Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
29
Energy
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£35.00+ £1.26 shipping

on 2 March 2017
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2003
This album is like gold dust, the only cd release of some of their greatest tracks, there is far more than this and what has happened to the rest i cannot say but here is 27 of the most fantastic Ska Punk (Or whatever you wish to classify it) you will ever find.
One of the best and most influencial ska bands along with 'Sublime' that took the music of bands like 'The Specials', 'Madness' and 'Beat' and fused it with punk, to give a lively, energetic and enjoyable mix.
There is no loss of quality on the album and despite there being a simple sound used over and over the different topics, speeds and beats allow for the entire album never to get boring. With each track being about 2 minutes each it moves quickly but the music more than compensates for it's short life. On some tracks there are elements of other style's such as the fast vocals on 'Here We Go Again' that isn't too distant from modern mc'ing (but far better music to support it). Other stand out tracks are 'Sound System', 'Caution', 'Room Without A Window', 'Yellin' In My Ear', sh*t i may as well name the whole album everybody has their own favourites, i garuntee this album will have you skanking along in no time at all (energy or not).
Occassionally political ('Unity', 'Freeze Up'...) and often just having fun ('Here We Go Again', 'Sound System'), you probably won't care either, you can take Op Ivy however you like there is a lot of diversity in the band and a definite recommendation for any punk collection.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2003
Well if it's ska-punk you're after it doesn't come much better than this.
I, like many other people, discovered Op Ivy after hearing them mentioned countless times by other bands as a major influence, and hearing it included Tim Armstrong (aka Lint) and Matt Freeman (aka Matt McCall) of Rancid. If you know of the latter band just imagine that but less pop-orientated, more hardcore and more ska, and also more of a political edge.
Op Ivy frontman Jesse Michaels is the ultimate proof that punk rock isn't all about getting pissed and talking rubbish, this guy has brains and wrote some brilliant lyrics.
Another great thing about this band is that they were pretty damn punk - no MTV videos, no appearing in pop magazines.... listen to this and then listen to Good Charlotte. You still think GC's punk?! Also they were the
inventors of ska-punk, expanding on the work of The Clash and The Specials early dabbles.
As other reviewers have made a point of, I could try and select some highlights but I'd go on naming the entire album.... with 27 tracks this is good value for money even if most of them are pretty short.
Just buy it, listen to it and then cry that the band weren't together long enough to record a second album.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2001
for anyone who is into ska-punk, this album is definitely worth a listen. it may be old but its not dated and its a shame that they splintered off into other groups when they did. classic stuff
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2004
Operation Ivy... there will never be another band like them. I am able to appreciate a wide variations in music but have always been attracted to punk and ska because of the energy and passion it carries. This album defines this and is proberly one of the best albums I have ever heard. Like another reviewer has already said, there isn't really a 'stand-out track' just a large dose of catchy, energetic, raw, passionate punky ska. How this band are so underrated I will never know. Many people have already mentioned the link between them and Rancid, Tim Armstrong is getting more respected within the music industry by the day and this is where it all began for him. This is a very special album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2005
I could sit here and list stand out tracks. I'm not going to bother because there's no need writing ALL the tracks down when Amazon have them already listed.
And for those that may make a decision based on only hearing a few songs:
Get this album, getitgetitgetit.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2001
An album made up of all the op ivy releases offers the best ska-punk you are ever likely to hear. There are no weak tracks on the album and i recommend this to anyone looking to get into the ska-punk scene. Op Ivy were such an influence on many of the major punk bands from the California area and you should not miss out on this great band. The esscense of Op Ivy lives on in Rancid ,which Tim (lint) Armstrong and Matt McCall formed following the break up of Op Ivy to get their lives back together after problems with drink and drugs. Rancid are a great band to so try and hear some if possible.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2000
u wont find a more passionate, and meaningfull album....o'k theres a few weak tracks, but even they are pretty god damm good,
it really derserves 10 out of 5 stars. just buy it!! hoboken, yelling in my ear and unity....most of em are amazing....BUY IT!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2010
Just awesome, everyone should own this album because it's great!!

Stand out tracks:

Track 2 Sound System
Track 4 Take Warning
Track 7 Unity
Trcak 12 Bad Town
Track 13 Smiling
Track 23 Yellin' in My Ear
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 September 2006
I Was A Bit Optimistic About The Album All The Reviews I Had Read Had Top Marks. But.........

This Ska/Punk Cd Is Out Of This World. All Of The Song Are Amazing And Most Of The Songs Are World Class.

This Cd NEEDS To Be In Your Collection.

It's Worth Every Penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)