Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
163
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£27.13+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2011
beautiful album updated to remove a lot of the hiss which was on the old version, although its remixed in places so it is the old album but different if you know what i mean, its lovely anyhows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
Not my taste in music
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
A long time since I had listened to this and was missing from my collection of records from my formative years. It was well worth buying and is a real pleasure to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
Superb, just as I remembered it first time round. Still have an old cassette recording kicking around somewhere, this CD is blasting away in the car
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
Treading a path through Oldfield's musical career has always been like walking through old mine field so a bit of guidance may be necessary. Ommadawn is perhaps his crowning glory and an album a lot of the Oldfield faithful prefer to Tubular Bells it seems, I agree. This particular release (the Deluxe Edition) of the 1975 classic though is perhaps one for the die hard fan. Oldfield has remixed the album for this 2010 release, yes it is interesting, yes you can hear elements not that obvious in the original but it just doesn't have the punch of the original. The massive climax at the end of part one seems to rise from music which is already as loud so you lose the impact. Parts of side 2 now sound too modern also.

However, the redeeming feature of this particular release is the inclusion of the original demo. If your an Oldfield devotee you'll love this. It's very interesting to see how the album grew and there are some very weird surprises also! There's also the original mix of the whole album so if you don't like the new mix the old one's there too.

I feel I must also point lovers of Ommadawn in the direction of an album I recently found called Mohribold. It's by an emerging artist called Andrew Taylor who surely must have listened to Oldfield's early masterpieces in great detail. Whilst retaining his own flare and style, Mohribold has the texture of those early Oldfield records, something a lot of Oldfield fans really want to hear since Mike went new-age techno on us!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This is a brilliant album. In many ways richer than Tubular Bells (TB), and with much more going on than the more pastoral Hergest Ridge (HR, which I really like, but I know some find a bit minimalist). The African drumming seems a bit overdone perhaps on first hearing, but not when you are familiar with the album. On this remaster I even felt I would have like it to have gone on longer at the end of the first 'side'. (And MO cleverly combined this rhythmic element with the conclusion of TB in a later reworking of TB which worked really well and made it very moving.) However, I was motivated to write a review (given that this is a classic album that is well known and hardly needs my approval) to question why Amazon have labelled this album "Ommadawn [Explicit]" which seems to imply it is full of swear words or 'adult' references. Unless I've just repeatedly missed these references over the years, this is a completely inappropriate label for a largely instrumental work with deliberately non-sense lyrics for the main vocals (so that they could not be accused of pretence to grandeur, cf. HR, and which work really well like some hypnotic religious chant - perhaps even more Incantations than the Incantations album). On Horseback could be considered (deliberately) trite and on it MO does confess (shock) to liking beer - but this is Oldfield: he's telling us he likes riding horses: it is not some vulgar euphemism. Come on Amazon - either remove the 'explicit' tag or include a note to suggest just what you think some listeners might object to: the use of African percussion, bagpipes, and rock guitar in the same track? This is music likely to shift your pulse rate about as it goes through its phases. The visceral connection may be explicit: that's a good reason to buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
This is my absolute favourite Mike Oldfield album, containing some awesome tunes that just grab you and invade your brain. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Compared to what we had in the 70s the sound here is clear and sharp. Those who enjoy Mike Oldfield need to have this in their collection. These deluxe editions expand greatly on the original productions whilst still keeping with the spirit of the composition.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2001
From all the Mike Oldfield albums, this is one of my favourites. It transmites a certain kind of diferent feelings and emotions, throughout the entire record. Very good to listen to, in a quiet room...like all of the Mike Oldfield records.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Being a "Portsmouth Football Club Supporter", the Portsmouth music and the rest was very, very, GOOD!!!! Well-Done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)