Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
123
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Film is a 5 star classic, a real favourite from my youth. The Blu Ray is only so-so. The 5.1 audio, at least on a stereo set up is rather strange during the sperm song, sounds out of phase and very thin, you can hear how it is supposed to sound on some of the foreign sound mixes on the disc. The rest of the mix is ok but purists like myself will always appreciate the inclusion of the original sound mix. Also rather typically for Univeral there is a fair amount of edge enhancement applied. None of this detracts too much from the film which is still brilliant after all these years. There are loads of extras most of which are not that great to be honest but its nice to have them there nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
I am a great Monty Python fan, but have to admit that this is not their finest hour. Produced, I think, to make some money, rather then because they had an idea, it is basically a selection of sketches of differing lengths, loosely joined together by the theme of the ages of life.
Sme of the pieces are brilliant; 'every sperm is sacred' is probably, for me the best thing Python ever did, but other parts are pretty dire.
In fact overall, the best part is the accompanying short made by Terry Gilliam, which was left out of the main film because the others couldn't see how it fitted in!
So, a real curate's egg; if you're a python fan, there is stuff to enjoy. If you aren't, it doesn't show them at their best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Great watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Such great value for Monty python goodies 👍
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2006
They couldn't find a theme that allowed the film to flow the way that "Grail" and "Brian" did. The film feels disjointed and uneven, and would always rate behind the other two movies for that reason.
Having said that, some of their finest and funniest stuff is in this film - "Crimson Permanent Assurance", "Every Sperm Is Sacred", & "Mr Creosote" leave me helpless every time. Other sketches have a fair number of laughs (especially when "Crimson Permanent Assurance" breaks back into the main film), though other sketches ("Fishy, Fishy, Fishy" for instance) make you wonder whether Chapman was back on the booze when it was written.
The piece de resistance, though, comes immediately after "Every Sperm...". Graham Chapman & Eric Idle play the Protestants who live across from Palin & Jones' Catholic Family; the writing and acting come together so perfectly that I'd have to rate that short sketch as the culmination, the zenith, of all things Python. Almost worth buying for that short sketch alone.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
The fourth Monty Python feature length offering is probably a clip lower in quality than Life of Brian or The Holy Grail but it's still a great way to spend 90 minutes and leagues ahead of ANYTHING out there today! Less story driven than its forebears and so, more sketch-centric with some musical numbers, The Meaning of Life takes a few misteps along it silly way but the good far outweighs the bad and Im glad we have it. Especially now! On Blu ray!

Picture quality is very pleasing for a film from 1983. I'm not expecting HD perfection and indeed, there is the odd fleck and speck still present in the image. However I've never seen it looking just so good as it does here and short of a complete remaster this is likely as good as we'll ever see the film.

The real boon, for me, in this release is the extras though. Headlined with a Python 'reunion' of sorts. Eric Idle is beamed from LA but the 4 remaining Pythons are all in London and it's a lovely hour long feature. We also have a commentary with Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam who are as entertaining as ever, some deleted scenes, a vintage interview and various featurettes which extend the replay value of the disc.

All in all a very respectable release for a silly, entertaining slice of Python and at a cheap price!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
This film, unlike Life of Brian, has not aged well. Just become tedious and dull to watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)