Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2017
Not one of his albums but still worth a listen to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2005
I am a very big Deep Purple fan and I got straight into Whitesnake very quickly for obvious reasons and I have always loved David Coverdale as a vocalist and a musician .I have every Whitesnake album and I have to say I have to agree with the other reviewer that this is David Coverdale's by far best album he manages to show people what he is capable of doing as a writer and should be taken more seriously as an artist. Like I said he went on to form Whitesnake with old mates Lordy/Paice a great move I must say Deep Purple never died in 1976 really just lived on in Whitesnake...
Ready'n' Willing is my all time favourite Whitesnake album , well everything up until Slide It In (1984) is the real Whitesnake not the 1987 big hair doooo Whitesnake.
All I can say if you want the real David Coverdale at his best then buy this and then every Whitesnake album up to 1984. 1987 album is good but it is more about the hair do and big late 80's metal sound you are not hearing what David is really capable of doing in my opinion.
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Released fairly quickly after WHITESNAKE(1977) this is a far more concise album,a further blueprint for future 'Snake albums.From the Purple like rock of 'Keep On Giving Me Love' & 'Breakdown' to the excellent 'Queen Of Hearts' a pointer to whitesnake thru the excellent Purple IV outake 'Say You Love Me',Coverdales natural rock inclinations take hold.

However you cannot ignore the stunning title track and the haunting ballad 'Time And Again',the joyous good time of 'Give Me Kindness' which Ronnie James Dio sings backing vocals and finally my favourite Coverdale tune ever,the magnificent 'Only My Soul' a lost gem.I personally dont believe that Coverdale has ever sung better.After this disc the band shed their skin and became whitesnake.

The remaster has an excellent sound,again enhancing the 70's production style and two bonus cuts 'Shame The Devil' and 'Sweet Mistreater' both are pretty good .possibly more suited to the first solo album rather than this.all round an excellent release.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
David Coverdale circa 1974 - 1984 is one of my all time favourite singers. He had an unbelievable soul infused blues rock tone at this time in his career until the screaming started in the late 80's! Northwinds represents a collection of well written songs that showcase Coverdale's vocals perfectly, right from the tender and heart wrenching 'Time and Again' during which he wrings every bit of emotion out of the song to the upbeat rocking 'don't mess with me' vocal stylings on 'Breakdown'. Every word is believable, every song is well arranged and supported by a fine array of musicians and backing singers. I originally bought this on vinyl in the early 80's, this CD remaster version seems to lack a little bit of the warmth of the original analogue recording but that is just a fact with the digital / analogue juxtaposition. Definitely worth checking this album out if you like the early part of David Coverdale's work in Deep Purple and the first 4 Whitesnake albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I totally agree with a couple of the other reviewers that this is David Coverdale at his best, before the big rock songs of the 80's and the various changes in the line-up of Whitesnake. I have just bought this and Whitesnake, Coverdale's debut album after leaving Deep Purple and haven't heard them for about thirty years and I have to say I appreciate them more now than I did then, and I really liked them when they were first released. The production is all quite simple (as things used to be at the end of the 70's!) and listening to the vocals now I much prefer this to what came later, the style is soulful with a few that have a bit of a gospel touch, and the only real rock tune is Breakdown. I'm looking forward to playing it several more times over the coming weeks and reliving my youth! Anyone who hasn't it heard yet and thinking about buying it, won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 November 2006
David Coverdale's second album saw the singer probing several different styles without veering too far from the rock he's best known for. He didn't establish a settled band until Whitesnake's 'Love Hunter' and guitarist Micky Moody is the only other member of that band featured here. There's no shortage of class on show, but the material, while generally above average, is lacking in big hitters.

'Northwinds' tends to improve as it progresses. The reserved title track grows on you, but, other than this, tracks 5-8 are the highlights. When Coverdale isn't singing about having a high old time, he's quite soulful and the latter is his attitude on this album. Both of the bonus tracks are creditable, even if 'Sweet Mistreater' sounds a bit incongruous. A good album, but no classic.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2000
i'm not much of a fan of whitesnake, though i do rate coverdale as an excellant singer. this cd shows him at his best (only the recent 'starkers' cd comes close), most of the tracks are raw edged simply and very enjoyable. if you like coverdale, forget whitesnake, buy this. you won't be disapointed.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
What have they done to this album? Beggared about with it that's what! It worked perfectly well as it was and if something ain't broke then don't fix it. The extra track doesn't fit in with the other tracks, I find it really jarring - especially after listening to the vinyl version since its original release date in the 70's - I bought this to save my original album from further wear and tear and to play in the car but have had to bounce it onto a cd in order to take out the "new bits". If you're a fan of the original either don't bother with this OR be prepared to do what I've done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2000
Coverdale's second solo album doesn't have a weak link.Only 'Breakdown'serves as a reminder of the 'Deep Purple'days. You willnot hear a better ballad than 'Say You Love Me'.....yes you will! 'Time & Again'which is on the same album! Buy this!And then tell me this is not the best voice in the history of the world.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
This cd is from a pre whitesnake lp (1978), David's second after leaving Deep Purple. Micky Moody plays on this albumn as does Roger Glover. Ronnie James Dio supplies some backing vocals (amongst others)
It is a great addition to any whitesnake/purple/coverdale collection.
There are a lot of ballads with David pouring his soul out for the world so dont expect a post 87 sound.
You can almost see Whitesnake emerging...
(if you like this cd make sure you check out Snakebite and WhiteSnake (thats the cd titles) cds of the same era)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)