Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
97
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2015
Dreadful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This review will focus on the AV quality as, if you are reading this and considering a purchase, you already probably know the story and (like me) appreciate it.

Black Rain is never going to be the film you put on to showcase your home cinema set-up. But that does not imply that there is anything wrong with Paramount's transfer. On the contrary. Scott and DoP Jan de Bont employ a typically late 80's European style of lighting that you simply don't see much of these days in modern digitally-shot movies. There is a lot of back-light, a lot of diffusion and a lot of use of smoke and steam. So the image is never going to provide the level of "pop" beloved by some Blu-Ray enthusiasts. Black levels are strong however, and detail is good when it needs to be (e.g. close-ups of Michael Douglas). I watched the movie on a 47" display and the Blu-Ray gave me a rich and cinematic image that I was very happy with and which I imagine is pretty true to the original theatrical presentation.

Paramount provides a choice of Dolby Digital 5.1, 5.1 EX and 6.1 DTS surround mixes. Provided your set-up can handle it, the one to go for is the 6.1 DTS mix. It may not be lossless, but crank it up a little and this is a great soundtrack which brought a smile to my lips. Dialogue is clear, there is loads of ambience, and Hans Zimmer's score is spread wide across the front soundstage, "pinging" from the far corners of my listening room. Very nice!

In summary, if you enjoy thrillers and like Ridley Scott, Michael Douglas and Andy Garcia, then this is hard to resist. Add-in strong video and audio quality and a nice set of extras, and you have something of a 'no-brainer' purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
love this film, i remember watching it when i was a kid! only remembering bits of it until i watched it all again it came back to me how good the film is, michael douglas is top class as always!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Detective Nick Conklin (Michael Douglas) is under investigation for corruption. He and his partner Charlie Vincent (Andy Garcia) are having a drink in a bar when they see leading members of the local Mafia dining together with key figures in the Japanese Yakusa. Suddenly, a young Japanese bursts into the restaurant and after a violent verbal exchange with his fellow countrymen, stabs one of them. Conklin and Vincent try to capture the assailant but he escapes. When he is later captured, the two detectives are charged by their superior, Captain Oliver (John Spencer), with delivering him back to his homeland. They hand him over at Tokyo airport only to find that the `policemen' to whom he has been surrendered are bogus. The rest of this very exciting movie is about the efforts the American detectives make to recapture their suspect, evading the Japanese police (as they are acting without authority) and trying to find out what the fight in the restaurant was all about. The head of the local Yakusa claims that they do not forge counterfeit U.S. currency for profit but to repay America for the atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki that produced days of `black rain' in their wake. The Japanese dialogue is given subtitles when the information is relevant. A good movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
The argument often used against Sir Ridley Scott, of style overtaking substance, is often invoked when describing Black Rain, which I think is a load of s**** personally. We're talking about Hollywood here if you failed to notice.

Yes the politics and haircuts are abit dated, by now standards. But there is still a whole load of talent to enjoy in these 120 minutes.

Ridley Scott movies are a brand. A stamp of quality. And this one doesn't disappoint, even 20 odd years later.

The exoticism of Japan (and Nee York too) are lovingly manifested in the dazzling cinematography and Hans Zimmer's spot on score. Plus there are top notch performances from Douglas, Garcia and some of Japan's finest semi modern acting lineage.

When you think of what the 80s did to cinema, in that context, Black Rain is a virgin birth by comparison to many examples from that period.

I'm biased, I admit it. This film conjures fond memories of being plonked infront of the Telly with my dad when I was far too young to hear someone say 'I like to be kissed before I'm f***ed'.

The blu ray is great in that it provides a long over looked making of special with all the key players. The transfer & image quality are fantastic too.

Heavens boys protect you Sir Ridley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Very much of its era where rebellious Detective Sweary (equiped with fearocious mullet) curses his way to a successful pursuit of exotic nasties (the Japanese were exotic in those pre-globalisation days). Lots of Ridley Scott glam, lots of things being thrown about, and a game attempt at grasping Japanese mores. It appears a bit daft now, but it's good fun - I lean towards Rising Sun though. You'll not go wrong with either.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Absolutely a waste of time and money it will not play in anything and shouldnt be advertised or purchased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
For those already reading this review and looking at the title, you will probably already know the plot and acting performance by Michael Douglas and Andy Garcia. I have long been a fan of this film with it being a typical dark thriller that Ridley Scott was directing at this time. I previously owned the DVD and was immensely disappointed in the presentation and quality of the DVD. After reading an excellent review at Blu Ray Hi Def Digest, I decided to renew my purchase on Blu Ray. Like Bladerunner, this movie has had the love it deserves in the transfer and the experience with vastly improved picture and sound (DTS-MA) is on another level. Well worth purchase but do make sure you get the "All Region" version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
A classic action thriller set in Japan with great performances from American and Japanese actors alike. I found ordering the DVD was easy, delivery was on time and the packaging was secure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Great move and great edition. Only complain I can have about ultra cheap AMARAY used (US Imports "made in Mexico" are from significantly thinner plastic and "reduced" on weight what makes it not that solid as I wish. Especially in comparison with EU AMARAYs. Package of subtitles (EN of course as well) included. What else?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)