Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2000
A stunning album throughout, some echoes of the vastly under-rated 'Wild Seed' and as ever Morten's voice reaches places the majority of pop stars can only dream about! Roll on the next album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2000
Morten Harket's boyish good looks are a double-edged sword in the music world. Firstly, A-ha's first wave of success was partly due to their lead singer's finely chiselled cheekbones but they also suffered from critics and heterosexual males alike who dismissed them as teen poster fodder. If that was an unfair criticism at the time, this latest album blows that theory totally out of the water, for 'Minor Earth Major Sky' is an excellent hour's worth of modern adult rock. From the assured confidence and modern production touches on the title track, the Norwegian trio rarely lose their footing thanks mainly to main songwriter's Paul Waaktar-Savoy' winning way with a melody and Harket's admirable vocal range. Over a consistently good 13 tracks, A-ha only slip up once on the soppy balladry of 'To Let You Win' but immediately after things pick up with the bitter-sounding 'Company Man'. The heartfelt 'Barely Hanging On' is exactly the kind of song a bunch of 40 year-olds should be making whilst 'Summer Moved On' and 'Velvet' recall the majesty of their earlier singles. It's a little too late for worldwide success but this is a pleasant surprise indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2000
I am a huge A-ha fan and firstly am so disappointed in the lack of promotion byt the label in the UK...and I believe this is the reason sales have been so poor...people don't know a-ha are back. However this album picks up where they left off. Over the 7 year break Paal Waaktaar's songwriting has matured. But so many tunes lack that edge such as company man and velvet. The sun never shone that day is excellent and as I am sure everyone agrees Waaktaar's songwriting genius really shows through in Mary Ellen Makes the Moment Count. All credit to Morten with his contributions writing wise. But the real star is Mags. Not only has he Gone with the flow and written a great piece in I wish I cared but also kept Pal in check from writing too morbid and miserable tuens as in Memorial Beach. This is certainly a far cry from the days of Take on Me (especially as now A1 have done a rather pop luvvy version YUK) so if you are undecided I recommend you try it and you'l be pleasantly surprised...if however you go for really upbeat ditties..then forget it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2000
I first was aware of A-ha in 1985 when Take on Me graced us with its presence. They have walked the highs and lows since, and were feared lost after a split following the memorial beach album. What has been delivered here only goes to prove that some bands get better with age. The mature nature of the subject covered and the generous layerings to many of the tracks, make this the best album i have heard, not only from the band, but also that of the year 2000. Minor Earth is packed with absorbing melodies, with 'Velvet' the real highlight. Other tracks that really stand out include the title track, 'little black heart'and 'the sun never shone that day'. However that would be an injstice to the rest of the album. A really excellent record which will not fail to dispappoint (are you out there Radiohead?) Go on, spend some of your well earnt cash on a decent record for once!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
Loved discovering this gem from some time ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 May 2004
This is a track of the same named Album and reflects the album content, it starts off with a dynamic Minor Earth Major Sky intro...breaking into daunting spaced out thoughts in lyrics such as...I can't see me in this empty place...and goes on to say another lonely face...outer space similar rhymes and thoughts in the lyrics very good song writing...and an excellant single
The song breaks out in bursts of the chorus Minor Earth and so on...ending with the same as to fade.
Can you hear me when I speak out loud, these words are reflected as space is filled with sound and they go on to sing and I Try, Yes I try, repeated in the last set of lyrics..It is not in the usual burst of high octaves from Morten (of which I enjoy to hear) but there again a pleasant catchy no. with the usual dramatic approach you would expect of a-ha...whith songs like Hunting High, Cry Wolf, and Take On Me....a must for fans.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2001
This is a fabulous album, I play it all the time and everyone knows where the A-HA fan is down the street. You'll love it! "Minor Earth/Major Sky", the title track, has this weird feeling that you are floating! I particularly like "You'll Never get over Me" and "Summer Moved on" and "The Sun Never shone that day". A top buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2000
"ME/MS" did for A-ha what "Ray of light" did for Madona. Reflective and mature, it reveals a facet of A-ha's songwriting that was seen in "Scoundrel Days". It is comparable to classics such as "Hunting High..." and "Stay on.." and the oh so beautiful "I thought that it was you" has a meloncholic tone. The moving "I won't forget her" is almost spiritual and "To let you win" suggests an element of regret in the songwriter's voice. Whatever this album does for you, it is lived up to its expectations and it is sad that it has received such a lack of airplay.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)