Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
118
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2006
It's pleasant enough, but with the pieces at the beginning and end of the album, I just get the urge to shout "Oh bloody well get on with it!". They repeat sections that don't need repeating. If they could just edit them down in to 5 and 6 minutes then they would improve dramatically.

That said, pieces 4 to 8 are superb with Ny Batteri and Hjartao Hamast being by far the best pieces on the album. Perhaps this reflects my preference for darker (and in the latter case) more bluesy sounds.

Olsen Olsen is a joy to listen to, but if you think it's original then you'll have to listen to Prokoviev's Lieutenant Kije Suite. The similarities are far to close to be coincidence, even down to the main theme being played by a solo tin whistle.

Buy this for the middle section. Svefn-G-Englar, Staralfur and the title track are all a bit too twee and long winded for me.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
This is the album that got me into Sigus Ros, love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Bought as a gift and person who received loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Great early album if you like this sort of thing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2015
It just washes over me. Beautiful music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Overrated......
Excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Just on time. Great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Beautiful ambient album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2005
This album is really, really good. It is just beautiful and a joy to listen to.
The highlights are definetely 'Staralfur', 'Ny Baterri' and 'Viorar Vel Til Loftarasa'.
However, be warned. This album takes a few listens before it hits you (I was actually laughing at the guy's voice in some parts when I first heard it), but once it does you will love it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 February 2001
Floating somewhere between Mogwai, Spiritualized, My Bloody Valentine and a chamber orchestra, Sigur Ros hail from Iceland and their music shows it. Elegant, windswept, grandiose, glacial, even, they weave their way through an album composed not of songs but of something more akin to classical suites and movements, combining subtle guitar ambience with huge orchestral arrangements, continental feedback and lyrics sung in a made up language by a boy who sounds like a girl. This is not your typical indie guitar four piece. 'Vidrar Vel Til Loftarasa' floats prettily for seven or so minutes, all delicate pianos and luscious rolling bass, before exploding in a psychedelic Technicolor haze of 'Loveless'-style guitar abuse, while 'Olsen Olsen' takes a beautiful flute melody, ties it to a circular guitar motif, and then detonates it in the midst of amassed strings and brass, creating one of the most spiritually uplifting pieces of music that I've heard in a long time.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)