Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
222
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 August 2008
Tom Hanks (Big) stars as Sam, a single parent. A year after losing his wife, he is struggling with the loss and to help him, his son Jonah phones a radio station to ask for advice, and Annie from Baltimore hears and knows she must meet up with Sam.

Filled with plenty of romantic conventions, Nora Ephron's 1993 romantic drama creates a light hearted feel good film, with funny and dramatic moments for viewers of all ages.

Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan (When Harry met Sally), in their first collaboration, are perfect in their respective role, especially Ryan who is very funny, where as Hanks takes the more serious roles, which he is always perfect at.

But the actor who steals the show is Ross Maligner, who is exceptional as Sam's son Jonah, a cheeky 8 year old kid who has plenty on his mind, and a temper and encouragement to match. His smart remarks about Victoria are pure genius, helped along by some classic facial expressions to make him the star of the film.

Though completely unrealistic, this romantic drama generates a healthy plot with the ideology about finding the right person, which is enough to keep the mood alive. The difficulty in the character's lives is good to generate the concept of the right person, with Sam and his lost wife, and Annie and her bizarre fiancé.

The lack of realism happens with a cheesy saying the same words, meeting at the same time, or just in time, an 8 year old girl hacking into a computer and an 8 year old kid getting on a plane all the way to New York.

The lack of realism can take the edge of the plot, depending on how you look at it. For me, the humour and the likability of the characters was enough to let it slip.

It is a very character driven film, helped along by the concept of finding the right person, to make an enjoyable and funny romantic drama.

8/10
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2005
This film is my all time favorite, Meg Ryan & Tom Hanks doing what they do best, falling in love on screen. I will not go into details regarding the story because most people by now will have a general idea of it, all I can say is girls, rent it, buy it, watch it, preferably on a cold, rainy Sunday afternoon wearing your pyjamas with a big mug of hot chocolate...bliss..
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2000
This is an absolute must have in your video collection. No matter how many times you see it, it is still wonderful. Tom Hanks is perfect and Meg Ryan is her usual self (my husband is a Meg fan and loves this movie too!) Great viewing for those evenings when there is nothing on the telly or for a perfect Friday night in.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Reluctantly, I watched this, as urged by my knowing friends. BUT within ten minutes I was captivated and nearly cheered several times. Confession time - I am a youngish widower and so my thoughts when watching this were never going to be neutral but this is one of the few films I love; watch it, stick with it, prepare to be cheered by the fact that humans tend to have a happy outlook; some of us just hide it pretty well (so perceptive daughters say).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
I cried buckets at the end of this film when I first saw it and subsequent viewings still leave me with a soaking wet hankie! The chemistry between Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan is wonderful, even though the actual screen time that they share is not that much, and very believeable. Very rarely a film of this calibre comes along but when it does, EVERYONE should see it and share in the magic that this film brings.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2015
Most people, at least, those that enjoy romantic comedies have probably seen this movie. But if you haven't. Well, Then I'm envious ​because I would love to see this movie for the first time. Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan is amazing together as two people that lives on opposite part of the USA and thanks to a radio call perhaps are destined to meet? You just have to watch to find out...;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
This was an enjoyable feel good film. The storyline and the sentiments expressed are somewhat unrealistic but owing to the good performances of the actors, particularly Meg Ryan, it is believable. The audience can leave the cinema or switch off their T.V. etc.feeling a warm glow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
A modern day fairy tale exquisitely performed through a smooth and joyful script. Sam's wife has died and their son Jonah is only 8 years old. Their profound loss is excised superbly through the use of a 'happy ever after' and 'MFEO' (made for each other) motif catalysed by Jonah's searing outpouring of grief on behalf of his Dad ( and also, ergo, himself) on a radio programme to an 'agony aunt' (psychoanalyst/grandma). The ensuing transformation is so wittily revealed, and played out to the majestic backdrop of the New York skyline. Love rules ok? D'ya get the message- more importantly will you be seduced by it? do you believe? Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan are strangely believable somehow! PS now see 'You've Got Mail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Christmas Eve in Seattle, Jonah, young boy deeply concerned with the depression his father has over the death of his wife, calls a radio talk show late at night hoping to get his father, Sam, some much needed help and possibly a new wife so that he might be happy again.

Annie, a young journalist who is soon to be wed to the seemingly perfect and all-around nice guy Walter, hears the show while driving to visit family on Christmas and is not only intrigued by Jonah's call, but is also deeply touched and begins to feel drawn to their story.

While Sam takes the sign that Jonah's worrying means it's time to start moving on and that it may be time to start dating again, Annie is desperately trying to find out who Sam and Jonah are, and becomes increasingly obsessed that if she doesn't act now, she may never know if Sam and she were meant to be together. Only Jonah is truly convinced Sam and Annie are together, and decides he may need to intervene if love can't find it's way.

Stalking and obsession aside, the story is ultimately very romantic, and worth a watch, especially if you're into the chick-flick genre. This is back when both Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan were extremely fresh and they truly make one of the best story-couples of the 90s.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is my first film watched on the Prime instant videos. Added it to my list as I am an insomniac and last night decided to treat myself to watching it. Didn't help me sleep but satisfied my chick flick need big time ! Would recommend it to any die hard romantics who love a happy ending x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)