Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
The Very Best Of Louis Armstrong x Double CD
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 November 2012
It's not often that Verve get it wrong, but this time, they have. Yes. it's a double CD, but it's not very good for all that because it's not really reflective in a consistently good way about this incredible player's sheer virtuosity. There's way too much filler material here for me and far too much that you'll hear everywhere else on any other Louis Armstrong album. With Verve's reputation and past quality I really hoped for something a lot, lot better. This is decidedly average, at best. Don't bother with it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2017
Audio tape replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2015
Well pleased, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
Good cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2016
first class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
Great songs in his spectacular edition a must to have if you are a fan, as lots of great oldies we all remember!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2011
Excellent range of the greatest hits. Due to the age they are not up to the minute digital perfect recordings but are as expected. Didn't want to get loads of albums - just wanted a taster and this does the job
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2007
So often "the very best of" albums can be disappointing. That was not the case with this marvellous Satchmo compilation. I have no other albums by this marvellous man and wanted something definitive with everything I'd ever heard of by him in one place. This double CD gave me exactly what I wanted.

You only have to look at the track listings to start to smile or feel nostalgic. There are so many truely great songs; classic Satchmo tracks and less well known but equally loved tunes. There are great duets, many of which have a really fresh immediate feel with bits of conversation and banter between the artists as they sing.

Some of the recordings have the hiss and crackle of old LPs. I personally think this adds to the charm of music from a bygone era.

My father sings along, my children know the words, it is timeless and knows no boundaries. I love this CD and heartily recommend it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)