Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2001
Bill Wyman and the Rhythm Kings have produced an album of comprehensively top quality blues music. If blues is your bag, you'll utterly enjoy this. If you buy oneCD this year - make it this one!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2001
After 'Anyway the Wind Blows' and 'Struttin'our Stuff', Bill Wyman shows that he really can keep up the good work. Great songs, jazzy blues and a joy to listen to again & again. Can't wait for his next album!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2000
I bought this because I had heard the track Groovin' and it's still the best track on the album. The rest is OK and I am beginning to appreciate it, take your time and listen before you buy......
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2000
Having seen Bill Wyman and the Rythm Kings I immediately bought this album from Amazon(What fantastic delivery time -1 day). I am not disappointed. Some excellent tracks with superb musicianship and the great voice of Beverley Skeet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Third of a trilogy, and at first hearing it is the best. For this album the full ensemble has been augmented with Tommy Emmanuel as the guest guitarist and Dave Hartley on piano, and the music blends beautifully as the whole band play off each other's strengths.

Over the years I've listened again, and again, and again, and now perhaps the US version (16 tracks) of the second album Anyway the Wind Blows feels slightly more polished. The first album Struttin' Our Stuff took the most getting used to because of the new treatment of old favourites like `Spooky'.

This exuberant music has a joyous grin right through it, carrying the Wyman quality blend of rock solid R&B and swinging jazz. If you have swinging soul in your blood then you need this album to keep it flowing. All the tracks are excellent, but if I had to pick one it would be `I Put a Spell on You' which Beverley Skeete has developed into a show stopper at their gigs.

Since I first wrote reviews on these three CDs in 2000 they have produced a lot more. You might also like to hear Double Bill and Just for a Thrill, and there are several 'Bootleg Kings' CDs (recorded at their concerts) on the Bill Wyman website as well, with an excellent selection from these on the compilation Jump, Jive and Wail
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2000
This, the third album from the rhythm kings, contains some absolute masterpieces of jazzy blues. This collection contains one of the best vocalists around in beverly skeete. 'Groovin', an old young rascals hit is the first of many highlights, others include hole in the wall, rhythm king, daydream, and oh! baby, but the crowning glory is a spellbounding version of 'i put a spell on you'. Another beverly skeete vocal extravaganza, you're unlikely to hear a better blues cover this year. The only downer is the sombre, depressing and frankly dull 'yesterdays'. To round off, if you buy one blues album this year, make it this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Dissapointed in this album I'm sorry to say. I will have to check out his other solo stuff as a guide but as a stand alone album I found it boring and kept track hopping in the hope of finding something fresh. Sorry Bill.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
A great combination of some great musicians, getting together and belting out a few songs.

If you like this genre, and you know the musicians, you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Tis is MUSIC!!!! Love the groove. Perhaps shows my age but good things never date. This item arrived very promplt and
I recommend this supplier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
EXCELLENT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)