Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2004
Good games are very hard to find today. However FF7 is more than just a good game. It is the type of game that will keep you engrossed for hours (my personal record is 112 hours on one file), and has a great deal of replay value. Yes it is a couple of years old, and the graphics look quite dated compared to newer games, the gamplay is unbelievable.
The story is your typical RPG plot: Big bad man wants to take over/destroy the world, with the main character being part of some resistance group etc.
I must admit, the first 30 mins of the game is pretty boring, and can get very annoying when you die and have to redo parts of it, but that is just the same as any other RPG
The real genius in FF7 is the whole battle and weapon system. Not only does the character level up, but so does the character's special attacks and his/her "materia" (an equipped item that allows you to cast spells), so your spells become more powerful.
Final Fantasy 7 is a really brilliant game. My copy got scratched beyond repair, and I must admit that I really miss being able to play it.
I would reccomend anyone to buy this game as it really is just that good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
I had only seen all the other Final Fantasy game prior to FF7 & they lacked in graphics & storyline, although this one lacks a little in Graphics, th storyline makes up for everything! I see Fina Fantasy VII to be 1 of the best games ever created, with the best storyline ever & there's no rating that compare to the rating it deserves! If you havn't bought it yet, buy it a.s.a.p!!! before it's too late
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2007
Oh come on guys, you know the drill, it's Final Fantasy 7. During its release it was hailed as one of the best games ever made, hell some claim it's THE best game ever made. Even today everyone still remembers it well, spawning its own movie based on the aftermath featuring all your favourite characters from the game.

I was fairly young when I played it, probably in the low teens so I found the storyline almost impossible to understand, it was a bit like Alice in Wonderland, gave me quite a head trip. My friend (huge fan of this) tried to explain it to me but even today I find it a tad confusing.

What else can I say, it's got a deep storyline, characters with a wealth of depth as you confront the past of each one including your own, a frantic bloodthirsty battle system, and an event known as the saddest death of all time. It's a part of video game history so if you're a history collector when it comes to games, this is certainly one to have on your shelves.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
unfair too rate as it doesnt work with windows 8 so avoid buying for new computers. that being said the service from the supplier was first rate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
this has to be the most fantastic game that i have ever playes. The storyline is superb, the futuristic elements are believable, giving some credit to the fantsy element of course. But none the less the comcept of a future of near dependance on machinery is definitive. The actual gameplay is ideal for anyone who wants to spend some time in battle and using endless possibilities to better the character level. The materia concept is a bit tricky at first (Heck i am still learning things myself) but is easily picked up and very rewarding. This game took me a year and a half to complete in full. (doing everything + i mean everything) it is frustrating if you don't use your head. So if you prefer to rush into things then stop now. Using the thing above your neck really pays off here. If you don't own this game THEN GET IT. In my opinion this is far superior to any other FF game. Top trumps any day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2003
Final Fantasy VII (PC/PSOne) is arguably the most widely acclaimed videogame of all time, in steep contest The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time (N64).
SquareSoft - the makers of the entire Final Fantasy series, and other brilliant titles - have always been reknowned for developing games that constantly push the boundaries of gameplay, longevity, and graphics. Final Fantasy was no exception; when it was released. Now its graphics look very dated, but the breathtaking size of the game, and the immense attension today make modern games pale in comparison.
The PC version is far less polished than the PSOne version (the system the game was originally developed for) but only in a graphical sense. The immense storyline, that rivals every other game-storyline in history, is so deep that you begin to feel you know the characters from half-an-hour's play.
Final Fantasy VII for the PC is a definate slice of gaming history. It is unlikely to be surpassed for its quality in every area from its top-quality orchestral score, to its high-end (at the time) FMV animations. Final Fantasy VII, Zelda: Ocarina Of Time, and Super Mario 64 are benchmarks for their respective genres; benchmarks that are so hard to reach (let alone beat) that not owning any one of them would be a crime.
I would definitely recommend that if you don't own the PSOne version of Final Fantasy VII already, you should NEVER let an opportunity to own it for the PC slip you by; it is VERY rare now. Nobody can calm themself a true gamer until they have experienced the brilliance of this title.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
Classic game stands apart for all others for many reasons played it when it was out a lifetime ago,still good but can be modded and fixed,To make it HD and play at much higher res for endless hours of play on modern OS's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2001
This game has everything you expect from Final Fantasy. The plot is very interesting, and definitely not linear, with the plot twisting and turning, and you are never quite sure of anything. The magic system is well done, using materia which you put on your weapons and armor, and each has so many slots. They give you magic spells, or abilitiies such as steal, or enchance certain stats. This is complex enough to be interesting, but not so that it is too complicated to work out. ALso the magic gets gradually more complex as the game goes on, when you get more materia and slots. Most of the special abilities are now in materia, so anyone can steal, but faster characters do it better, and certain characters seem to be better at healing.
The music is spot on, with some of the locations being foreboding. The atmosphere is very well created, with a clear sense of danger or suspense where needed.
It might take a while to get into this game, but within the first few hours of play a lot happens, and this games draws you in.
I have some minor gripes, such as the graphics, but the plot is the important thing and the plot is particularly deep, and has a number of treads in it.
I would recommend this game if you have enough time to spend on it, as it will absolve a lot of free time.
This is not a perfect game, but probably is one of my favourites. If you like Final Fantasy Games then you won't be disappointed, and this might be a game to try to see if you do like them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2003
Ok, I would just like to say that this game is fantastic. Unfortunately, I have not been able to play it in years, through leaving home and not having a play station. However, if I had the money I would and I advise anyone who has the money to invest in it. It will keep you amused for hours, with a cool plot and great characters that you eventually empathise with. It also looks cute and is very cool!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
Well I wanted to add final fantasy 7 and 8 to my collection, two of the best games I've ever played, I suggest anyone who can afford these ridiculous prices to buy it, classic gaming shame about the prices. (£50 for a new copy? hahahaha )
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)