Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2010
Their most popular US album has some fantastic tracks on, including the well-known 'Hourglass' and 'Footprints', but all of the songs are, as with any Squeeze album, well-written and catchy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
This record - fun, in places manic, catchy and clever - sounds like the band's first realisation that they were getting older.

The songs "Hourglass", "Footprints", "In Today's Room", even "Cigarette of a Single Man", all sound like they were suddenly panicking about the passage of time (which is fair enough, they'd passed their first flushes of youth, and were trying to appeal to a predominantly young market), and the reviewer who said that this sounds like a group "desperately" trying to break back into the big time has a point.

But they do it well. "Hourglass" is terrifically catchy, good to dance to, and even better to sing along with; "Trust Me" is a passable attempt at a rock n' roll number; and even the despised "8535937" is still a really good pop song. Other than the singles, there's bounce, fun and a spring in almost every step, from the Beatles-esque "Tough Love" to the impossibly enjoyable "Striking Matches".

On a less positive note, the band does appear to attempt to keep the pace going throughout the entire album, a mistake surely, leaving us with hardly any variation in energy and a couple of forced-sounding album fillers (tracks 6, 9 and 10 spring to mind). But over all this is still an enjoyable set of songs. It's just a huge pity that it was made in 1987, because the production values now sound quite dated and obviously a product of late-80s pop. If you like that sort of thing, fine, but it does sound quite jarring when compared with the bulk of Squeeze's work, and takes away - slightly - from the enjoyment you get from listening to it.

This said, it was a huge hit, and in my opinion rightly so. It contains one of their more enduring singles, and when taken in the context of their previous two albums demonstrates that there was certainly still life in the ageing dogs yet!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
1987 proved to be a great year for Squeeze. They enjoyed a big hit in both the UK and the US with the manic single 'Hourglass' and its parent album 'Babylon & On' still ranks as the bands biggest selling original record. Slickly recorded at the Hit Factory this is the sound of a group desperately trying to break back into the big time.
This being the work of messers Difford and Tilbrook its full of smart lyrics, giant pop hooks and fully realised beat group arrangements. The only thing it's lacking is the emotion and soul that previous albums such as Eastside Story and Argybarby posessed in spades.
The highlights - 'Hourglass', 'Tough Love', Cigarette Of A Single Man' and 'Footprints' are as good as anything the band recorded. But much of the rest borders on the bland - intelligent catchy bland, but bland nevertheless.
A better place to start is the magnificent 'Some Fantastic Place' or the hit strewn 'Eastside Story'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I Love Squeeze and this is another of South London's finest. Typical eighties but some great tunes by brilliant musicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
Not one of the bands strongest albums, with only one gem for me but they are still a great group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
One of the best albums recorded by a UK band.
Great songs backed by great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
I have always loved this album? Maybe it was the time (ah, such fond memories of great times) but I never tire of this CD. From the opening "Hourglass" to the closing "Some Americans" it's just so hook laded with the familiarly strong lyrics, it's bliss. I can't help but songalong and all those harmonies. Glorious.

"Trust Me To Open My Mouth" is classic Squeeze, "Striking Matches" likewise. I love the upbeat feel of "The Prisoner" yet it's such as a sad and confronting lyric. "Hourglass" is singalong heaven, and the sugary sweet Yank-bashing of "Some Americans" is priceless. I'm going to give this CD another spin right now!

I do love all of Squeeze but this album as always hit the spot for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Received in good time and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
this cd is full of songs which puts squeeze up with the best. well penned an good music babylon an on is one of albums you could own .few singles but there's more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)