Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
218
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2000
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the chickens. Following numerous attempts to escape, including frequent trips to the cooler for Ginger, the head chicken, they start to feel they will never make it out alive. Enter Rocky, a Yankee rooster who uses his charm to get among "the beautiful English chicks". Of course, he's hiding a secret which they eventually discover (not saying what it is) and the scene is set for the funniest climax ever with a few nice twists along the way. The dialogue is more likely to appeal to the adult audience while the kids just enjoy the set pieces, but it's Jane Horrocks (Absolutely Fabulous) who gets the best lines throughout the film including what will hopefully become a catchphrase once the film hits the shops just in time for Christmas;
"BUT I DON'T WANT TO BE IN A PIE. I DON'T LIKE GRAVY"
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2001
How can anyone not be entertained by this film, any purist who can find holes to pick at in the production are well, just sad !! Bah Humbug to them.
The action that goes on in the background, like where Mrs Tweedy pinches Mr Tweedy's bottom in the scene where food rations are doubled, doubles me up every time, and the spatial sound (if you have a TV up to it) when Rocky and Ginger are in the oven never fails to make my kids jump, and the bit with Edwina , the first time my kids saw it you could cut the tension with a knife.
You can watch this film a dozen times, and get something new out of it each time. A good sucess indicator is, whenever I drop a CD/DVD into the player, Chicken Run is already in there
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2002
not just for the kids a good laugh for all, and you don't even have to be a farmer to understand the goings on. We all know someone like a character from this film
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2007
I got this DVD for Christmas even though i have seen this film umpteen number of times. With most films i would hate it if i got it after watching it loads but no, it is very difficult to get bored of this film. There are funny little bits that sometimes you miss and then next time you will spot them and think 'Genious!' This film is now widely regarded as a classic and so it should be! It is great fun for all ages! The animation is fantastic, when you see films using animation this well you think what is the point in films using special effects! The models are fantastic and the voicing is apsolutely second to none! If you haven't seen this film either you're just born or WHAT PLANET HAVE YOU BEEN ON?!! The ending maybe isn't for vegetarians! A must see for all ages 9/10.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
My three year-old son has become something of an Aardman fan and Chicken Run is the latest addition to his collection.

I admit to watching Chicken Run as an adult at the cinema when it was first released. My recollection was that it was Aardman's first full-length movie and it didn't disappoint. Great animation and charming British humour all the way through.

My son really enjoyed watching it and in typical fashion it's now all he wants to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
CHICKEN RUN [2000] [Blu-ray] [French Import] From the Creators of Wallace and Gromit! The Cinema Experience in High Definition! This Ain’t No Chick Flick!

Unlike anything ever seen on the big screen, ‘Chicken Run' [2000] is that year's most original comedy hailed by critics and audiences alike as "magical entertainment for all ages!" While the chickens on evil Mrs. Tweedy's farm dream of a better life, a clever hen named Ginger is hatching plans to fly the coop for good! The only problem is, chickens can't fly - or can they? Every escape attempt goes fowl until Rocky, a smooth-talking all-American rooster, who crash-lands into the coop. It's hardly poultry in motion when Rocky attempts to teach Ginger and her fine feathered friends to fly...but, with teamwork, determination and a little bit o' cluck, the fearless flock plots one last daring attempt in a spectacular bid for freedom! Featuring unforgettable characters, incredible animation, and all-star voice talent, this instant classic from the Academy Award® winning creators of “Wallace and Gromit” and is eggs-traordinary fun for the whole family!

FILM FACT: Awards and Nominations: Won: Broadcast Film Critics for Best Animated Feature. Won: Dallas Fort Worth Film Critics for Best Animated Feature. Won: Los Angeles Film Critics for Best Animated Feature. Won: New York Film Critics for Best Animated Feature. Nominated: BAFTA Awards for Best British Film and Best Visual Effects. Nominated: Empire Awards for Best British Director Nick Park and Peter Lord, Best British Film and Best Debut for Nick Park and Peter Lord. Nominated: European Film Awards for Best Film.

Voice Cast: Julia Sawalha, Mel Gibson, Miranda Richardson, Tony Haygarth, Benjamin Whitrow, Timothy Spall, Phil Daniels, Jane Horrocks, Imelda Staunton, Lynn Ferguson, John Sharian, Jo Allen, Lisa Kay, Laura Strachan

Directors: Nick Park and Peter Lord

Producers: Nick Park, Peter Lord, David Sproxton and Jeffrey Katzenberg

Screenplay: Nick Park, Peter Lord Karey (original story) and Kirkpatrick (screenplay)

Composer: Harry Gregson-Williams and John Powell

Cinematography: Dave Alex Riddett, Frank Passingham and Tristan Oliver

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.77:1

Audio: French: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: French

Running Time: 85 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: DreamWorks Pictures / Aardman Animations

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: This is a film for both children and adults. ‘Chicken Run’ [2000] is a film that will easily be understood by all who watch it and it is a film by the same creators of "Wallace and Gromitt," and equally entertaining. ‘Chicken Run’ not only proves that Aardman Animations can deliver a full-length feature film with panache; and it offers genuinely superb entertainment as well.

Known to millions across the globe as the creator of the characters Wallace and Gromit, where a British inventor Wallace, with a penchant for inventing devices, especially in collaboration with his smart companion dog Gromit, Nick Park can no longer live in the obscurity he once enjoyed. It has been half-a-decade since the last Wallace and Gromit short reached audiences, and Nick Park has been quiet since then. The reason can be summed up in two words: ‘Chicken Run.’ An ambitious, full-length motion picture employing Nick Park's signature "Claymation" style, albeit without Wallace or Gromit. ‘Chicken Run’ represents an attempt by Nick Park to break free of his status as a cult figure and move into the mainstream. To that end, he has recruited some instantly recognisable voices, such as Miranda Richardson and Mel Gibson, and to voice his characters, Nick Park and Peter Lord struck a distribution deal with DreamWorks Pictures.

But life is tough if you're a chicken. It's especially tough if you're one of the chickens incarcerated in Mr. and Mrs. Tweedy run a failing Chicken Farm in a grim Yorkshire institution. run in the style of a Second World War POW camp, where the chicken fowls in question are lined up each morning for a military-style inspection. There's no apparent-pleasing sanitisation going on here: a few minutes into the film, one unlucky hen is being decapitated after falling behind in the laying stakes. The scene is made all the scarier for being depicted solely via suggestive shadow and a nasty chopping sound.

Things take an even darker turn, when the fearsome Mrs. Tweedy [Miranda Richardson] decides that her eggs aren't bringing in enough cash, and invests in a pie-making machine instead. A fantastically inventive monstrosity of slicing, spinning blades, gravy-spurting pipes and flaming ovens, it prompts one of the hens, the dim-witted Babs [Jane Horrocks] to observe, in one of the film's most-quoted lines: "I don't want to be a pie... I don't like gravy."

It's this balance between danger and wit that makes `Chicken Run,' the first feature-length animation from Wallace and Gromit makers Aardman Animations, such a treat for adults and children alike. The film, which follows Mrs. Tweedy's hens as they make a bid for freedom, is essentially ‘The Great Escape’ with chickens, an engagingly ridiculous tagline, which the animation lives up to with charm and verve.

Julia Sawalha steals the show as Ginger, a plucky heroine, determined not to end up as a plucked heroine. Meanwhile, Mel Gibson is on brilliant form as American intruder and "lone free ranger" Rocky, who crash-lands on the farm with a cry of "freeeeedom," is one of Chicken Run's many, many film references and in-jokes. The distinctive "Claymation" animation is as charming as it was when the animation film came out in 2000.

A naive hen, Babs [Jane Horrocks], who serves as a counterpoint to Ginger's desire to feel the grass under her feet, and two rodents, Fletcher [Phil Daniel] and Nick [Timothy Spall] who have an unusual passion for chicken eggs, make for some sharp and humorous moments, thanks to a clever screenplay by Karey Kirkpatric. There are many film references, including `The Great Escape,' `Stalag 17,' `Indiana Jones,' `Star Trek,' `Mission: Impossible' and many double meanings, which are good for a few thought-provoking laughs.

The very best thing about `Chicken Run,' however, is its exuberant final act, in which Mrs. Tweedy's demented metal beast of a pie machine is contrasted with the chickens' home-made aircraft, inspired by the exploits of ex-RAF mascot rooster Major Fowler [Benjamin Whitrow]. Old-fashioned, British home-spun inventiveness wins out, while the big, bad corporate-style machine collapses in a mad explosion of gravy, in a finale that manages to be beautifully silly and rather clever all at the same time.

The painstaking animation, done by moving clay models in miniscule amounts over time, comes off as a labour of love. The set design is incredible: from the chicken coop to the pie-making machine, Nick Park and Peter Lord (who also co-directs) and transports us to a world that not only goes beyond our reality but also the realm of traditional animation. Like with many other good animations, the voices, most of them British, are what make Chicken Run work so well. Every single voice is executed perfectly. I particularly liked the fact that the strongest character was a female and Julia Sawalha pulls off a Ginger, who deserves respect and admiration. `Chicken Run' is highly endearing, consistently attractive, and incredibly refreshing. While there's not one particular part in the film that had me rolling with laughter, I was constantly amused and at the end, I was filled with euphoria as the credits rolled up the screen.

‘Chicken Run’ is truly an unusual endeavour since, unlike every other animated motion picture reaching screens, its primary aim is not to astound viewers visually. In fact, with its old-fashioned approach to animation, it looks clunky in comparison to some of its competitors. Of course, that's part of ‘Chicken Run' and its charm, but a lot of children will probably will not get the jokes and go right over their heads, whereas the more adult viewers will get the many in jokes. And, since a significant portion of the target audience will not accept a motion picture that doesn't offer start-to-finish action or eye-popping visuals, ‘Chicken Run’ is beginning its theatrical life with a handicap. Hopefully, adults, won over by the smart-yet-uncomplicated script and charming execution, will encourage their offspring to see the film. Children will almost certainly enjoy the animation film if they give it a chance.

At the dawn of the third millennium, animation has become the domain of the United States and Japan, so it's a rare pleasure to see another movie industry enter into the fray. With Chicken Run, Park has taken all that was enjoyable about Wallace & Gromit, brought it into a barnyard, and extended it to feature length. Fans of the previous Aardman Animations shorts, which two have won Academy Awards® and will undoubtedly shower Nick Park and Peter Lord with plaudits for what they have accomplished with this stunning animation film. All that remains is for audiences at large to discover the simple-but-engaging entertainment of ‘Chicken Run.’

Blu-ray Video Quality – I have to admit that it is hard to find an image transfer for an animated film recently that is not reference quality. But with the 1.77:1 anamorphic transfer of `Chicken Run' I can honestly say that this is among one of the best 1080p encoded transfers I have ever seen. There are no moments where the print becomes anything less than jaw-droppingly good. Detail and sharpness are both perfect, as is the use of colour in many of the daylight scenes. The black levels are done well with no grain at all, and there were no instances of shimmering or pixilation. This is one of the best transfers I have ever seen and another great effort by the DreamWorks Pictures and Aardman Animations team.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – With what is becoming a tradition for DreamWorks Pictures and Aardman Animations, `Chicken Run' is presented with both French and English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtracks. While neither track is especially active, they each get the job done. The first half of the film is primarily dialogue and music driven, with the surrounds kicking in when the pie factory makes it appearance. There isn't a very noticeable difference between the French and English 5.1 DTS-HD surround versions mix and this animation film feature provides a bit more music in between the back surrounds and does a good job at enveloping the viewer. While not a showy mix, these tracks each offer clean and well-defined sound.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras: When you view all of the extras, the French Subtitles appear automatically. To get rid of them you have to go to the SUBTITLES button on your Blu-ray remote and with the up arrow key button you can set it to off.

Audio Commentary: Commentary with Directors Peter Lord and Nick Park: Directors Peter Lord and Nick Park tell us in great detail why they produced the animation film like they did, especially in homage to the film `The Great Escape.' We also get to hear their love to all "Claymation" characters, and especially the in jokes for the chicken Edwina, which was in honour to the ex-Member of Parliament Edwina Curry [Health Minister], who had to resign from the British Government over the scandal over eggs, provoking outrage by saying most of Britain's egg production is infected with the salmonella bacteria. They also inform us why they chose specific actors to dub the voices for the "Claymation" characters. They also inform us that they had too many ideas for the film, but because of the time limited, they had ditch a lot of the ideas. What is so beautiful about this audio commentary is that the stereo separation is spectacular as each person is exactly in the left and right speakers. A must view audio commentary.

Special Feature Documentary: Fowl Play: The Making of Chicken Run [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [22:43] Here we get to see a very intimate and rare behind-the-scene look at the making of `Chicken Run,' and all involved in this 5 year project to bring this awesome Aardman Animations to the silver screen. Contributing to this beautiful made documentary is directors Peter Lord and Nick Park; Julia Sawalha [Ginger]; Miranda Richardson [Mrs. Tweedy]; Mel Gibson [Rocky]; Jake Eberts [Executive Producer]; Jeffrey Katzenberg [Executive Producer]; Dave Sproxton [Producer]; Jane Horrocks [Babs]; Harry Linden [Production Manager]; Merlin Crossingham [Key Animator]; Guionne Leroy [Key Animator]; Tim Farrington [Art Director]; Lynne Ferguson [Mac]; James Mather [Supervising Sound Editor] and John Powell and Harry Gregson-Williams. Narrated by Timothy Spall.

Special Feature Documentary: The Infernal Pie Machine [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [14:26] Directors Nick Park and Peter Lord talk in great detail on how they produced the animation piece with the Pie Machine for ‘Chicken Run.' They also tell in great intricate detail about how the "Claymation" is made to look so good on the silver screen. On top of all that they give you lots of information on the task before them to produce the animation film, plus you also get lots of clips from `Chicken Run,' especially with infernal pie machine.

Special Feature Documentary: The Secrets of Dubbing the Voice [2000] [1080p] [4:3] [26:58] First off we get to see the actor Gérard Depardieu sitting in the French recording studio telling us about his involvement with dubbing his voice for the animation character "Rocky" with the French Cinema release. Other contributors to the documentary explaining their input into dubbing the animation characters are Josiane Balasko; Valérie; Jean-Marc Panneteir [Artist Director for Dubbing]. [French with no English Subtitles].

Theatrical [Bandes] Announcements:

Theatrical Trailer for `Chicken Run' [2000] [480i] [16:9] [2:16] [French and English Versions].

Theatrical Teaser Trailer for `Chicken Run' [2000] [480i] [16:9] [1:28] [English Versions].

Theatrical Trailer for `Chicken Mission Impossible Run' [2000] [480i] [16:9] [1:23] [English Versions]

Finally, `Chicken Run' is another brilliant classic animation film from the mad geniuses at Aardman Animations, a quick confection fix that's consistently enjoyable and a non-stop treat for the eyes. The Blu-Ray looks great in 2D, but what a shame they could not do a 3D conversion, while the extras are impressive compared to what passes for bonus content on Blu-ray nowadays, and offers something for adults and children alike. Families looking for a fun time for everyone watching will find it here. Distinctly British and extremely wildly imaginative, Nick Park and Peter Lord's animation film is a triumph of solid writing and virtuoso animation. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
One of the best feature-length stop-motion animations to come from a British Studio, Chicken Run was loosely based on the Great Escape, but given several twists only the brains at Aardman could have dreamed up, and then the stellar casting of the voices was inspired, with Mel Gibson even re-using some of the Braveheart lines but in a completely different context. The plot is daft and impossible, funny and gripping and potentially tragic, but by the end of the film we are all believing it and urging the hens to succeed in escaping the dastardly Mrs Tweedie.

As with all Aardman films adults will have fun picking out the references to many classic films and TV shows, not just the Great Escape, and the children will just enjoy the ride as the flock of heroines, and just a few heroes, grab their heartstrings and imaginations.

There are lots of extras on my copy of the DVD including several trailers, a making of, Aardman Archive clips, and a directors commentary. It is in 1.85:1 full colour with 5.1 surround sound. Released in 2000 it still feels fresh each time we watch it again. The Wiki entry for this film is well worth reading if you wish to know more about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
I remember this film from my childhood days so decided to purchase it to re-watch it. Ginger and her fellow chickens are living within a locked compound and are desperate to escape before they are killed. They try various escape attempts before Rocky comes into the picture. Rocky is a chicken who apparently can fly and Ginger wants him to show her and the others how to do so, what follows is chaos, mayhem and a lot of laughs. I won't go into what happens as I don't want to spoil it but it's a good film and I would recommend to all ages.

This movie was delivered sealed and arrived within a couple of days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
Love watching this film over and over and it's suitable for all the family. We have given ourselves our own individual characters based on the ones in the film. Some parts are sad but all works out well for our feathered friends in the end. Thankfully.
Definitely recommend this film as an all time winner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
‘Hennen Rennen’ (Chicken Run) Blu-ray. Another Blu-ray release that as far as I can see, only appears to be available in a French and a German version. My German version has the original English dialogue plus a German track and both language sub-titles subtitles option, plus extras. This is a Wallace and Gromit parody on ‘The Great Escape’ and it has an appeal to all age groups; however it may not be suitable for very young children as Mrs. & Mr. Tweedy the farm Proprietor are at times rather sinister and menacing especially, when she rings the neck of a chicken that wasn’t laying enough eggs. Mr. & Mrs. Tweedy installs a chicken pie making machine and the chickens on the farm decide they have had enough and plot their escape. The escape of The Chicken’s follows in the footsteps/format of an English Prisoners of war Escape Committee. The canny birds carry out a Colditz type escape using a novel means of flight. The picture quality is superb and almost looks 3D in quality, and a significant improvement on the DVD, great pity no English release BUY This version if you like the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse