Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 October 2000
This is World Party'y 5th album and is equally as good as, if not better than it's predecessors. Another carefully constructed conceptual great.
People constantly compare Karl Wallinger to Dylan,Beatles, Neil Young etc. and well they might,however Wallinger's talents stand out on their own merit and Dumbing Up speaks volumes. There are very few artists that can deliver consistently good material but Karl Wallinger has again delivered the goods with his latest offering. ALL the tracks are excellent so to choose your favourites find out for yourself and get the album. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2000
Dumbing up is just what we've been waiting for,there is a taste of "Bang" & "Goodbye Jumbo" in this album it is also fresh and every bit Karl Wallinger. The mood to this album is layed back with a 60's flavour about it.This album should be added to your World Party collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
Found myself buying this cd very recently after hearing "Is it like today" on the radio from the album "Bang" which made me listen to my old World Party albums again. Then I had a look on Amazon at other World Party albums and ordered this, what a great album I've played it over & over again and really love it. If you ever liked World Party then you will love this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have to admit that the last two World Party albums while good, didn't really live up Goodbye Jumbo, which I thought was superior.
On my first listen to Dumbing Up, I heard the similarities to GJ (especially the opening of the second track), but wasn't as instantly hooked as I had been with the earlier CD.
Two or three lsitens later, I've really begun to like the whole CD. It's very strong. Still not my favorite, but a very worthy follow-up to GJ.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
Great fun. I never understood why Karl never made it to being a huge star before things went weird for him.
Some great tunes, brilliant harmonies and fab songs on here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
World party have released some very good material over the past few years. Whilst live they are one of the best bands ive seen i was to be honest alittle dissapointed with this album. There are several tracks on there which are vintage World Party, but i feel a little less effort went into some of the other tracks. I especially like the last track on the album, very Bob Dylan. Overall still worth buying, better than the normal touch out at the moment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Really into World Party at the moment. I love the variety on their albums - no two songs the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
anything these guys do you are required to listen to. they have sounded the alert; ignore it your peril. BUY ALL THERE STUFF, AT ONCE. THIS IS NOT A RECOMMENDATION. THEY REALLY HAVE WARNED YOU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2000
It's great. But we've heard it before, not on previous WP albums but by Lennon, McCartney, Dylan et al. The 'Dear Prudence/Baby Your A Rich Man' blend on 'Another 1000 Years' is as good an example as any. They used to be subtle influences to his work, now it's just too close. Still good though!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.14
£2.68

Need customer service? Click here