Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
Science And Nature
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 10 October 2002
I've owned this CD for a few months now and absolutely love it. It is a very impressive collection of songs - each different but still forming a very distinctive sound. Each has a lovely rolling style, each is very accessible and each is performed by a band seemingly at the top of their game. The vocals are exquisite, the guitar work typically creative of that Bluetones/Charlatans style. Personal favourites: Last of the Great Navigators; Basement Song and the brilliant Emily's Pine. Highly recommended and a great example of classic British indie/pop.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2002
After the slight wobble that was the second album Return to the Last Chance Saloon, the Bluetones return with a beautifully crafted third act. To judge the album on the singles released is fruitless; just as the first album, the pleasure is derived from listening to the whole. The fact is this album swallows you up for it's run time and finishes on such a brilliant high, you just have to start it all over again, is a testament to how easily the Hounslow boys get under your skin. The standout tracks are "The Last of the Great Navigators", "Emily's Pine" and the beautifully poignant and criminally short "Slack Jaw". Also of note is the tremendous instrumental "Bloodbubble", just watch "Spaced - Series 2" to understand... Curiously, the weakest tracks are the two of the singles, "Keep The Home Fires Burning" and - the stretched beyond a joke - "Autophilia". But you just have to give in when placed inside a body of work so effortlessly enjoyable. Once again, Mark Morris' vocals are not pushed beyond their limits, but when he writes such beautiful and clever lyrics, it hardly seems to matter. The Bluetones aren't going to change the world any time soon, so just treasure them and play the album till you're old and grey, or it just warps and you have to buy a new copy to keep that smile on your face
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2001
After the American-country-rock-meets-the-Stone-Roses sound of the Bluetones' sophomore release Return to the Last Chance Saloon, press on the band indicated they were up for a change in image and sound. Most suggested that the band's new sound was somewhat influenced by new wave, a seemingly bizarre and somewhat intriguing suggestion. What was produced, however, was considerably different. One track, the excellent paranoid rocker "Mudslide," which is complete with a new wavey keyboard hook, did sound like articles had hinted, but the rest of the disc was, well, more Bluetones. On every Bluetones release, they seem to get close to creating an excellent and truly memorable album, and then they end up coming up just short because something about their music just doesn't quite seem right. That is exactly what plagues Science and Nature from start to finish. There are excellent moments, such as the country-influenced single "Autophilia (How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Car)," but much of the album is composed of pleasant, but unspectacular, material similar to what made up the first two Bluetones albums. Granted, the material is much more concise and there is a bit more of a pop leaning, but at its heart, Science and Nature is pure Bluetones from start to finish.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2006
I love the Bluetones. I should make that clear. Expecting to Fly is, in my opinion the best album of the so-called "britpop" era.

However, I'm simply stunned by the glowing reviews for Science and Nature on here. Don't get me wrong, it's not a terrible album and far better than most of the pedestrian rubbish that's being put out under the banner of "alternative."

But compared to their other 3 albums it's awful.

"Expecting to Fly" was a work of pop-genius and "Return to the Last Chance Saloon" is often (and wrongly) criticised. With the exception of "Sky WIll Fall" every song on 'Saloon is a triumph.

Sleazy Bed Track stands out, but 4 Day Weekend, If and Down to the Reservoir showcase all facets of the Bluetones sound.

The 4th album, Luxembourg demonstrates the 'Tones returning to their pared-down rock and roll best as anyone who's seen them in a small venue will know, that's the very definition of electric.

But Science and Nature? A vaguely plodding, slightly whiny album, choc full of fillers. I mean really, if "Keep the Home Fires Burning" is the best song on the album, it doesn't say much for the rest.

Anyone who wants to get into the Bluetones, should very definitely stay clear of this album.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2016
An album that has some brilliance but not their finest effort. Keep the homefires burning is a real standout track.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2015
Everything was great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
Great album and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2010
I am reviewing this several weeks after purchasing. To be honest I could not remember any of the music from this album, so had to go back to iTunes to sample the tracks.

The music is varied and pleasant, but the only track that sticks in my mind is 'Autophilia or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love My Car' - and then only with a reminder. As this is reckoned by others as one of the best Bluetones albums, it might explain the Bluetones position it the overall music world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2008
Far more laid back that last chance saloon and more varied than expecting to fly, science and nature is a little eclectic. The title was meant to reflect the nature of the songs and it is pretty apt too. The iopening song is pretty straight forward pop, not a classic but a decent song none the less. the first single released from the album was keep the home fires burning, which may account for the albums lack of sales, it is an ok song but not a classic. Autophilia is a great pop track as is mudslide. Emilys pine and slack jaw are great closers, while ]tiger lily and last great naigator are just class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 March 2004
I don't own any other Bluetones albums, and only know a handful of songs which aren't on this album, so I can't compare it to other stuff. All I can do is tell you about this album, and it's pretty damned good.
Two of the singles, Keep The Home Fires Burning and Autophilia, are still my favourite tracks, but throughout the album Mark Morriss' distictive vocals soar out in melody driven music which is generally delightful on the ears. It's hard not to like Last Of The Great Navigators and Tiger Lilly, and the closing Emily's Pine is beautiful.
This is one of those albums you get that you can't really fault. There are no 'bad' tracks on it, only ones that are 'less good' than the best ones. And so I would recommend it to you. It's hard to think of comparable artists, as The Bluetones have a distinctive sound (perhaps mostly due to their singer's voice), and this album sticks in my mind so much as an invdividual record.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)