Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
29
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2010
I first bought this film on VHS way back when it first came out, before the turn of the millenium, before Kid A and No Logo and the technological revolution of the '00's. At the time I watched it once, didn't like it and never watched it again. With some 12 years life experience behind me, plus another decades worth of Radiohead material come and gone I thought I'd buy the DVD and give it another go.

I 'get' what Gee is getting at with the way this film is made - not that it's particularly subtle. It's filmed in a stop-start, white noise, flashing lights, "the worlds moving too fast" kind of way, with layers of imagery and sound representing the emotional and spiritual turmoil the band are going through as they struggle to cope with the pressure of suddenly being the worlds biggest band. And it works. For a while. Then it starts to become a bit tedious and you start feeling as if you're waiting for something to happen - which never does. Essentially this film is a one trick pony, whilst the mood created is impressive it gets quite dull after a while, there's as much footage of buildings and transport as there is of the band, and the band footage itself consists of barely audible interviews and snippets of live songs that will be nothing new to any Radiohead afficionado.

It's a nice thing to own if you're a radiohead die hard, and its certainly filmed in a stylish way, but in reality it's not massively interesting and goes on for too long with nothing ever really happening. Pretty, but also pretty dull.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
It came earlier than was predicted by Amazon, which was good as I was rather excited to get it. Sadly I discovered that my Xbox will not play it (for some unknown reason) but I watched it on a laptop with good speakers, which allowed me to see that this film is brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2000
This is a VERY good video which shows some of the unreleased material which might be on the forthcoming album this year. This video shows Thom, Jonny, Ed, Phil, and Colin's endless interviews and photo shoots
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2000
This is pure art. Grant Gee provides you with a mind blowing experience with this Radiohead Film. Interviews with the band, new music, beginnings of new material and brilliant visuals make this a video that you'll watch over and over and over and over again. Then you'll watch it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2000
MPIE gives Radiohead fans a realistic glimpse into the lives of Colin, Jonny, Ed and Phil while on their 1998 tour to promote OKcomputer. I was truly amazed at the number of unreleased songs that were on the video (performed during soundchecks), including 'Follow Me Around' and 'How to Disappear Completly'. This is a great buy for any Radiohead fan. (Would also make a great gift. Wink, Wink)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2001
I couldn't believe that *not a single* complete song was actually in this DVD!
The chopped-up editing may be great for people with attention defficit, but not for me.
All in all, I wish I hadn't bought this DVD...
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
very original way of photographing, montage, a perfect historic document of this moment of this band, a lot of interesting sayings of Thom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
If you are a Radiohead fan or not this is a surreal insight into a band's life on tour-buy it now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
Bought this to replace my VHS copy. Looks and sounds great still; in fact it hasn't really aged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
this is a great music docu... you get to see some pieces in development, even the warming up before gigs is memorable..
the larger issue here is they have a gruelling schedule complete with press intrusion and phony dull interviewers and questions, sometimes they really detest it, i think they wouldnt mind discussing ther music if the questions were less ass kiss..however i dont feel sorry for them cos they are wadded and shud walk around happy as hell for creating some of the most fab albums ever-ok comp,hail to the theif , in rainbows etc etc
maybe, they would just like to skip the press and let the music speak for itself.
the docu is filmed beautifully with most of its location in the east of the world..
get it, its kinda peacefu;-vibe to watch,mixed with stars who dont want so much attention chaos...
ps-always thought was weird after highschool one day saw radioh on mtv playin creep at ther jocks cheerleader attention seeking dancing pool party..they looked outta place but the young american bubbleheads danced away n the whole scene seemed ironic-radioheads sound etc seemed to be aganst the corporate person and speak of not belonging- im a creep weirdo wht the f-in hell am i doing here at the mtv beach house playing to loadsa kids who are oblivious,'i dont belong here'- seems like an outsiders song more fitting in some dark northern uk club..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)