Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
10
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 8 August 2016
Pecker is a sweet-natured film, and funny; a sort of fable except that the moral lesson is dissolved like sugar in water at the end. The main character, called Pecker, takes photos compulsively, using a broken camera he found at his mother's thrift shop. They come to the attention of a New York art agent and the next thing, he is in demand and a more glamorous life beckons. But his new-found celebrity threatens his well-being and the security of his friends and family as well ...

The best thing about Pecker is its off-the-wall humour - grandmothers indulged in their visions of a talking statue of the Virgin Mary; a lesbian strip bar popping up to shock the locals, and gay bar with dancing on the counter; a girlfriend (Christina Ricci) who runs the laundromat; caring, naive parents, and a sister with a sugar addiction whose behaviour is brattish. Pecker has a job flipping burgers, and a best friend, Matt, who is a sexy burglar who also ends up out of an occupation and takes to the counter in the gay bar. Edward Furlong gets the right innocent note for Pecker, who is quickly out of his depth. Cindy Sherman and Greg Gorman appear as themselves. Overall, though, it lacks the bite of earlier work, or the total endearment factor of Hairspray - probably this is down to Divine's absence, as none of Waters's films has been quite so good since he died.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
This film is great funny upbeat and even has heart. I love the theme song Happy go lucky me. Ed furlong in the central role is great. Its one of my fave films ever. Why? I think its the john waters cheekily subversive humour mixed with real heart (you dont get that much in john waters films) and the happy ending. Fab film. Definitely worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Typical John Waters kooky comedy which I've always had a soft spot for ever since I took up photography in College! Unfortunately due to the advancement of technology - this movie has aged rather badly But its a fascinating look into what happens when a photographer's career takes off and how it effects the people and friends around him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2009
Edward Furlong plays a sweet Baltimore based teen in one of John Water's best films. He goes around with his thriftshop camera getting whatever weird shots he can get (his family members, neighbours smirking, yawning, sticking fingers, suggestive shaped fruits in the supermarket and so on) when a New York art dealer played by Lili Taylor passes through the burger-bar where he is showing his developed pics and promptly wants to buy the lot!

The film follows he hialrious misadventures of the fallout from the townsfolk and his family as he gets richer and sells more pics. Though he stays the same sweet little boy, soon people start turning against him, feeling that their lifestyle is being humiliated, and his bad-tempered girlfriend (hilariously played by Christina Ricci) REALLY starts losing it. Wose, his art dealer seems to fancy him. How can he keep going as his world gets crazier.

'Pecker' is Waters's next most accessible film after the mild 'Shampoo', though there's plenty of his trademark vulgarity, crassness and fruity language on tap, and it's all hugely funny. Much of it's quotable and it even has a nice happy ending.

John Waters will never make another film like this, or his great masterpiece 'Serial Mom', and though his 1st film of the New Millennium 'Cecil B Demented' was almost as good, his 2nd best moment, and dare I say innocently charming moment, is this film.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
John waters fans will not be disappointed, even though there is an argument hes dumbed down the trash and 'sold out' to reach bigger audiences this is still classic John waters
the jokes are just alot more subtle
it has an amazing cast and some great vintage John waters pop up throughout the film
please buy this film you will not be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
John Waters has made 2 great films since the demise of Divine (i cant bring myself to watch the musical version of Hairspray with John Travolta) Serial Mom and this one. So many sublime bits almost seen out of the conrner of your(mind's)eye. Watch it every year till you die. Cant say that about many films. Five Stars easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Bought because of a mention on a camera forum which suggested that ,despite the querkyness nature of the film, there was some interesting photographic points made.
I found this not to be so.
If you`re a fan of the director then I guess this is an entertaining film.
I found it so so .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Really good film. Fantastic quality too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
one of his better films, I loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
this film was recommended to me. i'm a fan of ed furlong, and ricci is normally solid, but this film lacks in every department. it tries to be original, quirky, and artsy but falls short in every aspect. the writing is dull and boring and the characters just didn't draw me in. i didn't care what happened to a single one of them. it was a case of being different for the sake of it rather than for any other particular reason. there is no comedy of any kind, and the direction is amatuerish. just dull. i can't find a redeeming feature anywhere in this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)