Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
29
4.1 out of 5 stars
Gorgeous [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 May 2017
Love the fight scenes and she is just gorgeous and so vibrant. Very lovely movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
love JC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
This movie is a recent addition to my collection of jackie's movies, the movie is more of a drama then martial arts film which is an unusual role for Jackie to take. This new side to Jackie is refreshing and thoroughly enjoyable, his role adds to the depth of his movies and reputation.
There are only a few martial arts scenes in the movie, which is the only disappointment, but the scenes are well worth the wait. The final fight in the movie i would rate as one of his best fights, it is fast and action packed and definately top class. The story line has a feel good side to it, and has a heart warming ending.
I would strongly recommend this for any Jackie Chan fan, and also for any martial arts/action/drama fan also!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
A lot of people think Jackie should only play one role, but why not do something a little different. I disagree with people about this film, I think it's great! I know, I know, it's a love story but try not to laugh when Jackie corners Tony Leung in the elevator or when the gay chinese guys are pretending to beat up on Shu Qi, you won't be able to!
The fights in particular the last one, are fantastic, the usual Jackie, madcap, fist flying, with little funny bits here and there.
All in all, it's a great film to have in your Chan collection. At the end of the day, if you're a Jackie Chan fan - you'll love this!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
I love Jackie Chan and Shu Qi and to bring them together on one film was a must for me to buy. The story line was "cute" and amusing. Shu Qi played her chameleon role very well as the little village girl and then suddenly transformed into the most beautiful woman anyone would be proud to take to dinner!! I was not impressed with the fight scenes but enjoyed the wit Jackie always puts into these. In general, the film was funny, and well put together. Typical man meets girl and ends happy ever after. Some may find the story line a little "tame" but if you understand Asian culture then you can accept the simplicity of the story. If you liked Pretty Woman, there seems to be a similar trait here but in a very nice way. If you love Jackie and Shu Qi then it is a must to buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2001
This is a great lookin' Chan film with 4 incredable fiht scenes. The last one Chan uses some great foot technique. It is a funny romantic action film. With the number 1 action hero in it. BUY IT
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2000
Again, Jackie chan manages to bring something new to the screen. The d.v.d features an excellent summery by Chan himself. There is some brilliant camera work and great acting.Gorgeous maybe a little different from some of Chan's other films,however true fans like to see their hero playing a variety of roles. There is a fantastic fight that lasts for over 10 minutes between jackie chan stunt team member Brad Allan, with great music and editing. There is also a nice fight on a car park, one on board a ship, and it's amazing to see how many different ways Chan can use a baseball bat in a fight scene which takes place on, under and around a motorbike. Despite the films romantic plot, Chan still managed to injure his hip whilst filming one of the fighting scenes. Like most of his films, this is one for all the famiy to enjoy. Well done Jackie, and director Vincent Kok.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2000
A slight change of pace for Jackie in this 1999 film made for Golden Harvest Studios. Although there are some trademark Chan fight scenes, the film concentrates on the relationship between Jackie and Bu (the stunning Shi Qi). There are three brilliantly choreographed fight scenes of note - the first involving Jackie taking on a gang of thugs on their motorbikes, eventually stealing all of the baseball bats they are wielding. The other two fight scenes are classic Chan artistry where he pits his skills against an American martial arts champion who is sent by Jackie's corporate enemy to stir up trouble. This film is suitable for all ages and is ideal for introducing you to the kung-fu entertainment master who is, Jackie Chan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
I hadn't seen nor heard anything about this film when I saw it, but I bought it anyway on the premise that it was Jackie Chan. I usually find his films have a poor storyline and this one fulfills my expectations, but the main fight scenes are something _else_ totally. I've never seen Jackie Chan mix up a combination of styles like this against an extremely able opponent, when I first watched it my reactions were "christ!" and "bloody hell!", I only noticed one speeding-up. This film is worth it for the two main fight sequences alone if that's what you enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)