Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
65
4.7 out of 5 stars
Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 May 2015
Like everyone else, I was drawn to this band and this record solely by the smash hit single 'Bohemian Like You,' but I actually heard on the Playstation's 'Le Mans 24 Hours Racing' game, many moons ago, but who's keeping score!?
Those expecting pop rock hit after hit will be disappointed, this is very wide-ranging, genre-mixing, schizophrenic in nature record! From the opening, epic-sounding Eastern tinge of opening pair 'Godless' and 'Mohammed' to the sarcastic country-sampling 'Country Leaver,' to the grungy/more chord-led Queens Of The Stone Age-esque stomp of 'Solid' and 'Horse Pills' this album is a difficult one to pin down and is a glorious mash of styles.
Although 'Bohemian Like You' is and will remain the strongest track on the album, there is a lot of meat on the bones here and is worth more than one listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Great album at a good price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2001
Dandy Warhols, possibly one of the greatest. Thirteen tales from urban bohemia, a smashing success by all accounts. Even without the help of a certain phone company. Most of the tracks on this CD give you and impression its just a continuation from the previous CD (this is not a bad thing as the second album was just as good as this one.) But then they through in tracks like Get Off with its Western style, Country Leaver, with a story we can all identify with and the up-beat Bohemian Like You, with its Rolling Stone Intro, the track Sleep could quite possibly put you to sleep with its fantastic slow pace. All in all this is a fantastic album with a lot of new and old styles coming from the dandy's. It would certainly be a shame for someone to buy this album and to only listen to one track because its on a advert. Buy this album listen to it from start to end and if you like it buy the first two albums before the true new one comes out early 2002.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2017
better than I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 October 2015
REVIEW OF 'THIRTEEN TALES FROM URBAN BOHEMIA

What a fabulous album! Catchy, guitar-driven riffs, trippy lyrics, some great use of brass and an altogether uplifting listening experience. Plenty of strong melodies and some solid song writing.

If you are coming late to this band, give this a punt - you won't be disappointed.

A modern day classic...

5/5

REVIEW OF 'WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE'

How does a band follow up a classic album such as '13 Tales From Urban Bohemia'?

In truth, it would have been very to match it but they have come very close with 'Welcome to the Monkey House'.

This is an album which shows that the Dandy's are not short of ideas or inspiration. Certainly, they are clearly cherry-picking ideas from their favourite artists, but the net result is a very likable and cohesive album, once again packed with quirky lyrics and great melodies.

The highlights include the title tracks and 'Scientist', which was used to great effect on the 'Brainiac' television programme.

4.5/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
Certainly one of the biggest advantages of a certain mobile phone advert is that a greater number of people will now consider picking up this gem of a record.
I have to say though that I was really quite surprised when this first came out. "...Come Down" was a pretty good record, but it had it's fair share of 'fillers' which generally weakened the remaining collection of brilliant songs that were on the album.
No fear of that here though. Heavens no! Instead it seems the Dandy's went out, wrote a collection of the most fantastic and melodic tunes around and then sat in the studio (for probably just a few minutes) and thought of ways to make each one sound sonically staggering and wonderfully inventive.
Yep. I'm a big fan of this record. It will be, mark my words, "A Classic" (tm) in years to come -so you are well advised to get in there quick and pick a copy up.
I can't pick out a highlight - I've tried hard, but it's just too difficult. The vibe of this record means it rocks like mad one minute, and is wonderfully woozy the next. The end result is the kind of album that appeals to music fans REGARDLESS of which style/genre of music they usually favour.
...and finally; should you be of the snobby disposition and consider that by flogging their wares to an advert this band should not be touched with a barge pole, I can only say MORE FOOL YOU!
Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 September 2015
For fifteen long years I toyed with the idea of buying this album and this weekend I eventually relented - and thank goodness I did!

What a fabulous album - catchy, guitar-driven riffs, trippy lyrics, some great use of brass and an altogether uplifting listening experience. Plenty of strong melodies and some solid song writing.

If you are coming late to this band, give this a punt - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 September 2015
For fifteen long years I toyed with the idea of buying this album and this weekend I eventually relented - and thank goodness I did!

What a fabulous album - catchy, guitar-driven riffs, trippy lyrics, some great use of brass and an altogether uplifting listening experience. Plenty of strong melodies and some solid song writing.

If you are coming late to this band, give this a punt - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
On the process which brought about the formation of The Dandy Warhols' third published album (ignoring the secretive Black Album which the record company blanched at the thought of marketing) band member Pete Holmstrom is quoted as saying that the creation of Thirteen Tales was one of the best experiences of his life, with every new sound and idea seeming to interlock with, and compliment perfectly, all the others. Indeed, while there is a sufficiently eclectic mix of styles and atmospheres across the tracklist to cover a splendid spectrum, each sequence rolls so beautifully into and out of the last that from track one to track ten could almost be a single, epic journey. The threading of songs from the start is stunning: from soft acoustic subtlety through thumping, ire-fuelled arrogance, into banjo-strumming country twangs, before climbing to upbeat cockiness, sinking down into introspective worrying and out the other side to the legendary Bohemian Like You - still magnificent after dozens of listens and half-caught sound clips. There is so much here that fans of the Rolling Stones, Love and Rockets, Thin Lizzy and many more will recognise and appreciate, and such depth and refinement of a sound the band might otherwise have deliberately allowed to become uneven and grungy. It is truly stirring stuff, and makes for a deeply satisfying listen from beginning to end.

Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia announced a glorious and triumphant arrival to the mainstream rock conscious, and gave The Dandy Warhols their first taste of mass commercial success. Since then, whilst maintaining a small but dedicated following, they have slid away from the limelight and back toward the roots of their eccentric, undistilled noisiness. Nevertheless, Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia should deservedly be held up as a shining example of rock music talent stylishly performed and perfectly captured.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)