can receive his hundred million dollar inheritance is to marry before his 30th birthday, which unfortunately happens to be the following day! He now has twenty four hours to find himself a bride so that he can get his grandfathers money. How far will he go and what will Anne have to say about it?
Overall, 'The bachelor' is quite a nice film with some good acting and quite a few genuinely funny moments that make it a perfect movie to whittle away a few spare hours and dosen't require too much brain. Worth a watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 September 2008
When I first saw this film nearly ten years ago, I wasn't familiar with any of its cast (excepting Peter Ustinov of course), but I had been drawn to a very funny clip I saw where the lead male character was being chased and hunted down by what looked liked literally hundreds of women - dressed as brides, and this looked extremely funny. This stuck in my mind, and I thought this might be fun to see and so I bought the Video!

This movie is a little slow in getting going, and the intro. is not that good - perhaps even a bit too silly to be funny, but I would suggest 'sticking with it' as there are some really funny scenes in this, and as previously mentioned; the scene with the hoards of brides is absolutely hilarious! The best scene by far though, being the wedding that 'almost' happens to Brooke Shields - she is brilliantly funny in this!

Not a laugh a minute, but certainly has some good fun moments!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
Chris Oapos woodenly alongside Renee Zellwegger, who plays almost exactly the same character as she always does. Occasional smiles but not many laughs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Good ole fashioned love story in modern-ish times. Funny scenes and moments, slightly predictable but a good feel good movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 13 June 2016
Full of light-heartedness and humour, I really enjoyed this movie as a feel-good, silly romcom.

It has pretty much everything I like in a movie: laughs, likeable, attractive characters that learn something during the course of the movie, a good pace, good acting and a satisfying ending.

Definitely worth a watch if you like chick flicks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
Best thing about this is the music. the plot is stupid and the script is unsubtle and everyone looks uncomfortable except Brook Shields who does very well on very limited lines but great character for Buckely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Enjoyable movie

Renee Zelwhatever was so cute in this movie and those Chris O'Donnell baby blues are swoon worthy

Great movie great cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2000
Take a 'Brewster Millions' plot, add two charming actors/actresses, and you expect a cute film that whiles away a few hours on a Suturday night. Surprisingly, I got a lot more laughs out of 'The Bachelor' than I expected. A pleasant surprise! Not one to get excited about, but a pleasant waste of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)