Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2000
Crazy taxi is a game that makes the dreamcast worth buying. A superb game that should be owned by everyone. If you like games like Driver or Toca then this mindless driving game will appeal to you.
The game is not just mindless it has a detailed arcade and original modes. You can ride with four taxi drivers in two cities. With great background music from the offspring and detailed graphics this will be a game that will live in the memory.
BUY THIS GAME, this game will always be fun.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2000
This game is simply amazing! You'll never put it down. The graphics are superb when you consider the speed the game is played at. The music by The Offspring is great and well suited to the game. The shrieks from your passengers makes you want to scare them even more and even chuck some out before arriving at their destination.
Licences are hard but challenging, especially for Mum & Dad!! However keep at it and you'll get there. Easy controls make it very easy to pick up and drive.
A real family game with lots of excitement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2000
If there are any DC owners left out there without this game then, let me tell you, you're missing out. This has to be THE best DC game currently available, and the sole reason I purchased a Dreamcast. Don't be fooled into thinking that this is a short lived game, it's not. You'll be playing it for many a moon. The cars handle realistically and there are several very enjoyable sub-games. "Just one more game" you'll being saying to yourself in a bid to beat your highest score. Top notch. Get this game!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
I was impressed by the fact that this game was pretty much exactly as the arcade version . This obviously has its plus points in terms of excellent graphics , a snappy game idea with instant appeal , and a 'just one more go' factor about it . Unfortunately it also suffers from the fact that the instant appeal can wear out after a short period of time without any feeling of accomplishment beyond a slightly higher score than previously attained . Nevertheless , the game is to be recommended as a classic .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
Despite a few years passing, Crazy Taxi is still as enjoyable as it ever was. Even with its arcade roots Crazy Taxi manages to have surprising depth within, providing a lot of scope for mastery of both the cities and the handling of the cars. Going from only lasting 5 minutes in arcade timed mode to over 2 hours once I'd learned the intricacies of the city to get the full appreciation of this game is going to take time and dedication. It also has that vital "just one more go" factor when trying to beat previous high scores.

The crazy box which is a series of mini games that work well as a break from the game and a high score challenge with friends are all fun to play and some are exceptionally challenging. They really help players to get a grip on the key moves of the taxi which are essential to racking up high scores.

Graphically although obviously not up to today's standards everything is solid, the framerate is smooth, the collision detection is spot on and the bright almost cartoony graphics are still as appealing as they were back in 2000.

The soundtrack consists of four songs, 2 by The Offspring and 2 by Bad Religion which I'm fans of both (in fact this game got me into Bad Religion.) They match the game perfectly although it would've been nice if those who aren't fans of the skater punk/rock genre were catered for with a bit more variety and only four songs does get a bit repetitive on extended periods of play.

Even now there are few games within this sub-genre of racing that come close to matching this for playability, design, control and challenge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
Another title remembered fondly from the arcades recreated faithfully on the Dreamcast.

Crazy Taxi is actually a lot of fun, and is one of the first 3D "sandbox" city games.

Your objective is to pick up fares and get them to their destinations ASAP, usually by ignoring the rules of the road and taking the most direct route (even if it is over grass and through car parks!)

The emphasis is purely on fun, and not on driving simulation (would you really want a game driving a cab stuck in busy traffic ferrying businessmen to meetings or drunk people home from the bar?) but it makes it pick up and play.

You do have to get used to the Forward / Neutral / Reverse gearing, but once you get the hang you can use reverse as an additional brake.

The product placement from the arcade is present, so you can take people to KFC and Tower Records.

You have the option of playing the arcade version, where time counts down and is increased upon a successful fare, or you can play a timed mission to obtain the most money in so many minutes.

Soundwise, bands such as the Offspring provide addictive tunes. The passenger's comments can get a bit irritating after a while though.

The "Crazy Box" addition allows you to practice stunts, although some of these can be very annoying at first until you get the hand of it.

Overall another great addition to a Dreamcast collection. You may also want to consider Crazy Taxi 2, which is more of the same but set in a fictional New York-style setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
some games don't need a well developed story, some games don't need complex and involving controls- and there is no better example 3d example of this than CrazyTaxi. This game givesd you one objective - GO AS FAST ASYOUCAN! and it works! it is high octane adrenalined fuelled pleasure all the way. one of the most fun dreamcast experiences ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2000
Wow! When I rented a Dreamcast with this game, I was thinking that it might just be a Driver rip-off, but how wrong was I! This absolutely destroys Driver in terms of playibility(and graphics, and sound, and control system, the list could go on forever!).The game includes an arcade mode(which is what gamers got in the arcade), an original mode(similar to arcade, in a different city) and a crazy box mode(a great party mode), whereas Driver has a couple of different modes based on the missions in its main game. Sell that old Playstation, your knackered toys, anything you can find to get this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2000
I'd not seen this game in the arcade before I bought it so I had little idea what I was letting myself in for. I wasn't disappointed - this game is hilarious!
The combination of fast driving, detailed city graphics, heaving traffic, screaming passengers and thumping music keeps you coming back for more. There are nice touches such as when you drive into the sea at the beach, you encounter shoals of fish, snorkellers and even a killer whale!
Crazy Taxi plays better with the Race Controller although the basic controller is fun with a vibration pack! Thoroughly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2001
I have only recently discovered the wonderful world of Dreamcast, and Crazy Taxi was one of the first games I purchased for my new console.
What can I say? It's a superb game - one of the best I've played on any system (I also have a PlayStation and N64). It has perfect gameplay and can be understood instantly. It's the sort of game you can just play for ten minutes at a time, or for hours and hours - and believe me, I have lost hours to this game!
Crazy Taxi is totally fun and totally addictive - the perfect game on a perfect console.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)