Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
Jeff Beck Group
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 March 2016
'JEFF BECK GROUP' aka 'THE ORANGE ALBUM' (from the picture of the titular fruit above the band's name) and it's predecessor 'ROUGH & READY' occasionally get a bad rap due to the sound quality of the original albums and ensuing CD's in later years. Sony Music Japan have now put that issue to rest with their Blu-Spec CD2 reissues. Although some of the original recording anomalies are present, both albums now sound clearer with much better definition. like different recordings. The Blu-Spec CD2 CD's play in regular CD players, it's just a new mastering algorithm based on Blu-Ray tech that increases sound quality. This version of Beck's band, Bob Tench (vocals), Max Middleton (piano), Clive Chaman (bass) and the late great Cozy Powell (drums) played a more down & dirty funky and soulful brand of rock, with Beck's guitar accompaniments weaving, stinging, and growling like a caged animal. There's no reason to pass these up any more......

TRACK LISTING:
1. Ice Cream Cakes
2. Glad All Over
3. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
4. Sugar Cane
5. I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel for You
6. Going Down
7. I Got to Have a Song
8. Highways
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2008
Crazy, crazy, crazy. January 2008 and no review of this album? I discovered this one almost by accident, when a friend gave me his vinyl copy to sell. So good that i decided to keep it for myself. Subsequently became majorly difficult to track down in cd form.

Jeff Beck.....a maverick genius. This album, produced by Steve Cropper, using a group which featured long-term collaborator Max Middleton on keyboards and Cozy Powell on drums. The album kicks off pleasingly with the ridiculously-titled "Ice Cream Cakes" and keeps on rocking with "Glad All Over". Up next is the Bob Dylan cover, "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You". For me, it's one of my all-time favourite Jeff Beck moments. Here's a guy who knows when to take a back-seat and play some nice backing guitar licks, before launching into a perfectly-judged two-part solo. "Sugar Cane" is a bit weaker, but "I Can't Give Back The Love I Feel For You" features more great guitar work.

"Going Down" gets the original second side of the LP going very nicely, before the slightly inferior "I Gotta Have A Song". The album then comes to an end with what are, possibly, two of Jeff's best compositions. "Highways" and the great "Definitely Maybe" bring things to a truly satisfying close, except for the fact that Max Middleton's keyboard work is cruelly truncated at the end of both.

Track this album down, whatever you do!

PS. Got this on at the moment. Does this one rock! Jeff's guitar playing is inspired. Much more than on the "Rough And Ready" predecessor. The good news is that this album can be acquired as part of the Original Classics five-pack product.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2009
I think Definitely Maybe is the best track ever laid down by Jeff Beck. It was great to get this again after 30+ years! Jeff Beck is possibly one of the best guitarists in the world.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2015
Another Jeff Album for the collection surely the Greatest Guitarist of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2015
I used to have this on vinyl, still great. A much under-rated guitarist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2015
Classic album. very prompt delivery from seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2014
Excellent, especially "Going Down"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2016
Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2014
A must have album for Jeff Beck fans,otherwise nothing special.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Truth
£5.32
Wired
£6.15

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)