Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2004
Well first of all, if you really liked ...And Out Come The Wolves and Life Won't Wait, then don't expect this to be much similar! Rancid (2000) - as it's known due to Rancid already having another self-titled album - is a record full of fine scream-along hardcore, with the average song clocking in well under 2 minutes.
The opening track Don Giovanni kicks the album off to a good start, lasting only 38 seconds before bursting straight into the ultra-angry Disgruntled.
It's not all screams and shouts though - songs such as Let Me Go, Radio Havana, Rwanda and Black Derby Jacket will for sure make you sing along with them in no time (well that's if you can reach Matt Freeman's low notes that he sings in Black Derby Jacket anyway!).
A great thing about this album is how the singing is spread out pretty well - Lars Frederiksen, Tim Armstrong and Matt Freeman each have very different types of voices to each other and this gives the album a nice mixture. Of course, as you'd expect in any Rancid album, Matt Freeman's bass playing is completely out of this world! If you thought his solo in Maxwell Murder from Out Come The Wolves was good, well you aint heard nothing until you hear the masterpiece of four-stringing soloing that takes place during Axiom.
The thing I really like about this album, and I suppose, the thing that seperates it from other Rancid records, is how there isn't a quiet or slightly more laid-back moment throughout. Right from Don Giovanni through to the brilliant GGF, this album is full of pure, fast-paced, punk energy. And with 22 songs in less than 40 minutes, there really isn't any room for dull moments.
Best tracks - Let Me Go, Dead Bodies, Antennas, Black Derby Jacket, Young Al Capone, GGF
Most impressive moment - the aforementioned bass solo by Matt Freeman in Axiom
There, I've told you all you pretty much need to know - now go buy, buy, buy!!!!!!!! (oh, and if there any other rancid albums you aint got, go buy them too - it's all good!)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2001
Fans of pop-punk beware, this IS the real thing.
One of Americas best and most talented bands has returned and the material on this cd is enough to make your stereo short circuit.
Their new offering is far harder than any of their others, energy filled guitar riffs, awe inspiring bass solos and Tim armstrongs vocals make this hard to beat.
The cd starts off with Don giovani, all 46 secs of it and after that listeners are in for a treat, the best songs being RWANDA, RADIO HAVANA, DEAD BODIES, POISON and AXIOM (mega bass solo) to name a few. There new material almost falls into the hardcore punk catagories but do not let this put you off, if you like any of their other stuff drop everything and buy this now.
This album gives pop-punk a swift kick in the balls!!.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2002
This is Rancid's first release on Hellcat Records (owned by Tim Armstrong the bands guitarist singer and primary songwriter). Tim wrote all of the songs on this record with Matt contributing to two songs and Lars four. It is "harder" than past Rancid releases but still sticks to the same catchy guitar riffs and basslines. A must for any real punk fan. So don't go and buy some cheesy pop-punk... buy some real punk. Songs to watch out for: "It's Quite Alright", "Black Hawk Down", "Loki", "Radio Havana"... AS Rancid would say "See Ya In The Pit!"
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
This was the first Rancid album that I bought because at the time none of the others appealed to me. I was only interested in balls out hardcore delivered at 100mph and this was the first Rancid album for me that delivered. I must add that over the last 10 years or so I've bought all of their albums and most have grown on me.

Anyway, on to this one... The first track sets the standard here - short, fast and angry - and the vast majority of the album follows the same style with a few exceptions (Rwanda, Black Derby Jacket, Radio Havana, etc). As mentioned in other reviews, Tim, Lars and Matt have very different vocal styles and they all share frontman duties which for me has made this a very different hardcore record. Tim=snotty, Lars=gravelly and Matt=throaty hollar. Guitars are buzzsaw fast, drums very tight and the bass lines are mind blowing.

Standout tracks for me are Corruption, Axiom, Meteor of War, Reconciliation and GGF although if I'm honest I never skip tracks so I really do like all of them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2002
This was the first Rancid album I got and it really got me into hardcore punk rock. Really different from their earlier releases and a lot faster. The average song length is probably around 1.30 mins but thats all you need for these songs. The music is very catchy and you'll soon be singing those politically inspired lyrics. Overall this album is brutally fast and a great slice of punk rock.
Highlights: Its Quite Alrite, Poison, Rwanda, Antenna's, Radio Havanna and Black Derby Jacket.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
I really enjoyed their previous LPs but this one seemed like the band trying to renew their 'punk' credentials at the expense of creativity and good tunes. I could forgive their clichéd punks-on-postcards toughguy 'punk' demeanour (middle finger raised to every camera lens) when they were putting out decent songs but it ultimately became a bit sad and repetitive, and they managed to firmly establish themselves as the Eagles of 'punk' rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2002
Jezus, this is a bloody fantastic album! 22 tracks, 38 minuets of a full on, non stop, hardcore noise. Opener "Don Giovani" certainly sets the scene well, combining the rabid shouting and screeching noises that all hardcore punk bands try to capture, and here Rancid have certainly captured it. In under 40 seconds. Next, before track 1 has chance to finish, track 2,Disgruntled, is suddenly vomited forth from the speakers and it is simply one of the finest Rancid songs ever. It dosnt exactly have the wonderful tune and sing along chourus as old favourites "Radio" or "Roots Radicals" but in exactly 60 seconds Tim Armstrong growls, Lars Frederiksen shouts, Matt Freemans hand must start bleeding and Brett Reeds drums simply threaten to completely fall apart at any second. Combine this with the kind of guitars that are so frenzied they should be locked up and you've got a truly classic "song". To be honest I could go on like this for each track on the album. I wont but i'll say that every track is amazing with the highlights including "Rattlesnake", "Radio Havanna", "Poison", "Dead Bodies" and "Corruption" to name but a few. No longer will Rancid be compared to The Clash and no longer will people speak of hardcore punk in the past tense. This album is here now so if you want to hear the spirit of the likes of Conflict or Black Flag together with a sound that manages to be both traditional and origonal, this gem is for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
This self-titled release is a speeding burst of energy that concentrates on an area to Rancid's sound that had yet been focused on to such a drastic extent. To think that this is the next release on from `Life Wont Wait' is slightly crazy - the reggae/ska dimension is virtually lost and replaced with pure head-on punk, tinged with a street, underground sound. It's aggressive and the perfect comeback from the mainstream punkers.

Opener `Don Giovanni' is a slick, confrontational introduction that bursts out at a catatonic speed to set the pulse racing and from there on in it doesn't let its hold slip for a second. Each track flashes past at a manic speed, each boasting of the trademark catches previous Rancid material has. The two-year silence from the band in terms of new material has now been broken with a loud bang and has additionally been proven to be well worth it.

Outstanding tracks such as the brutal `Disgruntled', brilliant `Poison', incredibly catchy `Rwanda', `Rattlesnake' and the roaring `Axiom', with the trademark slick bass solo Matt Freeman is known for, are a few of the great tracks that stand out, though Freeman's lead vocal (on tracks such as `Black Derby Jacket') is a touchy area that is purely down to personal preference. His singing is a pretty much a love/hate phenomenon and so might taint the listeners view on the actual songs he takes lead on. This shouldn't be the case as no matter what your views are on his singing, the songs are just as strong as the others.

Perhaps for those who have little knowledge on Rancid, this would be a hard album to digest at once; it must be said that the sheer adrenaline and power that races through the entire album produces a blink-and-miss-it experience. Furthermore, it could be emphasised what this record is about but it really isn't needed. All you need to know is that it is perfect punk mayhem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2001
Not since Rancid's third album,'...And Out Come the Wolves'(1996), have the boundaries of punk been shattered!Back then, Rancid pushed the ska-punk sound to an almost mainstream level, unachieved by any other similar sounding band, into the world of MTV and attractions from major record labels. 1998's 'Life won't wait' saw a progression of the ska elements and leave the punk behind and even including the odd ballad. Were Rancid heading in the same direction of Green Day? The pop-punk explosion of 1999 with The Offspring and Blink 182 seemed to leave Rancid behind. When Rancid revealed they would be releasing this record on Tim Armstrong's own Hellcat label, people either expected it to be either another ska/experimental record or something to pop orientated to be released on the mighty Epitaph label. How wrong these people were! What was to follow no-one could have predicted. This is the heaviest, loudest, dirtiest album the band have done-all the elements of a PUNK band are here. The basslines are similar to the first album but even more unbelievable, the guitars sound like 'Nihilism' but crazier and Lars Fredericksen takes his vocals to new horizons. Tim Armstrong's gruff, gritty voice remains as good as ever on tracks such as 'Let me go' and 'Don Giavanni' and every track just rolls onto the next without time for a breather. It is just like being in a Rancid pit for 35 minutes-you come out of it breathless! It is just a shame that most people will go onto believe that Blink182 are the best punk band around at the moment with Rancid's non-mainstream recording. Rancid have pushed punk into the 21st Century.It will now be interesting to see what other bands responses will be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2004
After reading just about every review on every Rancid release I had thoroughly classed myself as an '...And Out Come The Wolves' person. But then I bought this album and what can I say other than wow. If you are one of those people that I was and have read reviews on this album and not wanted to get it because 'the songs are short' then I suggest you quickly reconsider. It is like a different breed of Rancid music and just as you fell in love with Wolves you will fall in love with this. More hardcore punk, those Brett Reed drumbeats will be thumping through your head for months. Personal favourites include Disgruntled, Blackhawk Down, Black Derby Jacket and of course the amazing Axiom if only for the mind boggling bass solo by Matt Freeman. An absolute must for any Rancid fan and I would recommend this to anyone looking to get into punk.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)