Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
94
4.0 out of 5 stars
Being John Malkovich [DVD] [2000]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2017
Bizzare, Mental, Crazy, Funny
Not sure how on earth someone came up with this, fair play to Malco for doing this too! Must watch at least once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
There isn't any problem with the product. The DVD is okay, however, the delivery is PAINFULLY SLOW considering the size and weight of a DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
john is not good in the head
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2017
Malkovich malkovich. Malkovich malkovich malkovich malkovich.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
In those days, the movie was pretty good. If I had, I must find someone like the hero. I think I really fell in love with this movie, and I'll watch it a few times. I watched this video with my brother. The plot of the film feels very close to reality. The ending was good and I felt the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
I don't know why I love this film so much but I do. I've never been a great lover of arthouse, experimental films (or whatever I should call it) so it came as a great surprise to me that this one instantly became a favourite.

Perhaps it helps to admire both Johns Malkovich and Cusack, but I don't think it's essential. A fundamental requirement however, is an appreciation for originality, sound performances, and the ability to entirely divorce yourself from reality for a couple of hours. If you can meet any of this criterea you may just let this film into your heart. And it does have heart (albeit a twisted one), the blackest of humour, and a deep irony to it that will haunt you for days.

Maybe where this differs from other 'unique' films is that everything makes sense in the universe that's been created for you. The ending, whilst obviously not typical Hollywood fare, is deeply satisfying because of this. Despite its highly original premise, this is traditional story telling of the highest calibre. Why shouldn't there be a half floor in a building where employees over 3' have to walk stooped over? In a working environment like this, it becomes reasonable to suggest that there is a cupboard in the office which is actually a portal to another (famous) mind. Incidently, the exploitation of which can come to no good.

This film is a real gem - but I can't explain it in any way that would do it justice. I would have loved to have been a fly on the wall when its makers were trying to do just that, in order to get it made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Slow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
Not a comedy. Just a drama trying so hard to be different.
There is no main character, no one to actually root for.
And the film is nothing as it looks in any advertising of it. The pictures you see with all the John malkovich faces, well this happens in one scene for about 2 seconds. The rest of the film is just dark and dull and certainly not funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
THE FILM

The film itself is brilliant, there's no doubt about it. Original, funny, thought-provoking. The direction from Spike Jonze is flawless, as is Charlie Kaufman's script.
It's all been said before and there's not much point in repeating it, so I'll just say: it's a must-see.

THE DISC

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said about the Blu-Ray.
As is often the case with Universal's catalogue titles, quite a lot of Edge Enhancement has been applied to the film.
Because of this, there are noticeable (and distracting) halos around objects, which give the film a slightly digital and artificial look.
It also appears that DNR was used where it was not necessarily needed but it's not as obvious the EE.
Other than that, the transfer looks reasonably good, especially considering the film's murky colour palette.
On a more positive note, the DTS-HD MA soundtrack is solid and immersing.

While this release looks better than its DVD counterpart, it could have been more than just that without the unnecessary tinkering with the original film print.

-
-

Available audio tracks: English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1, French, Italian, German, Spanish DTS 5.1

Available subtitles: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Cantonese, Dutch, Greek, Icelandic, Korean, Portuguese, Traditional Mandarin
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)