Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
119
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2006
Few shows maintain the adoration and popularity that has been afforded to the Friends story, which began almost 11 years ago. The tales of Joey, Chandler, Ross, Rachel, Phoebe and Monica are ones that fans know just as well as their own friends' lives, such is the addictive nature of this show.
Like all shows with the longevity of Friends, dips in quality are innevitable over time, but this first series reminds you why you ever fell in love with the show.
It begans, infamously, with the scene in which Rachel storms into Central Perk wearing her wedding dress as Ross professes "I just want to be married again". In walks Rachel and so Chandler exclaims, "And I just want a million dollars". The first series establishes the gang's relationships, as Rachel settles into independent living with the support of her new best friends and the show gives us, the viewer, a warm and reassured glow.
Throughout the series, snippets from the lives of all 6 characters are presented, including Joey's infamous "Butt-role" and Chandler's early encounters with the somehow-adorable Janice. We also see the early signs of Ross and Rachel's attraction, the outcome of which requires one to watch about 300 episodes through to the show's series 10 finale...something that is well worth doing!
This particular DVD box-set is dissapointing in its lack of behind-the-scenes footage and bonuses. Indeed, there are only 3 discs and one is required to flip the discs with 4 episodes on each side of each DVD. Needless to say there is plenty of room for more on a DVD, but no such interest has been taken. This flaw is slowly being corrected following the US release of a new set of DVDs featuring the 'Director's choices' with bonus material...maybe that will make the transition over the pond soon.
However, this DVD does provide excellent value for money, with all episodes from series 1 present and there to enjoy all over again - if the Channel 4 repeats fail to suffice. Fans of the series will now no longer have to worry about wearing out their videos of 1994/95 series 1, if they can tollerate the dissapointing lack of extras.
For comedy, romance and a general feel-good factor, this show is the perfect source. Those unfamilair with Friends, this is your starting point...it's comparable with Cheers, but largely, better written.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2006
If anyone doesn't know who's reading this which I find unlikely I'll just briefly explain the plot of Friends. One of the most popular series of all time follows the trials and tribulations of six friends (hence the title), by the name of Rachel, Chandler, Joey, Ross, Monica and Pheobe all in their mid 20's living in New York beginning in the mid 1990's.

Friends is one of the most broadcast shows ever so it's probable that most people have caught an episode of it at some time or another. There are certain storylines which are most prominent through each of the 10 seasons of Friends and this first season focuses mainly on Ross and his coming to terms with his ex-wife Carol's lesbanism and her pregnancy with his child and him falling in love with Rachel. It also focuses on Rachel coming to terms with her new life in the city after jilting her fiance Barry at the altar and becoming independent without her father's money for the first time in her life. All this is accompanied by hilarious moments that can be watched time and time again without the chance of ever becoming tired of them. Despite the fact that Friends is always on the TV (especially if you've got Sky), it's still nice to own the box sets so you can enjoy them at your leisure.

Well, all I've offered is praise so why have I given the title that this box set has let itself down? Well, for such a loved series, I wonder why in the heck it has been released on double sided DVDs (which are my pet hate) with zero extras? The DVD quality isn't that hot either. Without this this series would have got 5 stars without any trouble but I'm so amazed at this I really had to take one off. The season is fantastic the box set is really disappointing.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
Right from the word go Friends had me hooked. The Pilot episode not only introduces each cast members character (which are developed over this series and all which follow) from Joey the stud to utterly anal Monica to freaky Phoebe, but also starts off a whole series of Chandler's one liners with my personal favourite "Sometimes I wish I was a lesbian. Did I say that out loud?"
Best episodes include The One With the Poker and The One with The Blackout and of course The One With Two Parts with guest stars include George Clooney and Noah Wyle. All this ends with the unforgettable series finale, The One Where Rachel Finds Out.
Fresh, fun and totally brilliant. If you don't already know where Friends all began (how could you not) then buy this and prepare to laugh your socks off!!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
Friends On DVD!Great! Now you can look back on Joey, Phoebe, Ross and the rest in pure quality, DVD style. Now this box set doesn't contain extra features like the ones that cover Series'S 4 and 5 but the episodes more then make up for that! 'The Pilot' can drag on a little bit but from 'The One With George Stephonapoulos' onwards this is pure gold, it's classic! The gags are fresh and funny and Chandler spurts out more one-liners then ever. The writers of the show had all the options for storys and they worked and re-worked the scripts to a good extent
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
'Friends' was one of those shows that managed to get into its stride almost instantly, and after a slightly awkward Pilot episode, Season 1 offers some of 'Friends' funniest moments, as well as some of its best written and most affecting serious issues; from Ross' break-up with his wife Carol, to, Monica's frustration over her opening-episode date with the philandering 'Paul the Wine Guy', and beyond. Though most people will have likely seen 'Friends' before, for the uninitiated, the show begins in the mid-1990s, set around six friends living in New York City, and dealing with the search for work, and the more personal search for love and happiness, and almost all (at this stage) sporting some pretty cheesy '90s haircuts. For fans returning to take a trip back through the earliest year of 'Friends', don't worry, it's every bit as good as you remembered. From Monica handing out free lasagne to a man she hates, to Ross' pining after Rachel, there are some of the show's most enjoyable moments in here, and the episodes are consistently very well written and deft. Definitely reccomended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
This is possibly the best Friends series ever made! This is all because of hilarious episodes such as 'the one with George Stephanopoulos'(the girls spy on the sexy politician across the street and the guys go and see the hockey where Ross gets hit by the puck!) and 'the one with Mrs Bing'( Ross and Chandler's mum kiss and Chandler did not find it too amusing when he found out from best friend Joey!)
You should definately consider getting this because it is full of comedy, romance and drama and by far the best sitcom in history.
A perfect way to start your collection!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Friends has played a pivotal role in our family. My kids grew up with it and my wife and I shared it all with them. With kids flown my wife and I recently bought Season 1 on Amazon Prime to start all over again! Our daughter has memorised the entire 10 series and as soon as we WhatsApped to say we were a couple of programmes into Season 1 she immediately came back with, "So the thumb episode is next up right?" Who knows, if you watch Friends, you might get an incredible memory as well! You will sure have a load of fun anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
I watched it all when it first aired, I watched it every day on TV when it moved around channels and now I want it for keeps. I love Friends, it's hilarious, never dates, sweet and I know the jokes off by heart yet laugh every time. A true classic. A must have! A life essential!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2010
Wow. The first series of Friends still holds its own today as one of the best. There are some amazing episodes in this set and great acting by all the key actors.

BEST EPISODES
Disc 1 Side 1: The Pilot
Disc 1 Side 2: The One With the Blackout
Disc 2 Side 1: The One With the Monkey
Disc 2 Side 2: The One With the Boobies
Disc 3 Side 1: The One Where the Monkey Gets Away
Disc 3 Side 2: The One With the Fake Monica

Rating: 5/5
Next: Friends: Complete Season 2 - New Edition [DVD] [1995]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2004
this dvd box set is really good! it has you wanting to watch it over and over and not knowing which episode to choose next. it is a realy good start to the collection or just a brilliant set on its own. its so funny and you just cant get bored of it.
even if you have seen the episodes before, it is still worth owning especially as the series one episodes arent shown on tv that often.
it includes all of the 24 episodes, with 4 on each side of the dvds.
i dont like daytime tv much so i always refer to my friends dvds and they never grow old, making me laugh everytime.
definately worth this price, if not more.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)