Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 February 2008
This tells the story of the Coyotes, a small town Texan high school football team. For Moxon (Jason Van Der Beek), things are going slowly. He is the second choice quarter back who spends most games on the bench. However, following a freak injury to the star quarter back, Moxon finds himself replacing him, and perfoms well. After a series of stirring perfomances, Moxon begins to lose interest in football and focuses instead on university. However, the team coach wants his perfect season, and threatens Moxon that if he doesn't play the way he likes, he will sabotage his college transcripts. The coach also drugs players and forces them to play when injured.

The film is pretty good. Jon Voigt's perfomance as the demonic, ranting coach is the crowning glory of the film. Heroes' star Ali Later also shines as the scheming, vixen like cheerleading captain. Van Der Beek's performance however is a little sloppy, and his fake Texan accent is a little annoying. Other than that, the film is a good teen flick, and has a good soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2002
On seeing VB, i thought it'd just be another boring teen film... same plots, same characters. but i was very pleasantly surprised when it turned out to be in fact just a cool film... its hard to describe really. John Voight's performance was impressive to say the least... i've always found him to be a great actor, and this film's performance certainly didn't let him down. the plot line was strong as well - fun, deep - really got you into the film unlike many other movies. Although the ending may have been slightly predictable, it was the obvious choice to make, and left the viewer with a good feeling. i even felt a bit sorry for John Voight! The great story line and great directing, along with a amazing soundtrack (Foo Fighters and Greenday, to name just a couple), leads to this being an amazing film, i would recommend to almost anyone...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
Too much teen entertainment focuses on the adult subjects of life and love and totally miss the most important thing that a teen should focus on. Enjoying life as much as they can while they can.

This fabulous film gives you a little insight into the world of a High School football team in the football mad state of Texas. It was never going to win any oscars but will entertain you guaranteed. James Van Der Beek gets away from his brooding teen Dawson from Dawson's Creek and shows a lighter side to a teenage male in America. Don't get me wrong there is a fair share of emotion, tragedy and romance but it is neatly balanced with humour, fun and excitement.

If only kids would watch this and live their lives a little more care free, than watching other teen dramas and trying to grow up too soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
I really enjoyed watching this film,even though i know very little about American Football. The films storyline focuses on a football teams last few games of the season with their new quarterback Jonathan Moxon,played by James Van Der Beek (of Dawson's Creek Fame). The film is full of the expected Amercian ideals of glory and community spirit.This film really lifts your spirits,definately one to buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I only bought this film because Paul Walker is in it and didn't expect much but really enjoyed the whole film. All of the cast are excellent, the story has good pace and doesn't drag at all. There are funny moments mixed with touching ones. A great film well worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
Great film with some great American football action. Shows the pressure put on young High school sports player by both the communities and colleges. If you like Friday Night Lights etc... you'll love this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2000
This film tells us the story of the troubles of teenage life and the demands but on us by adults. Dawsons Creeks James van der Beek stars with some new upcoming actors Amy Smart and Ali Larter(Whipped Cream). Jon Voight is good, there are some laughs on the way and a good soundtrack. Awesome!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
This is not the best American football film that you'll ever see but it does have very funny moments. It gives a alternative veiw on the high school hero that is the star Quaterback. You get to see the zero to hero transformation of the long time replacement Qb and how he deals with it. The game action is good, you get too see the action from all sorts of positions. there are characters to love and some to hate, even if the end of the film is very predictable it is enjoyable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
would deal with again
great price
quick delivery
would recommend to friends and family
was a great gift
a happy family memeber
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
It was in German and as I cannot speak the language I failed to watch the DVD.I expect it was my fault for not reading the small print when ordering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)