Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2000
The Trance Nation series appears to be a pop album album in comparison to Gatecrasher's deeper trance sound. Although Fery Corsten can play excellent live sets, his musical talent is wasted in sticking a new song together every 3 and a half minutes. In comparision, GSS manages to progressively wander its musical path from start to finish, inteligently combining the energy of thumping beats that gently fade away into uplifting melodies.
In comparision to Disco-tech, GSS has alot more darker beats to it, but it can never be discribed as heavy as there is always a melody waiting in the background to burst out and give you something to hum to!
Therefore a truely excellent album for the trance inclined clubber who has had enough of cheesy trance but does not want to get all industrial sounding.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2001
This is definatly one of gatecrasher's best albums, even being a massive fan, this probebly gets first place, as it is one you can listen to all the way through without skipping tracks (apart from moby, which shouldn't be in any trance album.) CD1 focuses more on the progressive art of trance and CD2 is more dancy but doesn't lack fantastic vocals like 'Terra Firma-Adventures of' and 'Delerium-Silence' along with excellent mixing and a brillient finish with 'Miss Shiva-Dreams' (which is very cleverly made,) all round, a fabulous compilation which you will never get tired of hearing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2000
different from the other GC albums, which tended to be quite commercialised. GSS has hit back with a contrast to the usual GC album styling, GSS is deep, dark and very, very good. Initally people who aren't acustomed to this style of trance might be put off, but after listening to the cd a few times you'll realise that it was probably the best 15 quid you've spent in a while. Very Sasha and Digweed and very progressive.
If you liked Communicate and Global Underground then this will fit right in!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2000
Gatecrasher has again come out with a happening CD that will keep your ears pinned to the speaker for hours on end. Although this latest realease differs in style to the 2 previous Gatecrashers (disco-tech and red) their style of trance and ambience mixed into one is unmistakeable. The trademark of a great disk is to keep you listening and don't be fooled....you'll be hard pressed to tear yourself away from this one. Well Done Gatecrasher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2000
That's the word for this latest pumping release from Gatecrasher. Ive never bought a GC CD b4 but Ive listened to them. At first I thought I was going to hate this album BUT after listening to both CDs from beginning to end I loved it! This will serioulsy get you in the mood for clubbing as well as providing some more mellow tunes for your listening pleasure.
Check out the songs by Terra Ferma, esp. The Adventures of..., and also After Burn have two tunes on this album as well. There's a great mix of BTs Dreamin and the renowned Silence Delerium, plus some mad little numbers you've probably heard on the dancefloor - Embargo's Hystirie and Rheinkraft by Oliver Klein being two! Also get into Cygnus X's new one and PVDs Love from Above.
Great listening!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2000
As far as trance records go, this one is good. My first impression of the album was not so good as the first half of the first cd is very cruisy but as I kept listening, I found my head bobbing and half way through the second, I was almost bouncing around the room. Gatecrasher has brought out another great trance mix and I congratulate the DJ on his excellent choice of tunes and the superb mixing. This record takes you on a jorney through mellow, delicate sounds, right through to pumping up lifting trance. It's great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
Don't know if i'm the only one who sees the release date as February 2007.......Incase i'm not, i thought i'd just say that i got my copy of this back in 2000 - so it is 7 years past release.

And i'm in Australia, so we usually get our CD's well after they've been released over in Europe.

On a side note, this compilation did keep me entertained for hours on end, and its re-discovery has rekindled my love for trance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2000
Again, if your thinking of purchasing this cd because of the last gatecrasher release, then i think you might be a little bit disapointed with this one. Dont get me wrong, it good and its loud but lacks that something to make it a classic for your collection or car cd player! Some traxs stand out from the others, other trax seem only to be included to make up the time and the numbers. 3/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2000
Well for all it's worth, i think Gatecrasher have done it again but bigger and better! This is the best non-commercial CD for all you trance lovers and even hard house nutters! They have really captured the club onto 2 CD's and it challenges the meaning of Trance! All i can say now is, you'd better go and find a 5 star stereo in which to play it on! Well done Gatecrasher!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2000
Getcrasher = Big room trance with lots of strings and fancy breakdowns, right? Apparently not. This CD is full of the sort of forward thinking, mind melting stuff that keeps trance fun. Disinctly fewer breakdowns than expected and lots of fast, techy, wild trance. Gives Gatecrasher a good name and moves it away from the 'crasher kid cheesedom that seemed imminent. Nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse